Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-30-2004, 08:02 PM
Shawn B Shawn B is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Boston
Posts: 226
Default ilok zero downtime? Where did the site go?

Anyone know when the ilok site is coming back? I had the unfortunate luck of an ilok dying today. Had lots of my plugs on it. I need to start the grueling process of getting it taken care of and really wanted to do it asap.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-30-2004, 08:15 PM
Avid's Avatar
Avid Avid is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 9,516
Default Re: ilok zero downtime? Where did the site go?

The site seems to be up:
www.ilok.com

I didn't see it go down.
__________________
Administrator
Avid Pro Audio Community
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-02-2004, 08:08 AM
Shawn B Shawn B is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Boston
Posts: 226
Default Re: ilok zero downtime? Where did the site go?

Well, that turned out to be very simple. Lucky for me I have a bunch of iloks and the broken one is only shorting out sometimes. I was able to move all of the auths from the bad ilok to one of the good iloks. I must say that the ilok is absolutely poorly built. The one that failed was only a year old. That is the first time in 14 years that I have had any kind of copy protection fail. One of the big problems is that the usb connection is not soldered very well to the pcb in the unit. Give it a little wiggle and you can see where the stress point is. I predict that as the ilok reaches a saturation point and more of them start to fail we may see legal action because of the licensing disparity. It may only seems like a small piece of plastic for 30 bucks. But mine are worth easily over $6,000.00. Not to mention the money I lose if my studio goes down because of it. The fact that I can't leave multiple iloks plugged in is the main reason it failed. It also caused a usb port on one of our keyboards to fail because of the constant plugging in and out. This must be addressed soon.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iLok broke =( no Zero Downtime. What do I do? mastershredder 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-14-2007 04:57 AM
ILOK ZERO DOWNTIME RANT Ken P 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-09-2007 09:52 AM
Ilok zero downtime- problem jlcnyc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-21-2005 09:49 PM
Who's using iLok Zero Downtime? Drew Mazurek Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 01-15-2005 02:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com