Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #681  
Old 07-27-2013, 11:14 AM
scotsman scotsman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Scotland
Posts: 363
Default Re: Control|24 with Pro Tools 11?

Staying on topic so that would be Control 24 driver please
Reply With Quote
  #682  
Old 07-27-2013, 01:00 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Control|24 with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by scotsman View Post
Staying on topic so that would be Control 24 driver please
topic is dead

if you want to revive it buy Avid stock and change the people in management
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #683  
Old 07-27-2013, 01:02 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,738
Default Re: Control|24 with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
topic is dead

if you want to revive it buy Avid stock and change the people in management
Yep
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #684  
Old 07-27-2013, 01:10 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Arrow Re: Control|24 with Pro Tools 11?

The only way you will have that kind of power is if you buy enough shares to get a seat on the board of directors. Even then, the rest of the board could override you.

You need an activist investor such as Carl Icahn if you want to pull this off sooner rather than later. He swoops in and either buys the whole company or enough shares to gain control of the company.
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #685  
Old 07-27-2013, 01:19 PM
louieshowers louieshowers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 569
Default Re: Control|24 with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chief Technician View Post
The only way you will have that kind of power is if you buy enough shares to get a seat on the board of directors. Even then, the rest of the board could override you.

You need an activist investor such as Carl Icahn if you want to pull this off sooner rather than later. He swoops in and either buys the whole company or enough shares to gain control of the company.
what a sad state of affairs that we have to resort to this !!! shame
__________________
Windows 7 64 Ultimate: SP1
PT 10.3.8

------------------------------------------------------
¨WHERE´S MY CHECKBOOK?¨
https://soundcloud.com/louieshowers
Reply With Quote
  #686  
Old 07-27-2013, 01:24 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,719
Default Re: Control|24 with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chief Technician View Post
The only way you will have that kind of power is if you buy enough shares to get a seat on the board of directors. Even then, the rest of the board could override you.
That would be close to 10% shares needed, and that would give you about 10% voice, tops. Luckily stock is cheap now
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #687  
Old 07-27-2013, 01:34 PM
louieshowers louieshowers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 569
Default Re: Control|24 with Pro Tools 11?

The more I think about it...Maybe Avid simply cannot afford to create these drivers. Maybe they are truly in trouble? Anyone else feel the same?
__________________
Windows 7 64 Ultimate: SP1
PT 10.3.8

------------------------------------------------------
¨WHERE´S MY CHECKBOOK?¨
https://soundcloud.com/louieshowers
Reply With Quote
  #688  
Old 07-27-2013, 01:36 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Arrow Re: Control|24 with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
That would be close to 10% shares needed, and that would give you about 10% voice, tops. Luckily stock is cheap now
10% of 34,398,320 shares is 3,439,832 shares at $6.21 per share which equals $21,361,356.70. I would need to win one of those ridiculously large lottery jackpots to pay that amount for anything.

Source - http://www.nasdaq.com/symbol/avid/in...ional-holdings
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #689  
Old 07-27-2013, 03:22 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Control|24 with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chief Technician View Post
10% of 34,398,320 shares is 3,439,832 shares at $6.21 per share which equals $21,361,356.70. I would need to win one of those ridiculously large lottery jackpots to pay that amount for anything.

Source - http://www.nasdaq.com/symbol/avid/in...ional-holdings

you get 5000+ user to but 10+ shares each, then you have a voting block of 50,000+ you get to voice your concerns at a share holders meeting
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #690  
Old 07-27-2013, 03:26 PM
markus44uk markus44uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 858
Default Re: Control|24 with Pro Tools 11?

think its time for everybody here to face facts and get over it...stick with PT10 and keep working or dump it and the expensive paperweight and move on.

I'm clear on ONE thing though. I will NEVER upgrade my Avid software and I will NEVER buy another AVID product EVER.

Congrats on losing another customer who has spent nearly $75,000 on Protools gear and software. I'm sure my paltry sum won't have any impact on your earnings...but sit tight, relax and watch your company dissolve into nothingness....because I'm not the only one who will bail...trust me on that one.

Pity your company is so short-sighted...but the old Karma will come around soon enough.



But then again, something tells me that Avid will buckle on this one and write the drivers....after another couple of months when the number of PT11 upgrades falls a few thousand short of what they expected...and when they introduce the new control surface at the next NAMM and they only sell 23 of them...when that happens, I may upgrade my software but until then, I will continue to look for alternatives and in any case, my PT10 and Control 24 work like a charm. I don't need 64bits or off-line bounce and I don't need to upgrade ALL of my thousands of dollars of plugins to AAX. My system has worked for years and will continue to.

Does anyone remember New Coke? The world's largest soft drink company blew it on that one...AND they realised it and fixed it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vote for Control 24/ProControl drivers for Pro Tools 11 tekis ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 14 05-10-2015 06:14 AM
ProControl Vs Mc Control? surroundnoob ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 2 08-13-2011 05:05 PM
Should I get a Control 24 or ProControl??? A Spooner ICON & C|24 3 03-23-2005 11:59 PM
Should I get a ProControl or Control 24??? A Spooner ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 6 03-17-2005 11:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com