Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-30-2012, 02:33 PM
cablet cablet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 21
Default OMNI DigiLink cable length

Hello,
I am designing a new video suite and we may add an OMNI interface if we end up with ProTools. We are designing the rack layouts and I need to find out how far from the mac tower I can have the OMNI HD interface. Does anyone know how far I could run this?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-30-2012, 08:52 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: OMNI DigiLink cable length

I don't know which system you're getting, but both the HDX card and HD Native card comes with a 12 foot cable, so you know it goes at least that far. I'm not sure how it works if you need an extension.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-31-2012, 10:48 AM
phatbeatstudio phatbeatstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: canada
Posts: 566
Default Re: OMNI DigiLink cable length

currently the 12 foot cable is the longest available.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-31-2012, 11:10 AM
KingFish KingFish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Nashville TN
Posts: 2,656
Default Re: OMNI DigiLink cable length

I used a 50m ft "Old School" digilink Cable between an HDX card, and an Omni, with the little Old to New digilink adapters.

Everything worked at 48k, but failed at 96k and 192k - I reverted to a shorter old digilink cables, between the adapters, and everything was fine.
__________________
David

- MacPro 6,1 Intel Xeon E5 2.7 GHz 12-Core 128 GB 1066 MHz DDR3
- HDX II Sonnet xMacPro Server
- 16x16 HD i/o x 6
- PT 2018.10
- OS X 10.14.4
- ProTools Dock / PT Control
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Max length for DigiLink Cables? koka Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 08-30-2013 05:54 AM
WTT: flex cable for short digilink cable tripstation Buy & Sell 1 08-21-2012 01:22 AM
Standard DigiLink Cable Length 96i/o? djharrypalmer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-23-2007 10:50 AM
Digilink Length BTECH Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 07-17-2006 06:21 PM
DigiLink Cable length question between 192 to 192 GL Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 07-09-2004 05:48 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com