Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-16-2012, 08:16 PM
Rjones17 Rjones17 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Default 8ch FireWire or USB Interface w/ PT MP9

I'm in need of buying a compatible 8ch Mic Input FireWire or USB Interface to use with Pro Tools MP 9.0.5. I've seen the following units however I can't find good online info. to confirm compatibiliy. If anyone can guide me to an online resource, I would greatly appreciate it. If you have experience, pros & cons with certain units, please let me know.

- Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 (read something about ASIO problems)
- PreSonus FireStudio Project (old model was FireStudio)
- M-Audio ProFire 2626 (read about Low Latency Monitoring problems)
(I believe it's discontinued. What's replaced it?)
- Mackie Onyx Blackbird
- Steinberg MR816 X
- Roland Octa Capture 10x10

System: MacBook Pro, OS 10.6.8, M-Audio FW410, Axiom 61, Yamaha NS-10 monitors
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-23-2012, 11:58 PM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,200
Default Re: 8ch FireWire or USB Interface w/ PT MP9

Isn't Pro Tools MP a version that forces you to use M-Audio hardware?

http://www.avid.com/us/products/protoolsmp

M-Audio appear to cutting back on their interfaces, you want my opinion, avoid them!

Pray you never get a problem because their service is horrific!
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-24-2012, 07:25 AM
nst7 nst7 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,789
Default Re: 8ch FireWire or USB Interface w/ PT MP9

Dougfather is correct.

If you are using MP9, you are required to use an M-Audio interface, so that narrows your possibilities.

It's only "regular" Protools that allows you to use any interface.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-04-2012, 11:36 AM
Rjones17 Rjones17 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Default Re: 8ch FireWire or USB Interface w/ PT MP9

So the ProFire 2626 is my only option for an 8ch interface. Does anyone know what limitation I'll have for sample rate trying to use all 8 channels at once? The max sample rate for PT MP9 says 96k although I've seen some notes out there stating I might not get that when trying to use all 8 channels on the ProFire 2626. Is there anywhere I can confirm what it really is?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-14-2012, 07:55 PM
Rjones17 Rjones17 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Default Re: 8ch FireWire or USB Interface w/ PT MP9

I have a FireWire 410 which is M-Audio compatible. Can I add something like the Saffire Pro 40 via FireWire daisy chain to the 410? I don't believe the 410 has ADAT but will this scenario give me the added channels in ProTools MP9 to record?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-14-2012, 08:06 PM
nst7 nst7 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,789
Default Re: 8ch FireWire or USB Interface w/ PT MP9

No, because it will not recognize the Sapphire, being M-Powered. Again, you need regular Protools.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with PT9 and FireWire interface FT13 macOS 5 12-28-2011 09:38 PM
1 interface, 1 hard drive, only ONE firewire interface? beyoutofull1 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 5 11-22-2010 04:08 PM
Firewire vs USB interface Jeff E Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 08-12-2008 06:16 AM
firewire interface kav 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-01-2004 08:26 AM
96kHz FireWire Interface Tone Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 16 12-19-2001 12:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com