Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 03-19-2001, 07:18 PM

Default How do I know if this engineer is wasting my time?

Hi, I am a producer/artist with a PT's rig and I am looking for an engineer to mix down my material which is in a PT's session, but I'm having trouble determining the right engineer for me. My session is really quite simle- it's a dance track: 12 tracks, basically it loops 2 bars of sampled material for three minutes and it has some vocals on top. One engineer listened to the track said it would take him 8 hrs, another said it would take him 2-3 hrs tops.
The first engineer's rate is half that of the second, but I'm wondering if I'm just paying for inexperience with the first engineer. He says that he has been mixing for 4 years professionally, went to an audio engineering school, and stands by his work. So my question is, how can I be sure that either engineer is not taking me for a ride? How long should a mix like this take? Thank you for any responses.
Old 03-19-2001, 08:31 PM

Default Re: How do I know if this engineer is wasting my time?

Based on what you've said, I'd say the one who quotes eight hours is more realistic. But that means nothing on its own.

Don't these people have demo reels for you to listen to?
Old 03-19-2001, 09:45 PM

are you kidding me? 8 hrs. to mix 12 tracks of a 2-bar loop? plus some vocals (or was that including vocals?)...if this guy can't get a good mix of 2 looped bars of 12 tracks in half that time or less, you should tell him to go back to that recording school and ask for a refund...