Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-19-2015, 11:11 AM
abc1mce2's Avatar
abc1mce2 abc1mce2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Motor City
Posts: 238
Default HDX on hackintosh.

Since I'm thinking about leaving the PC world and joining the Mac PT world, I need to know your experiences if your using PT 12.x.x HDX on an hackintosh machine. I should say I have built a hackintosh in the past, but it wasn't used as a music computer so the build isn't new to me. When I first build my current PC I choose the components with building a hackintosh down the line so that's not an issue. What I'm most concerned about is stability of PT, plugins and what OS version do you use. Right now my plans are to use 10.9.x since Core Audio is still working up to this version with PT. To be truthful anything or advice you can give me would be most appreciated.
__________________
What is more relaxing then Music?

GigabyteZ490 Vision D
Xeon Core I9 10850K cpu Windows10 v.20H2
Avid HDX 2020.12 HD - 16x16 - 8x8x8 HD I/O - PT Dock - PT Control - AVID Artist Mix (2)
Universal Audio UAD2 Pci-E and Satellite USB Octo - Pci-E Quad - SOLO 610 - Twin-finity
Antelope Trinity - 10M
Grace Design M905
Bricasti M7 (2)
Lexicon PCM96
Burl B2
Dangerous 2Bus
Neumann KH805 - KH310
Yamaha NS-10M
Avantone Mixcubes
Etc, etc, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-19-2015, 11:58 AM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: HDX on hackintosh.

Before going Hackintosh, I would exhaust all means possible to try to find and buy a 2009 MacPro 8 Core, where it can be upgraded to a 12 Core, which is what I did!
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-19-2015, 12:51 PM
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,902
Default Re: HDX on hackintosh.

I'm running 2 Hackintosh HDN systems and 3 Hackintosh vanillas at my studio.
So no HDX, but I see no reason why it would behave any differently.
They all are in use as main rigs on a daily basis, and I have no issues whatsoever. I started with 10.8, and went from 10.9 to 10.10.5. Rock solid machines.
I used to run Mac Pros for a long time, and I really can't tell a difference. If you already built a Hackintosh I don't have to tell you about the experience.

There sure are issues with PT here and there, but I had those on Apple computers as well.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24 | S3 | Dock
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-19-2015, 01:18 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,738
Default HDX on hackintosh.

Yes, running HD|N 12.3/ 12.2 both without issues....on a Hack 10.85
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.

Last edited by YYR123; 11-19-2015 at 01:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-19-2015, 01:43 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,295
Default Re: HDX on hackintosh.

Maybe a better question is why you think moving to Mac will be better? My current 6-core PC runs PT11HD like a train. Everyone I know, whether they run PC or Mac, all have their share of issues, with neither platform being significantly better or worse. It really boils down to a few details:
Proper selection of hardware(easier on Mac)
Matching PT version with OS version(easier on a PC)
Proper system setup and tweaks(same on both)
Which platform are you more comfy with(maybe a non-issue)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-19-2015, 02:02 PM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,049
Default Re: HDX on hackintosh.

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Maybe a better question is why you think moving to Mac will be better? My current 6-core PC runs PT11HD like a train. Everyone I know, whether they run PC or Mac, all have their share of issues, with neither platform being significantly better or worse. It really boils down to a few details:
Proper selection of hardware(easier on Mac)
Matching PT version with OS version(easier on a PC)
Proper system setup and tweaks(same on both)
Which platform are you more comfy with(maybe a non-issue)

So true Albee
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-19-2015, 02:21 PM
abc1mce2's Avatar
abc1mce2 abc1mce2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Motor City
Posts: 238
Default Re: HDX on hackintosh.

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Maybe a better question is why you think moving to Mac will be better? My current 6-core PC runs PT11HD like a train. Everyone I know, whether they run PC or Mac, all have their share of issues, with neither platform being significantly better or worse. It really boils down to a few details:
Proper selection of hardware(easier on Mac)
Matching PT version with OS version(easier on a PC)
Proper system setup and tweaks(same on both)
Which platform are you more comfy with(maybe a non-issue)
For the most part mine does also. More or less it's about software and plugins that are only available on Mac and not PC and a few other things would make life a little more easier....like M7 Control and Defaulter.

My PT pc runs better (12.3) than it ever has, but some of the hiccups and conflicts between plugins I've had recently has finally made me want to switch. I'm not a part of that I love Apple everything crowd even thought I do think OSX runs smooth but I think it's time to give it a shot. I'll start with a new SSD and keep my current Windows7 PT SSD just in case I don't like that either.
__________________
What is more relaxing then Music?

GigabyteZ490 Vision D
Xeon Core I9 10850K cpu Windows10 v.20H2
Avid HDX 2020.12 HD - 16x16 - 8x8x8 HD I/O - PT Dock - PT Control - AVID Artist Mix (2)
Universal Audio UAD2 Pci-E and Satellite USB Octo - Pci-E Quad - SOLO 610 - Twin-finity
Antelope Trinity - 10M
Grace Design M905
Bricasti M7 (2)
Lexicon PCM96
Burl B2
Dangerous 2Bus
Neumann KH805 - KH310
Yamaha NS-10M
Avantone Mixcubes
Etc, etc, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-19-2015, 02:23 PM
abc1mce2's Avatar
abc1mce2 abc1mce2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Motor City
Posts: 238
Default Re: HDX on hackintosh.

By the way albee, what version of Windows are you using?
__________________
What is more relaxing then Music?

GigabyteZ490 Vision D
Xeon Core I9 10850K cpu Windows10 v.20H2
Avid HDX 2020.12 HD - 16x16 - 8x8x8 HD I/O - PT Dock - PT Control - AVID Artist Mix (2)
Universal Audio UAD2 Pci-E and Satellite USB Octo - Pci-E Quad - SOLO 610 - Twin-finity
Antelope Trinity - 10M
Grace Design M905
Bricasti M7 (2)
Lexicon PCM96
Burl B2
Dangerous 2Bus
Neumann KH805 - KH310
Yamaha NS-10M
Avantone Mixcubes
Etc, etc, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-19-2015, 02:26 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,738
Default Re: HDX on hackintosh.

If I were going with 3rd party Hardware I would definitely go with Mac (with few exceptions of which is RME)

But with Avid hardware it's the same on both sides of the fence
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G5 case mod - Hackintosh YYR123 General Discussion 35 06-28-2013 08:31 AM
Hackintosh builds? Sixstringer7 General Discussion 7 04-08-2013 10:41 AM
Hackintosh with Pro Tools HD 2 fatcode Buy & Sell 0 10-18-2012 06:23 PM
Hackintosh on my rig? Raoul23 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 7 07-01-2011 04:26 PM
Hackintosh Help HDK_Ent 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 07-16-2010 11:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com