Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-13-2000, 12:53 AM
Eric Bazilian Eric Bazilian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: St. Davids, PA, USA
Posts: 209
Default To 5.0 Or Not To 5.0?

Months gone by and the box is still sitting there unopened. Must admit, I'm somewhat intimidated by the reports of sluggish behavior. My entire MO is based on lightning-speed editing, so the concept of a logjam is, quite frankly, terrifying. I'm running a 9600, 256megs of RAM, a bunch of Glyph drives, two Mix Farm cards, and a vintage d24. I'd go for the G3 upgrade if it would make the difference, but, as MIDI is not a concern at all, is there any reason to even risk the slowdown? Or is this simply paranoia?

I'd be glad to eat the $200 (unless DIGI would reabsorb the unopened package) in order to stay speedy. On the other hand, I'd just as gladly turbocharge my CPU if (aside from the relatively useless MIDI features) it would add anything fun to the party.

Please advise, thank you...

------------------
Eric Bazilian/Dingbat Sound
"Music Is Good"
__________________
First the Ecstacy....then the Laundry
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-13-2000, 05:28 AM
Will Russell's Avatar
Will Russell Will Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Newfield, NY (Ithaca)
Posts: 1,002
Default Re: To 5.0 Or Not To 5.0?

Personally I would do 2 complete backups of my system drive and load 5.0. There are major improvements that you won't want to do without. Worst case, you don't like it and you restore from your backup. No problem!

Go for it. I think you'll love 5.0. Runs glitch free on my beige 300MhzG3 w/256M ram.

------------------
Will Russell
Electric Wilburland Studio
http://www.wilburland.com
__________________
Will Russell
Electric Wilburland Studio
www.wilburland.com
12 core 3.06Ghz MacPro, OS 10.14.5, PT2020.12, HDX, D-Command
Retina 5k iMac OS 10.15.6, PT2020.12, BabyFacePro FS
Retina MacBook Pro OS 10.15.6, PT2020.12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-13-2000, 10:25 AM
Dead Space Dead Space is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Lincoln, NE, USA
Posts: 88
Default Re: To 5.0 Or Not To 5.0?

I am in the same boat Eric. I think I'll be jumping in head first this week.

Will,

As far as backing up the system drive goes, is this something that I could do with Mezzo?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-13-2000, 03:20 PM
tld tld is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: To 5.0 Or Not To 5.0?

I am a relatively new Protools user, and started out using 5.0, so I can't make any comparison to 4.3. I can say however that 5.0 is running just great on my 9600/350 256M Ram on OS 9 (I have no G3 processor upgrade or anything). I am recording to 2 9G Seagate Barracudas and did a test session recording 64 tracks (although they were all recording from the same input source) simultaneously, and it was smooth as silk.

If I use the new edit window mode with the stationary playhead (where the audio scrolls by) I see a slight slowdown of the screen refresh (location counters for example), but I also leave my monitor set to millions of colors.

No complaints here...5.0 rox.

Tom
__________________
http://www.digitalaudiorock.com
The Protools Plugin Preset Co-op
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-13-2000, 04:42 PM
COCO COCO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York, N.Y.
Posts: 852
Default Re: To 5.0 Or Not To 5.0?

Will:
Digi reports compatibility probs with Beige G3s and 5.0 with Mix hardware. Do you experience any hangs? This CPU is "semi" approved.

Anybody running 5.0 with QT 2.5?

------------------


-COCO
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-13-2000, 09:12 PM
meshtheflesh meshtheflesh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Singapore
Posts: 233
Default Re: To 5.0 Or Not To 5.0?

Eric,
I am using a similar config. as you (9600/300,mix plus+vintage farm) and it seems to be OK speed wise, a little slower maybe.I do thin though there are some major improvments like the lovely new buttons, and the new trimmer tool. i am a midi user as well as post, and as you know the midi is pretty good now.Also the QT 48k bugfix is good. I'd go for it!
__________________
----------------------------
Ramesh Sathiah
www.songzu.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-13-2000, 11:39 PM
Jim Morris Jim Morris is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Tampa, Florida, USA
Posts: 162
Default Re: To 5.0 Or Not To 5.0?

Hey--
Actually, the Beige G3 compatability warning only applies to PT 5.0 LE. not the TDM based systems.

Jim Morris
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-14-2000, 01:23 AM
Eric Bazilian Eric Bazilian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: St. Davids, PA, USA
Posts: 209
Default Re: To 5.0 Or Not To 5.0?

Thanx, all. Next couple of hours' down time I'll be in Upgrade Heaven. BTW, what is the generaly recommended System Backup refered to here? I've got Mezzo, or is a CD burn adequate?

------------------
Eric Bazilian/Dingbat Sound
"Music Is Good"
__________________
First the Ecstacy....then the Laundry
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-14-2000, 02:03 AM
editor editor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 1,120
Default Re: To 5.0 Or Not To 5.0?

Eric,

AIT tape and retrospect are fast and easy. Mezzo is great but a little more tricky RTM. By all means for now burn CD-ROMS, until you get mezzo or retrospect going.

I agree with the above, two system drives and try 5.0, if it messes you up, run screaming back to the older version.



e

PS; I know your sister the BioChem gal, if you are the ebaz I am thinking of.



[This message has been edited by editor (edited March 14, 2000).]
__________________
Partial list of album credits/editor.
http://members.dslextreme.com/users/apple/
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-14-2000, 06:03 AM
Will Russell's Avatar
Will Russell Will Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Newfield, NY (Ithaca)
Posts: 1,002
Default Re: To 5.0 Or Not To 5.0?

Deadspace,

Mexxo should be able to do this. Any backup software can do this. Remember, 2 complete backups!

COCO,

I think the Beige issue is with the DIgi001 systems. My system rocks on the Beige. Very stable.

One more thing. Remember that Digi reccomends running the Mac OS base extension set with only the digi and OMS extensions added.

------------------
Will Russell
Electric Wilburland Studio
http://www.wilburland.com
__________________
Will Russell
Electric Wilburland Studio
www.wilburland.com
12 core 3.06Ghz MacPro, OS 10.14.5, PT2020.12, HDX, D-Command
Retina 5k iMac OS 10.15.6, PT2020.12, BabyFacePro FS
Retina MacBook Pro OS 10.15.6, PT2020.12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com