Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-15-2000, 06:31 PM
Jules Jules is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,565
Default I need to make up a 3 tempo click track for a session on Sat, Help!

Verses one tempo
chorus' another (faster)
Bits in between?? (fills accelerate into chorus).

No question I have to organise it, but how? I will have a band member round to make sure it doesn't feel wierd.

I need to use grid/edit/bars n beats, to get a 'loop' feel (but with live drums) on parts of the song.

Help me map it out, I need to construct the click track for the band to follow on Saturday.
The track is sort of a Bush, "The Chemicals Between Us" type of song....

TIA

Jules
(total midi dunce)


(I'm on PT 5 BTW)

[This message has been edited by Jules (edited March 15, 2000).]
__________________
Jules
London, UK
Come hang with us here!
www.gearslutz.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-15-2000, 07:24 PM
Ang1970 Ang1970 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 433
Default Re: I need to make up a 3 tempo click track for a session on Sat, Help!

Read page 223 (Chapter 17) of TFM. That should get your tempo map situated.

Email me if you get stumped.
angcin@advanix.net

Good luck



------------------
Angelo Quaglia
AQ Productions
__________________

Cheers,
Angelo Quaglia
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-16-2000, 01:23 AM
Sean Halley Sean Halley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Los Angeles,CA, USA
Posts: 447
Default Re: I need to make up a 3 tempo click track for a session on Sat, Help!

Jules, I agree, write Ang ( if you were doing this in Digi Performer I could send you a template right now, but I don't own 5 yet...)

One other thing to save you stress: Try to keep the tempo (click) as virtual as possible until the band arrives to track - last month I spent an hour with one of the projects I'm on going over tempos with no less than three band members in attendance (in hope that I could get SMPTE and a click solid and printed - drums on 2 inch)...the tempos they chose were off by tons by the time we got ready to track, deviation via VSO from 30 ips was five either way. I'll never do that again!
__________________
"it's not about making the changes, it's about playing ideas in time"

Scofield...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-16-2000, 05:02 AM
Jules Jules is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,565
Default Re: I need to make up a 3 tempo click track for a session on Sat, Help!

Thanks guys, this is an 'all PT session" no tape...
Jules

P,S, all done n thanks!!!

[This message has been edited by Jules (edited March 16, 2000).]
__________________
Jules
London, UK
Come hang with us here!
www.gearslutz.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-17-2000, 09:48 AM
D Pinder D Pinder is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 60
Default Re: I need to make up a 3 tempo click track for a session on Sat, Help!

I agree with Sean- don't commit a click to disk yet; keep it MIDI generated, so if it's a little wrong you can drag your tempo chamge markers in the timeline.

I'm working on a project that came in with a click and was transferred in. The "Identify Beats" command worked great, especially at the places where the tempos change.

Is the tempo change going to be determined by a number they tell you or by someone playing it into PT and all else conforming to that?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-17-2000, 04:45 PM
Jules Jules is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,565
Default Re: I need to make up a 3 tempo click track for a session on Sat, Help!

The band have carefully logged tempos for each section for it to feel 'right'. See my thread on where I found the recorded click to fall...
Jules
__________________
Jules
London, UK
Come hang with us here!
www.gearslutz.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP, how to make a triplet click track and how to use TL metro jackroylee macOS 11 01-31-2021 10:36 AM
Click Track only at one Tempo in MP9 NAOTTO Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 08-11-2012 07:06 AM
How do I make the grid match the click in a NEW session? Marisas7 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-27-2012 09:51 AM
Click track/tempo changes toddbux 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 08-22-2007 11:58 AM
Tempo map and click track Gary H 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-29-2004 12:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com