Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-11-2016, 04:00 PM
bobbyguelz bobbyguelz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 100
Default PT 12.6 errors and won't allow undo's

Love to hear if others are experiencing this little bug where after awhile all of a sudden you can no longer perform ANY undo levels. Happens ALL the time when I'm doing clip editing and trimming. So annoying... Experienced this issue the last few versions of PT 12 Vanilla/HD.

Just do not understand how bug after bug is allowed in subsequent releases. Would love to hear if others are experiencing this.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-11-2016, 04:03 PM
Led Led is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 227
Default Re: PT 12.6 errors and won't allow undo's

I had this issue once, but it was a noise reduction plugin with automation enabled, so it was constantly writing control value changes, making my undo list long enough to reach from here to the moon.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-11-2016, 04:25 PM
bobbyguelz bobbyguelz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 100
Default Re: PT 12.6 errors and won't allow undo's

Quote:
Originally Posted by Led View Post
I had this issue once, but it was a noise reduction plugin with automation enabled, so it was constantly writing control value changes, making my undo list long enough to reach from here to the moon.

Hey... here's a quick youtube video of the issue.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GIvU...ature=youtu.be
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-11-2016, 10:33 PM
Shifted Music's Avatar
Shifted Music Shifted Music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: PT 12.6 errors and won't allow undo's

Led mentiones noise reduction plug ins some how writing control info which fill undo.. then you video has noise reduction plug in open.

so do the same thing in the video with the info history window open and maybe its the same issue...

and then send the to isotope regarding that..

It seems like since the undo does actually work but only after hitting command z a ton theres something else entering the history making it hard to get to the point of your actual edit which also seems to match what Led is saying...

anyway just an observation since I've never had this issue.
__________________
Jay-J

System
MacPro 12 Core • 24 G Ram • 10.12.6
PT 12.8.1 • Mbox 3 Pro • Plug-ins Verified
4 HD • OS ssd | Audio ssd | Sample Library ssd | Storage
MAXPower eSATA 6G Card • Wiebetech RTX100H-Q
Kensington Trackball Works/Orbit Optical
Bluetooth off/Airport on and off.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-11-2016, 11:15 PM
laki laki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 504
Default Re: PT 12.6 errors and won't allow undo's

I'd be curious to see your undo history. It definitely looks like something is being written while you're playing.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-12-2016, 08:08 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,259
Default Re: PT 12.6 errors and won't allow undo's

It's obviously undo'ing *something*, as the edit menu is flashing when you press apple-z : why don't you go to the edit menu and actually see what's being undone? Or open undo history as been mentioned?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-12-2016, 08:35 AM
bobbyguelz bobbyguelz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 100
Default Re: PT 12.6 errors and won't allow undo's

After I removed all instances of Dialog Denoiser... The issue was gone...

So definitely has to be an issue with iZotope's Plugins. Or Denoiser at least.

Just sent off an email to a contact at izotope so be curious to see what they say. Be nice to iron this issue out as it makes things quite irritating.

-J
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-12-2016, 09:29 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,259
Default Re: PT 12.6 errors and won't allow undo's

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbyguelz View Post
After I removed all instances of Dialog Denoiser... The issue was gone...

So definitely has to be an issue with iZotope's Plugins. Or Denoiser at least.

Just sent off an email to a contact at izotope so be curious to see what they say. Be nice to iron this issue out as it makes things quite irritating.

-J
Denoiser working fine here. So what did undo history say?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-12-2016, 01:36 PM
mbourque mbourque is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 131
Default Re: PT 12.6 errors and won't allow undo's

In automatic mode, the Dialogue DeNoiser constantly adjust every nodes. If automation is activated for those parameters, every change to each node will go in the undo list.

I bypassed the problem by removing the nodes from being automated.
__________________
Matthieu Bourque
Kaïku Audio

PT Ultimate 2018.12 on macOS 10.13.3

and PT HD 12.7 on macOS 10.12
Custom build
MB: Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU: Intel i7 6700K
RAM: G-Skill Trident Z 32 Gb
RME Fireface UFX
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nothing but "Undo Change Control Value" in undo queue WinstonDeath Pro Tools 11 15 07-26-2016 05:59 AM
keep the fader UNDO and edits UNDO separate uno1234 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 12-06-2005 09:30 AM
errors errors errors Please digi tech guys help me dunkyj 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-11-2005 01:19 PM
I can't undo record audio, I CANT UNDO !!! Dither16bit Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 06-09-2004 01:53 AM
undo realnitepeople MIDI 1 08-21-2003 01:29 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com