Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-23-2010, 06:08 PM
stainless stainless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA, USA
Posts: 561
Default monitoring

as I'm about to make the plunge and commit to a new 8 core Mac, before I also commit to PT9.0 I figured i should ASK first before buying, rather than re-experience the disappointment of buying a Control 24 only to find out it wasn't close to an analog board when it came to signal routing... (I have since sold it and now have a Euphonix MC control/mix) which i knew upfront had zero signal routing capabilities

With the addition of ADC- can i truly utilize all analog outputs without latency?

I save plug-ins for mixing, but while recording I want to have the ability to send the bussed drum 'mix' to one output, keyboards, to another bass, etc, so i can utilize a monitor mixer to give the players individual headphone mixes (we prefer the "live" approach for the initial scratch/tracks)... never know when the chemistry is there and things just come together

DOES 9.0 ALLOW ME TO DO THIS?????

the latency in 8.0LE assigning duplicate tracks to analog 3 - etc makes it unusable

I suppose one work-around would be to go back to an analog mixer, which has it's merits, especially as i still record to tape... but I don't have the luxury of space to have both control surface and analog mixer (I'd want a 32/8/4 at a minimum)

so..... does 9.0 deliver this?

Avid?
__________________
Stainless - G5 2.3x2, 5 GB RAM, 1.5TB, OSX 10.5.x and 8.0 002R/D8, MC Control/MC Mix, etc, etc, etc
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-23-2010, 06:15 PM
getz76 getz76 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,491
Default Re: monitoring

ADC is a mixing tool. It actually introduces latency (adds latency to the "slowest" track).
__________________
| Logic Pro 9 | Reason 6.5 | Pro Tools 10 | MOTU UltraLite mk3 | RME ADI-2 | Summit Audio 2BA-221 x 2 | MOTU 8pre x 2 |
| Mac Pro (4,1) 2.26gHz Xeon x 2 16gB OS X 10.7.4 | Macbook Pro (8,2) 2.2gHz i7 Quad 16gB OS X 10.7.4 |
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-23-2010, 06:32 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: monitoring

Maybe I don't understand what you're trying to do, but I'm not sure why you can't already do this in PT8, or any DAW, for that matter. As long as you track at a low buffer setting like 64, there shouldn't be any noticeable latency. Or you can use low latency monitoring if you have to.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-23-2010, 07:31 PM
getz76 getz76 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,491
Default Re: monitoring

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
Maybe I don't understand what you're trying to do, but I'm not sure why you can't already do this in PT8, or any DAW, for that matter. As long as you track at a low buffer setting like 64, there shouldn't be any noticeable latency. Or you can use low latency monitoring if you have to.
Low Latency Monitoring will not work in this situation. The 002/003 LLM is only good for the Output 1/2. If he wants to send different mixes to different talent, that isn't an option.

I agree playback buffer at 64 samples isn't noticeable, but some people I trust disagree.

I believe you need to tap a mixer with a 002/003. Now that Pro Tools 9 is open to other hardware, you might want to consider other interfaces.
__________________
| Logic Pro 9 | Reason 6.5 | Pro Tools 10 | MOTU UltraLite mk3 | RME ADI-2 | Summit Audio 2BA-221 x 2 | MOTU 8pre x 2 |
| Mac Pro (4,1) 2.26gHz Xeon x 2 16gB OS X 10.7.4 | Macbook Pro (8,2) 2.2gHz i7 Quad 16gB OS X 10.7.4 |
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-24-2010, 12:20 PM
stainless stainless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA, USA
Posts: 561
Default Re: monitoring

so (to be clear) if I don't use LMM and drop to a low buffer (and I assume disable any plug-ins which might get placed on a track... as I understand this would cause some latency) then all outputs should be "in synch"?

but by lowering the buffer aren't I opening myself up to error/session stoppages?

meaning ADC in 9.0 will not help me in this situation?
__________________
Stainless - G5 2.3x2, 5 GB RAM, 1.5TB, OSX 10.5.x and 8.0 002R/D8, MC Control/MC Mix, etc, etc, etc
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-24-2010, 02:11 PM
Zooce Zooce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 85
Default Re: monitoring

Quote:
Originally Posted by stainless View Post
but by lowering the buffer aren't I opening myself up to error/session stoppages?
If you're going to be running an 8-core Mac, buffer at 64 will be just fine. I'm on an iMac Quad core, and recording at 24 48 with 64 buffer; and everything is fine.

**Although, I'm only recording a few tracks at a time, not entire bands. But an 8-core Mac should be able to handle what you want to do with ease.**
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-24-2010, 03:13 PM
stainless stainless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA, USA
Posts: 561
Default Re: monitoring

I am planning on the 8 core (can't ju$tfy the 12 core)

it's not uncommon for me to record 12 - 14 tracks at a time
__________________
Stainless - G5 2.3x2, 5 GB RAM, 1.5TB, OSX 10.5.x and 8.0 002R/D8, MC Control/MC Mix, etc, etc, etc
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Direct Monitoring VS PT Monitoring therecordinghouse macOS 5 11-23-2013 05:18 PM
Record monitoring level different from Playback monitoring level. sonicflwr macOS 1 03-09-2012 10:05 AM
Monitoring through Rosetta vs Monitoring through 003 Rob0214 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 11-17-2010 03:02 AM
Auto Input monitoring / Input only monitoring - Alt+K AdamPT8 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 02-09-2010 10:50 AM
Monitoring 5.1 patrick@mailersco.com Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 05-23-2001 08:10 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com