Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-20-2010, 10:26 AM
stainless stainless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA, USA
Posts: 561
Default Spdif

I'm trying to get the optional 17 and 18th inputs on my 002R- however I can't get much signal level into the the track (at least it's not enough to be usable... using the Audio Suite/Gain at +15 dB makes it audible... but not really useful, even though the pre-amp (ART DPS II) is almost clipping

I did find a note in the 002 getting started that (if I understand it) says that if using an optical input, I can't use the rca... however the optical is being used for ADAT in (D8) not SPDIF (and it works fine)

SPDIF L/R both show up as inputs and is not checked in the output window-

any ideas?
__________________
Stainless - G5 2.3x2, 5 GB RAM, 1.5TB, OSX 10.5.x and 8.0 002R/D8, MC Control/MC Mix, etc, etc, etc
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-20-2010, 10:29 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Spdif

Are u using an RCA cable?
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-20-2010, 10:42 AM
stainless stainless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA, USA
Posts: 561
Default Re: Spdif

I thought is was an official SPDIF... think that could be it? I read somewhere that short RCA's would work, but otherwise there'd be noise.... no mention of signal loss... I guess it's off to GC to get another cable
__________________
Stainless - G5 2.3x2, 5 GB RAM, 1.5TB, OSX 10.5.x and 8.0 002R/D8, MC Control/MC Mix, etc, etc, etc
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-20-2010, 10:46 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Spdif

It needs to be a SPDIF (Co-axial) cable.. I don't kno if that clears up the low issue, although it should but still, u should hav the correct cable...

Is there not a volume or trim on the Pre that controls the SPDIF signal?
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-20-2010, 11:16 AM
stainless stainless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA, USA
Posts: 561
Default Re: Spdif

yes, digital output is dimed

I'm off to GC
__________________
Stainless - G5 2.3x2, 5 GB RAM, 1.5TB, OSX 10.5.x and 8.0 002R/D8, MC Control/MC Mix, etc, etc, etc
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ProFire 2626: SPDIF COAX & SPDIF OPTICAL Simultaneous success!!! WHAAAA HAPPENED??? cueball73 macOS 0 05-22-2012 12:41 PM
mono like sound from spdif out (GA-EX58-UD3R) to spdif in (Omni ) chrisdee Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 9 04-02-2012 05:10 AM
Spdif RCA to Spdif Optical conversion - degradation?? Hollow Body 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 02-17-2011 08:21 AM
Digi 96io - can you mix Optical SPDIF and phono SPDIF? buckaroo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 08-24-2009 11:20 AM
Echo Mia W/ SPDIF also does RCA style SPDIF cause the same crashes as optical?? Paul_m 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-16-2003 05:41 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com