Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-29-2007, 02:59 PM
Sharif Sharif is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 28
Default Mbox Family Question

Hello All,

I am looking to purchase an Mbox but I just need a litle information on figuring out which one I need.

The main concern is, I'd like to be able to use it as a Windows soundcard too is possible, for use to playback audio outside of Pro Tools software... is that possible with an Mbox?

Thanks for your time.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-29-2007, 06:15 PM
casperfun casperfun is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 489
Default Re: Mbox Family Question

Yes, choose it as your asio driver.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-29-2007, 07:36 PM
lowoctave lowoctave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 48
Default Re: Mbox Family Question

I just got the Mbox 2 Pro, and the software automatically installed the ASIO driver for me.
__________________
Aim at nothing, and you'll hit it everytime
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-30-2007, 06:09 AM
casperfun casperfun is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 489
Default Re: Mbox Family Question

You must use the sound setup in windows or the audio software other than PTLE. Choose the asio driver to use your Mbox2 pro outside of normal PTLE.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-30-2007, 06:20 AM
Jamtime Jamtime is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 240
Default Re: Mbox Family Question

Yes With standalone Virtual Instruments no problem with ASIO. But iTunes, as known, is a bit of a problem. It has been told Mbox works with an older version but I have not tested it. I installed the latest Itunes yeasterday and no sound. In an earlier version it was scrambled. Windows sound works if I want to. But not sound in ex. Virtual skipper (sailing sim).

/Micke
__________________
I voted at www.deardigi.com

Drummer of Yamaha Birch Absolute Custom Nouveau Vintage Natural - Zildjian K Custom Dark - Sabian HH

Macbook (2009-01) 2.0 GHz 4 GB
Intel Quad (2007-07) Q6600 2x250 4 GB
PT 8
Digirack 002
Monitors: JM-Lab Electra 906 & SW900 driven with Pioneer Reference M-90

"Semiprofessional user"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-01-2007, 05:06 PM
Sharif Sharif is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 28
Default Re: Mbox Family Question

So will I be able to utilize the Mbox as a soundcard just by using the Firewire/USB connection? Or will there need to be a sound-out line going to the Mbox from my laptop's current soundcard?

If I disconnect the Mbox when i am moving my laptop around, can I still hear audio (will it reset to the original card?)?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-01-2007, 06:44 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Mbox Family Question

Some concepts getting mixed up here.
So... lets start at the top.

In all PTLE versions since 6.4. aside from the PT software, two audio drivers are installed by default.
The Digi Wave driver.
And the Digi ASIO driver.
These allow your Mbox to be used outside of Pro Tools.

The ASIO driver can be used only with applications that support that format. Cubase/Nuendo, Sonar, SoundForge, just to name a few.
It is multitrack capable, both record and playback.
You assign the Mbox/ASIO drivers in those program's individual setup options.

The Wave driver is the one you'll use with most generic Windows applications...
Your browser, Media Player, Quicktime, Real Player, etc..
It is two track (stereo) playback only.

In order to use the Wave driver effectivly, you'll need to download and install the Digi MMEHelper.

Use this application to add all the Windows programs, those I listed above, and whatever other non-ASIO compatible programs you'd like to use the Mbox for, to the Wave driver registry list.

One warning. The current iTunes version does not work well with the wave driver. It's a known bug.

Some people have had luck by installing the older version 6.0.5:

www.apple.com/support/downloads/itunes605forwindows.html

Good luck-
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-23-2007, 04:42 PM
Sharif Sharif is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 28
Default Re: Mbox Family Question

Ok so I got rid of the laptop and got a desktop instead.

My main concern for the interface I get is to be able to use as a standalone soundcard... I used that MME Helper software and it is a pain as a lot of things don't work. I thought the new MBOX's had support for that by default without the use of 3rd party software...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
imac i7/mbox 2 family - problems neilgod22 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 27 09-18-2011 08:26 AM
RIP 003 + Mbox 2 Family bootybandit Windows 8 03-18-2011 03:01 AM
Installation of Pro Tools 8LE Mbox family T&M Prod 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-23-2009 01:00 PM
Is the MBOX family right for me? Modern State 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 12-12-2007 01:47 PM
A/D differences on MBox 2 family Radioprod 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-02-2007 09:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com