Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-23-2010, 12:59 PM
jacko's Avatar
jacko jacko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wroclaw / Poland
Posts: 645
Default Pro Tools 9 HD users should be provided with backup license

Why has backup license been dropped?
Now the with the possibility of using PT 9 HD on my laptop I don't really understand why would I need to take my iLok from the studio risking potential loss or damage and making myself unable to work until I buy a new license... not mentioning other licenses that are worth thousands...
__________________
5dB Ride mixing and mastering
http://5dbride.com/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-23-2010, 01:54 PM
getz76 getz76 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,491
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 HD users should be provided with backup license

Quote:
Originally Posted by milaszewski View Post
Why has backup license been dropped?
Now the with the possibility of using PT 9 HD on my laptop I don't really understand why would I need to take my iLok from the studio risking potential loss or damage and making myself unable to work until I buy a new license... not mentioning other licenses that are worth thousands...
No one is forcing you to use your PT9HD license on your laptop. It's a pretty nifty thing, actually.

You could get the ZDT protection and another iLok; keep the PT9HD license on the "spare" iLok and move that with the laptop. The rest of your assets stay in studio.

Copy protection schemes stink, but there really is not much of an alternative given the fact that enough people in the community don't have a problem with stealing IP. Ironic, but true.
__________________
| Logic Pro 9 | Reason 6.5 | Pro Tools 10 | MOTU UltraLite mk3 | RME ADI-2 | Summit Audio 2BA-221 x 2 | MOTU 8pre x 2 |
| Mac Pro (4,1) 2.26gHz Xeon x 2 16gB OS X 10.7.4 | Macbook Pro (8,2) 2.2gHz i7 Quad 16gB OS X 10.7.4 |
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-23-2010, 02:06 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,771
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 HD users should be provided with backup license

If you have more than one core card you might want to purchase a second license and put it on its own iLok for use with the laptop. The PTHD license gives you the same functionality as the PT9+CPTK so chances are good you going to want that functionality. You could buy some LE hardware and do the upgrade but your going to loose some HD features.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-23-2010, 02:41 PM
lennieh lennieh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Epsom Downs,Surrey,UK
Posts: 388
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 HD users should be provided with backup license

They could at least let you keep your backup PT8 license. I had left mine on ilok site so that i could download it to a new ilok if I ever needed it, but the PT9 upgrade removed that asset as well as the one on my ilok....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-23-2010, 02:42 PM
jacko's Avatar
jacko jacko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wroclaw / Poland
Posts: 645
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 HD users should be provided with backup license

We used to have something called backup license. We don't have that now. That is the point of my complaint.
__________________
5dB Ride mixing and mastering
http://5dbride.com/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-23-2010, 05:39 PM
25ghosts 25ghosts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 3,333
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 HD users should be provided with backup license

Quote:
Originally Posted by milaszewski View Post
We used to have something called backup license. We don't have that now. That is the point of my complaint.
Well, AVID knows that b4 you could only run PT with the HD hardware. Today you cant. They more or less accuse their users of wanting to CHEAT them out of ONE license...

This is PARANOIA

1) Buy ONE PT HD license and USE that on as many cpus as you want. JUST bring your iLok.... No need for a seconds license.

2) We will only GRANT ONE license - the USER could install the BU License on a 2nd ilok and use that on 2nd CPU....

1 and 2 are the SAME.... And they USE both as arguments. This is paranoid in a way that is also paradox...
Clearly AVID does not have Einstein sitting in their decision making department. Perhaps they hired homer simpson !
__________________
2016 MacBook Pro Retina | 16GB RAM | 1TB SSD | OS X Latest - PTHD 12 Latest | 4K LG Thunderbolt Display | Logic Pro 10
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-23-2010, 06:27 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,596
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 HD users should be provided with backup license

the rub is that a lot of backup licensees have been sold on e-bay and Craig's List

that you had to have hardware to use it Avid had you for some hardware
now that's not the case

of the 150 or so rigs I've maintained sense the iLok came out I have never needed to use a backup license
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-24-2010, 05:03 AM
25ghosts 25ghosts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 3,333
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 HD users should be provided with backup license

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
the rub is that a lot of backup licensees have been sold on e-bay and Craig's List
There will always be foul people. And criminal activity.

WHY SHOULD I AND OTHERS SUFFER BECAUSE SOME ARE NOT RIGHT IN THEIR HEAD
__________________
2016 MacBook Pro Retina | 16GB RAM | 1TB SSD | OS X Latest - PTHD 12 Latest | 4K LG Thunderbolt Display | Logic Pro 10
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-24-2010, 05:19 AM
jacko's Avatar
jacko jacko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wroclaw / Poland
Posts: 645
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 HD users should be provided with backup license

it is possible to block licenses from being sold.
I can't sold my Sonnox licenses without a consent from Sonnox - and even then they let me sold all licenses as a bundle, not separetly.
__________________
5dB Ride mixing and mastering
http://5dbride.com/
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-24-2010, 07:43 AM
getz76 getz76 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,491
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 HD users should be provided with backup license

Quote:
Originally Posted by 25ghosts View Post
WHY SHOULD I AND OTHERS SUFFER BECAUSE SOME ARE NOT RIGHT IN THEIR HEAD
Unfortunately, it is the same reason you need to lock your door. Stinks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by milaszewski View Post
it is possible to block licenses from being sold.
I can't sold my Sonnox licenses without a consent from Sonnox - and even then they let me sold all licenses as a bundle, not separetly.
People would just sell an entire iLok with just the license on it. Sure, you cannot administer it, but it would work.
__________________
| Logic Pro 9 | Reason 6.5 | Pro Tools 10 | MOTU UltraLite mk3 | RME ADI-2 | Summit Audio 2BA-221 x 2 | MOTU 8pre x 2 |
| Mac Pro (4,1) 2.26gHz Xeon x 2 16gB OS X 10.7.4 | Macbook Pro (8,2) 2.2gHz i7 Quad 16gB OS X 10.7.4 |
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB 8HD License - Get rid of that backup mostlypost Buy & Sell 4 12-01-2012 02:06 PM
PT backup license tripstation General Discussion 4 03-12-2011 06:38 AM
PT8 HD backup license hmowday Pro Tools 9 1 11-06-2010 06:36 PM
Pro Tools LE 8 - Keeps on crashing. A lot of information has been provided. Mattitude 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 26 03-02-2010 08:10 PM
PT 7 iLok backup license? Media Man Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 04-21-2006 12:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com