Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-16-2019, 11:27 AM
Siegfried Meier Siegfried Meier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,375
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Lambert View Post
Do one session with Logic -- have a pencil and paper handy.

In all honesty, when I use Logic it practically predicts my next move. When asking the question, "can it do this" it's nearly always answered with, "yes, and I can do it in several different ways. And have you considered this?"
Except when you need to copy sends from one track to another...😂

Every DAW is good at stuff, and maybe not so good at others. Using 2 in conjunction to get the job done is not a terrible thing.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-16-2019, 11:38 AM
xrekcor's Avatar
xrekcor xrekcor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 367
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

I'm in the 32 track limit group..... seems a lil silly these days to me.... even if it were to change to a 32 track limit and not just the first 32.... or they could just simply allow 64 even if this is still limited to whats out there in the market place.

But to me I can actually live with this it wouldn't push me in another direction DAW-wise although the 6101 error (which I have managed to sort out) nearly pushed me over to another DAW. But ultimately I prefer PT's workflow and its keyboard shortcut sys..... just seems ergonomic to me. also I love the track comping feature in PT.
__________________
Rob
———————————————————————————
MBP 15” 2018 macOS High Sierra 10.13.6 Touch Bar and ID
2.2GHz 6 core 8 gen Intel Core i7 processor (TB’s to 4.1GHz)
32 Gb of 2400MHz DDR4, 1T SSD, Magic Mouse and Keyboard
Pro Tools 2018.12, Cubase 9.5, Yamaha TF5, UR44, BEHA4700
........and a bowl of M&M's
———————————————————————————
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-16-2019, 11:52 AM
zion's Avatar
zion zion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,021
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Protootr View Post
(I’d love to see ARA2 support for Melodyne and some improvements in Elastic Audio algorithms to name a few).
I agree! I would like to see ARA2 and better stability at lowers latency. These are the two most lacking things for me.
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.7 | Studio One 4.1 Pro | Pro Tools 12.5.2 HD | Apollo X8 | UAD Octo Sat | UAD Quad Sat | Mac Mini 2018 i7 | 16GB Ram | 512GB SSD | Mojave 10.14.3 | OWC ThunderBay 4 | Drives’s Samsung EVO 860 + 840 + Crucial M4 SSD | Plugins | UAD, Softube, Waves, Nugen, Fabfilter, SSL, Lexicon, Eastwest, NI KOMP 9 ULT, PSP, IKMulti, Antares, Celemony, Slate Dig, etc | AKAI Pro Adv 61 | PreSonus Fader Port | Townsend Labs Sphere L22
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-16-2019, 12:13 PM
seanmccoy seanmccoy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 458
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

I still greatly prefer Logic for MIDI, and Quick Swipe comping and the automation curves are very cool. Other than that, I prefer absolutely everything about the Pro Tools layout, look, routing flexibility and overall operation. Doing mostly post, I'd call the lack of clip organization the most glaring weakness. Expanding plugin and send slots would also be nice.

(Full disclaimer: I'm not nearly as fluent on Logic X as I was on Logic 9, so I may not be fully versed in all the improvements)
__________________
ADK Core i7 4.20, 32GB RAM, W10 Pro, PT HD 2018.12, HD Native, OMNI, Digi 192, AJA Kona LHi, UAD-2 Quad; Mac Pro 8-core 2.67, 32GB RAM, High Sierra 10.13, Logic Pro 10.4.4, Apogee Rosetta 800, MOTU 2408 Mk II: MBP mid-2012, 16GB RAM, Sierra, MOTU LP32, Pro Tools 2018.3
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-16-2019, 12:19 PM
GS-DK GS-DK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 506
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

After all these years - still Logic for midi and PT for audio. If Logic had the same audio editing I would be Logic all the time.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-16-2019, 12:36 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,277
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

We run Ableton Live10 Suite aswell as PT2018Ultimate and Logic X has got a long way to come close to Live10 for midi and overall awesome features.

Along with Push2 Ableton is on top of the foodchain for sure! Love it!

And with Live10 now has way better touchscreen support as we use 2 Raven MTi2 screens for both PT and Live10.

LogicX is a accomplished DAW but has a lot to be desired for.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-16-2019, 01:17 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,554
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chingy View Post
Actually the MIDI does suck compared to Logic (and most certainly Cubase). Avid has made some improvements last year but still a ways to go.

ARA support (or built in pitch) would be nice. As would Bιzier curves in automation. Folders tracks. VST support (or AU - lots of great plugins still don’t support AAX and it doesn’t seem to be changing).
Plugin Boutique makes a plugin called Scaler which brings a lot of MIDI functionality to Pro Tools that other DAWs already have included.

Here's a video

SCALER | Unleash MIDI in Pro Tools
https://youtu.be/yHKS-joawDo
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-16-2019, 01:38 PM
Big World Big World is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Vancouver,BC,
Posts: 129
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

First of all, I am a totally committed Pro Tool user so I'm not trying to suggest switching or anything. That said, I was quite surprised by what Nuendo has to offer that PT doesn't have. This article explains many of the different features that are possible in a modern DAW. There are many(as good as PT is) ways for PT to improve it seems.

https://www.asoundeffect.com/nuendo-...ound+Effect%29
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-16-2019, 02:28 PM
Stephen Bond's Avatar
Stephen Bond Stephen Bond is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,018
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexLakis View Post
1. Stability. Pro Tools feels like you're constantly walking on egg shells compared to working in other DAWs. I think I've actually developed a mild case of PTSD over the past decade because of it. There's always that little nagging feeling of unease when tracking a band at low buffer sizes..
+1

I'd actually add to that pretty much anything in PT. That's not to be negative, just a fact. You can be working happily away doing pretty much any task and the poof, the thing crashes!

That said, I think I am seeing less crashes in the recent 2018 iterations

Stephen
__________________
Save an additional 10% off any purchase at Waves!

https://www.waves.com/r/9zsnwd
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-16-2019, 02:34 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,277
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benoni View Post
Plugin Boutique makes a plugin called Scaler which brings a lot of MIDI functionality to Pro Tools that other DAWs already have included.

Here's a video

SCALER | Unleash MIDI in Pro Tools
https://youtu.be/yHKS-joawDo
Yes we have Scaler installed on all macs here. Really useful plugin for more advanced midi stuff but those things are already included in most Daw’s ... but PT ...
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools LE with a New MacBook Pro Lacking FW400 acacia 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-15-2009 10:29 PM
d24/Mix Farm system lacking TDM power veryathletic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 12-20-2006 08:22 AM
How is PT lacking in Midi deejfro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 22 07-28-2005 08:57 PM
XP lacking Mac Midi Functionality??? Jonny Jones 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 11-05-2003 06:11 PM
What is lacking in the new Control 24 and the ProControl patdotcom General Discussion 3 03-05-2001 12:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com