Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 02-22-2003, 04:47 PM

Default Any Ex-Cubase Users? Your Stories Please...

Hey there everyone,

I am currently running a Tascam US-428 w/ Cubase 5.0 and am seriously considering taking the plunge into a Digi 002 system - for all of the obvious reasons.

My biggest concern is learing a new program. I have been running Cubase in some form or another for about 5 years now, and although I very comfortable with it at the moment (limitations/bugs/irritations included) I have reached the point where I want a professional control surface/software package that work seamlessly together, and sound great - and the 002 looks like it just may fit the bill.

For those of you who have crossed over from Cubase-land (even those who are still Cubasers) - What is the transition like over to ProTools? Did you find it hard/frustrating/etc? Any more hard/frustrating than Cubase? Or just different?

I have messed around with quite a few programs - Cubase SX, Nuendo, Logic - even PT Free on my old system - but always went back to Cubase 5.0 because I was so comfortable with it. The Tascam US-428 sure made mixing a lot more fun, but the integration w/ Cubase isn't as tight as I would have hoped, non-motorized faders can be quite inconvenient on a large mix, and quite frankly, the thing just feels/looks like a toy.