Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-07-2017, 08:15 PM
lanstrad's Avatar
lanstrad lanstrad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 136
Default How do I get rid of Application Manager ????

I just rebuilt my entire system, reinstalled OSX 10.11.6 fresh, and for first time (on this system which used to work with PT 11) I have 12.8.1

However, there's this damn system hanger called Application Manager that keeps trying to load, waste my time, and be there when I don't want it. Been reading about complains on that for alsmost 2 years now... Please don'T tell me there is no way to get rid of this (at least set some preference *not to load' at every start up or log in ???)
__________________
Rob
____________________
Mac OS X El Capitan 10.11.6 (on CustomMac desktop) AND Mac OSX 10.12.x (on MacBook Pro) - Quad-core i7 2.86 ghz 16gb ram, nVidia GTX 650, RME Fireface 800 (SiiG fw card with TI chipset), MOTU midi express 128, Yamaha 02R digital mixer (connected to Fireface 800, ADAT IN/OUT). Pro Tools 11-12, Cubase Pro 8 / For Mac OS X Sierra, I use a Macbook Pro mid-2012, i7, 2.9 Ghz, 16gb with SSD 1TB.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-07-2017, 08:18 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,104
Default Re: How do I get rid of Application MAnager ????

DUC has many many posts telling you to uninstall this and telling you how. I can't believe you even tried to find those instructions.

And it's easy...

Find AppManager Uninstaller and run it.

Same with Cloud Client Services Uninstaller (assuming you don't want that ******** on your system either).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-07-2017, 08:49 PM
lanstrad's Avatar
lanstrad lanstrad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 136
Default Re: How do I get rid of Application MAnager ????

Thanks Darryl. Yes I agree I could have searched. Just have spent last few hours setting, resetting, installing stuff... And when I came to this, it was like the cherry on the cake... I like the ''********'' word by the way

Cheers,
Rob
__________________
Rob
____________________
Mac OS X El Capitan 10.11.6 (on CustomMac desktop) AND Mac OSX 10.12.x (on MacBook Pro) - Quad-core i7 2.86 ghz 16gb ram, nVidia GTX 650, RME Fireface 800 (SiiG fw card with TI chipset), MOTU midi express 128, Yamaha 02R digital mixer (connected to Fireface 800, ADAT IN/OUT). Pro Tools 11-12, Cubase Pro 8 / For Mac OS X Sierra, I use a Macbook Pro mid-2012, i7, 2.9 Ghz, 16gb with SSD 1TB.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-08-2017, 12:19 AM
zerodistraction zerodistraction is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 32
Default Re: How do I get rid of Application MAnager ????

I edit the launch agent PLIST and set the following:

<key>RunAtLoad</key>
<false/>

You can find that file in your root directory under Library > LaunchAgents.

It's called: com.avid.ApplicationManager.plist
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-08-2017, 07:02 AM
lanstrad's Avatar
lanstrad lanstrad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 136
Default Re: How do I get rid of Application MAnager ????

Is there an advantage to edit rather than remove? (Unless i eventually wish to change my mind - guess it always remain possible to update manually, unless there is an advantage i missed ?)

I've seen 3 ways so far. The 2 above, and Sweetwater give a 3rd one - simply flush 2 files/folders, but i'm slightly afraid on that one....???)
Thanks
__________________
Rob
____________________
Mac OS X El Capitan 10.11.6 (on CustomMac desktop) AND Mac OSX 10.12.x (on MacBook Pro) - Quad-core i7 2.86 ghz 16gb ram, nVidia GTX 650, RME Fireface 800 (SiiG fw card with TI chipset), MOTU midi express 128, Yamaha 02R digital mixer (connected to Fireface 800, ADAT IN/OUT). Pro Tools 11-12, Cubase Pro 8 / For Mac OS X Sierra, I use a Macbook Pro mid-2012, i7, 2.9 Ghz, 16gb with SSD 1TB.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-08-2017, 02:46 PM
_JJ_ _JJ_ is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 61
Default Re: How do I get rid of Application Manager ????

I vote for removing...

In your Applications folder >> Avid_Uninstallers >>Application Manager >> AppManager Uninstaller.

While you're in the Avid_Uninstallers folder you may also want to uninstall "Cloud Client Services", unless you use them.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 12.7 Not Available in Application Manager rgast5150 Pro Tools 12 10 04-02-2017 09:23 PM
Application Manager v2.5.1 Now Available DigiTechSupt Technical Alerts 0 01-12-2016 07:02 PM
Application Manager hooksound Pro Tools 12 0 04-08-2015 10:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:25 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com