Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-01-2020, 07:45 PM
Tao Jones Tao Jones is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 45
Default Plugins gui slower response time

I just started noticing this the other day. I am running 2019.12 on a 2013 Mac pro. 8 core 3.2 ghz with 16gb of ram. All audio tracks. Cpu is at around 50 percent. Pro tools meters responds on time with audio but the plugins GUIs are behind. No actual lag like earlier versions of protools. The meters in plugins are smooth... Just behind the audio. I've tried changing buffer from 1024 to 128 and no difference. Anybody else experiencing this? I'm gonna try and run a small session with a couple tracks and see what's up. Oh all the audio files are on the Mac pros hard drive.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-01-2020, 08:15 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,633
Default Re: Plugins gui slower response time

Lots of past posts on GUI issues. Some fixed by more recent macOS releases.

You should be searching through past threads, including.... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=404640

You also don’t provide the most critical info...? What macOS version?

display(s) resolution and plugins this happens with might also be important.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 02-01-2020 at 08:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-02-2020, 12:20 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 18,240
Default Re: Plugins gui slower response time

I have a 2013 Mac Pro and do not see any GUI lag on 2019.12 but mine has 64GB memory installed. Today, 16GB is not much more than bare minimum so while it might not be the issue here it is something you need to give a minute of thought.

My trashcan has dual D500 GPU and 10-core 3.0GHz processor, running Catalina.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-02-2020, 05:46 PM
Tao Jones Tao Jones is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 45
Default Re: Plugins gui slower response time

I tried searching but all that came up was actual gui lag. I wasn't suffering from lag. Pro Tools meters were responding fine. It was the gui of the plugins that were behind the audio. But not actual lag (like choppy graphics) like we suffered in prior versions is osx. I figured it out though. It was ozone in the master bus (bypassed) that was causing it. I took it off the master bus and everything went back to normal.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-02-2020, 05:47 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 18,240
Default Re: Plugins gui slower response time

Glad you got it sorted out. Very strange how many have reported problems with Ozone and still it seems to be popular...
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-02-2020, 06:47 PM
clivvy clivvy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: philadelphia
Posts: 78
Default Re: Plugins gui slower response time

Ozone 9 big cpu hit see that other folks having same problem !
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-02-2020, 07:04 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,633
Default Re: Plugins gui slower response time

Lots of past posts about that :-O
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ProTools Crackle, Audio Time Slower madams Windows 4 01-04-2016 10:33 PM
10.1.2 control surface slower response Dot Pro Tools 10 7 04-26-2012 06:22 PM
Plugins slower to open after 9.0.3 update crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 06-02-2011 10:48 AM
Solution to slow response time? shacke 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 10-30-2004 08:02 PM
PT6 response time Swanny 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-24-2003 08:38 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com