Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-06-2015, 10:26 AM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 771
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors Pro Tools 11 | HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fidelis View Post
No VIs here. Just audio tracks. Most at 88.2 or 96khz. From 20 to 100 tracks... Never had this errors. Just mixing here.
Must say that I mix on a console, so not to many plugins. But I do use some!
Wondering if SSD really speeds the system up!
Thanks for the info. I did install the SSD's, but I got a -9171 while soloing a vocal track on a session with only Superior Drummer 2 and 3 audio tracks with 1 DSP plug each and Space on an insert. I was running at 96k with a 256 sample buffer. With your info, I'm going to transfer all my audio samples (drums and synth VI's (VSL and EZKeys) to one of my SSD's and put that into the last remaining SATA slot (4).

Oh, also, I use disk caching in PT. I'm going to experiment with turning that on and off and see if that has any effect.
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 2 1T data drives in Thunderbolt enclosure, OSX 10.10.5, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, Pro Tools 12.4 HD, PreSonus Studio One 3.5, Logic X, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-06-2015, 10:34 AM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 771
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors Pro Tools 11 | HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by glasswing View Post
I installed two SSDs in my 2012 Mac Pro a couple days ago (32 gigs RAM) and IT SMOKES! PCI 480 gig HD for clean install Mountain Lion OS and 480 Gig in a hard drive bay. No more warnings about anything being too slow or needing to raise the buffer size etc. I'm running a fair ton of VI's. Plus, the video looks terrific.

I got my SSDs at Other World Computing.

I think your troubles might be over.

Richard
www.glasswing.com
Hey Richard, thanks so much for the info. I did put them in but if you look at my reply to Fidelis, I did get an error. I did go with the Electra's because the SATA bus in the Mac Pro is only 3G. However, not noticing a big improvement in boot, shutdown, or cloning times. I did enable TRIM on them. I didn't go to the PCIe route because I was concerned about PCIe traffic with the HDX card. However, I'm thinking of getting one of those now that you've reported success on your install.
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 2 1T data drives in Thunderbolt enclosure, OSX 10.10.5, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, Pro Tools 12.4 HD, PreSonus Studio One 3.5, Logic X, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-06-2015, 11:02 AM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 771
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors Pro Tools 11 | HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArKay99 View Post
Hey Richard, thanks so much for the info. I did put them in but if you look at my reply to Fidelis, I did get an error. I did go with the Electra's because the SATA bus in the Mac Pro is only 3G. However, not noticing a big improvement in boot, shutdown, or cloning times. I did enable TRIM on them. I didn't go to the PCIe route because I was concerned about PCIe traffic with the HDX card. However, I'm thinking of getting one of those now that you've reported success on your install.
Here is what I thought a great thread with some info from those that have very good knowledge on SSD's and Mac Pro's.

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=356284
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 2 1T data drives in Thunderbolt enclosure, OSX 10.10.5, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, Pro Tools 12.4 HD, PreSonus Studio One 3.5, Logic X, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-06-2015, 01:23 PM
jacko's Avatar
jacko jacko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wroclaw / Poland
Posts: 696
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors Pro Tools 11 | HD

I replaced 5,1 Mac Pro with latest iMac i7. The errors are gone and it's much more stable.
__________________
UAD Apollo x16,
UAD Apollo Twin Duo,
UAD Octo Thunderbolt,
Mac Mini i7 2018,
Reaper DAW,
Presonus Faderport,
Arturia Beastep for DAW control,
Former Pro Tools HD user (from V7 until V12.6).
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-06-2015, 03:48 PM
Will Russell's Avatar
Will Russell Will Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Newfield, NY (Ithaca)
Posts: 960
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors Pro Tools 11 | HD

Hi,
The errors you're getting have nothing to do with the speed of your hard drive. They have to do with the HDX hardware. Is a known and chronic problem with HDX cards if you try to run at a buffer less than 512. The workaround solution is to go into the playback engine and select ignore errors.

If you doubt this information try running ProTools on the same computer off of the built-in output. The problems go away… :-(
__________________
Will Russell
Electric Wilburland Studio
www.wilburland.com
12 core 3.06Ghz MacPro, OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6, HDX, D-Command
Retina 5k iMac OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6, MBox3
Retina MacBook Pro OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-08-2015, 07:42 AM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 771
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors Pro Tools 11 | HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Will Russell View Post
Hi,
The errors you're getting have nothing to do with the speed of your hard drive. They have to do with the HDX hardware. Is a known and chronic problem with HDX cards if you try to run at a buffer less than 512. The workaround solution is to go into the playback engine and select ignore errors.

If you doubt this information try running ProTools on the same computer off of the built-in output. The problems go away… :-(
Thanks Will. I don't doubt the info as I've upped the buffer to 512 and 1024 and had success. I don't mind running at those buffer sizes for mixing, but tracking at those sizes causes enough latency that not only me, but other musicians as well, have to work harder to stay in time and the 'groove' suffers. I'll try turning on ignore errors and see if that works without 'hiccups'.
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 2 1T data drives in Thunderbolt enclosure, OSX 10.10.5, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, Pro Tools 12.4 HD, PreSonus Studio One 3.5, Logic X, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-08-2015, 07:50 AM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 771
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors Pro Tools 11 | HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by milaszewski View Post
I replaced 5,1 Mac Pro with latest iMac i7. The errors are gone and it's much more stable.
Jacek, I'm assuming you're using a Sonnet or similar TB to full length PCIe box for your native card?
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 2 1T data drives in Thunderbolt enclosure, OSX 10.10.5, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, Pro Tools 12.4 HD, PreSonus Studio One 3.5, Logic X, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-08-2015, 06:17 PM
brianjanthony brianjanthony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PA USA
Posts: 1,076
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors Pro Tools 11 | HD

I get these errors on a 5,1 Mac Pro tools 11 HD running native no hardware attached. Some days it seems better than others. Drives me nuts.
__________________
Brian
www.brianjanthony.com
MacPro 6 core 3.46 Cheese Grater
HDX and HD NATIVE
48 gig Ram
PT 2018.3.
Sierra
192 IO and 96 IO

TDM user way back. PT user since 98.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-08-2015, 06:17 PM
brianjanthony brianjanthony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PA USA
Posts: 1,076
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors Pro Tools 11 | HD

No matter what buffer or checkbox is checked....
__________________
Brian
www.brianjanthony.com
MacPro 6 core 3.46 Cheese Grater
HDX and HD NATIVE
48 gig Ram
PT 2018.3.
Sierra
192 IO and 96 IO

TDM user way back. PT user since 98.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-08-2015, 07:25 PM
Will Will is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Posts: 10
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors Pro Tools 11 | HD

Brian, try eliminating plug-ins to see if they are causing your problem. Four instance, the Sansamp plug-in is a known offender. Try running with just a basic stock avid plug-ins and go from there.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
-9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX Boe Larsen Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 519 03-08-2017 11:11 PM
Still getting -9171 and -9172 errors and confused about this 'upgrade' ArKay99 Pro Tools 11 0 12-23-2014 01:23 PM
Pro Tools 10.3 9171 and 9172 Errors Tops3b Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 20 07-14-2013 04:11 PM
UAD triggering 9171, 9172 errors? xq3js macOS 7 03-23-2013 12:47 AM
10.3.3 Major Fail....9171, 9172 and 9129 Errors Tops3b Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 12-21-2012 08:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com