Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-12-2014, 06:36 PM
StratasoundStudios StratasoundStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Phx, AZ
Posts: 8
Default 96k playback impossible!!

Hey guys, i received a project to work on that was recorded in 96k. I had some issues with the playback speed of these tracks being either too far ahead or behind after it was converted to 48k.

First of all, is this possible? Is the conversion affecting the playback speed of these tracks?

Second, I keep getting errors whenever i try to play these tracks at 96k in my session. I can start a session, but whenever i try to listen to the playback i get an error and have to reboot PT. Also, when i open up Superior Drummer, the samples sound HORRIBLE. I am sure it has to do with my buffer size. Although i am not sure what buffer size i should be using. In scarlett mixpro you can only set it by ms not actual size. So i have left it at 1ms and in PT i selected 1024 for the buffer size..... Any ideas?

Rig Info...

Intel i7 3820
8gigs ram 1666hz
Win 7 Ultimate with all latest updates
Scarlett 6i6 interface

if you need more info then that let me know.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-12-2014, 07:38 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,018
Default Re: 96k playback impossible!!

Not quite sure what's going on for you. What worked fine for me with a 96K CD project(which kept dragging my rig to its knees) was to create a blank session at 48K and then Import Session Data and let PT convert it on import. This worked fine for me with every audio clip in its proper place. As for any possible "loss of quality", the original recording was done so badly, it only got better.

Random thoughts: Does the Scarlett support 96K? Are you running the session from a separate(and approved) hard drive? SD2 samples are all 48K, so running a session at 96K will require(I think) all the samples to be up-converted, which will use double the RAM(someone feel free to correct me if this is not the case) and increase loading time a lot.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-12-2014, 07:46 PM
StratasoundStudios StratasoundStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Phx, AZ
Posts: 8
Default Re: 96k playback impossible!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Not quite sure what's going on for you. What worked fine for me with a 96K CD project(which kept dragging my rig to its knees) was to create a blank session at 48K and then Import Session Data and let PT convert it on import. This worked fine for me with every audio clip in its proper place. As for any possible "loss of quality", the original recording was done so badly, it only got better.
Yeah that's what i did originally, and it came out fine except the guitar tracks were a little off time, but that could have been the recording engineers fault. I was just curious if upon converting from 96-48 if there is a possibility of any playback speed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952
Random thoughts: Does the Scarlett support 96K? Are you running the session from a separate(and approved) hard drive? SD2 samples are all 48K, so running a session at 96K will require(I think) all the samples to be up-converted, which will use double the RAM(someone feel free to correct me if this is not the case) and increase loading time a lot.
I do have the option for 96k in both scarlett mixcontrol and in my device settings in windows. Im using a SSD 128 gig drive for windows and pro tools, everything else goes on a brand new 1 TB WD black caviar 64mb cache. Last night i did get SD2 to work a bit, but the samples were horrible sounding. Ive sent a query into Focusrite to see if they can resolve but i was curious if anyone here had a similar experience.

thanks for the reply!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-13-2014, 09:23 AM
WillFocusrite WillFocusrite is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Focusrite HQ
Posts: 17
Default Re: 96k playback impossible!!

Hi StratasoundStudios,

Could you please let me know your case number that you will have got when you emailed in and I will have a look into this for you.

Many Thanks

Will
Focusrite Support
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-13-2014, 04:34 PM
StratasoundStudios StratasoundStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Phx, AZ
Posts: 8
Default Re: 96k playback impossible!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by WillFocusrite View Post
Hi StratasoundStudios,

Could you please let me know your case number that you will have got when you emailed in and I will have a look into this for you.

Many Thanks

Will
Focusrite Support
Hey Will thanks for looking into this. I would have PMed you but i dont have that ability on here just yet.

Case 266582

Email:stratasoundstudios@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Isn't This Impossible? moonerk@bellsouth.net Windows 4 07-04-2013 04:54 AM
Recording and playback becoming impossible Frisian3000 Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 3 01-01-2012 03:27 PM
recording impossible pmueller Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-25-2009 03:29 AM
The impossible selection bug fman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 14 10-30-2008 07:37 PM
Mix with 0sX.4 impossible? figgebass Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 01-26-2007 11:36 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com