Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 06-03-2019, 05:17 PM
macmusic9 macmusic9 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Branson, MO.
Posts: 48
Default Re: New Mac Pro

Actually during the keynote, they did say they were rack mountable and showed a tower of them stacked like servers. Don't know if that meant there will be a server version or this one is rack mountable. Waiting for the replay of the keynote to show up on apple's site because I had it playing in the background while I was doing real work
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 06-03-2019, 05:43 PM
LightWing's Avatar
LightWing LightWing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Titusville, FL
Posts: 504
Default Re: Apple Keynote going

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
They announced that Avid supports the new Mac Pro and mentioned the new box supports a HDX6 -- wow
I suspect that a new FULLY BLOWN Mac Pro will run close to $20K. Maybe higher if much the components are Chinese made and the trade war escalates which it probably will.

YIKES!

Question is WHERE they will manufacture it.
__________________
Patrick

www.LightWingStudios.com

Musical Instrument Protection Accessories...Made In America.

AxeShield HD, AmpShield HD, KeyShield HD, AxeSak, AxeGlove & AxeCap

Win 10 Pro, PT 2019.5 Native, Presonus Studio One 4.5, Dell Precision T5500, Dual Processors (12 Cores), 72GB RAM, 4@500GB SSD, 2@4TB HD, Nvidia 2GB HDMI Card, Vizio 39" TV as Monitor, Presonus AudioBox USB Interface, Mackie HR-828 Monitors, Katana Head, Fishman Triple Play, AIR Music & East West Plugins, 9 Guitars...& an AMAZING wife. :)
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 06-03-2019, 05:46 PM
LightWing's Avatar
LightWing LightWing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Titusville, FL
Posts: 504
Default Re: Apple Keynote going

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
the apple.com spec page "shows" proprietary connectors so the adapter hell continues?
And you expected something different from Apple?
__________________
Patrick

www.LightWingStudios.com

Musical Instrument Protection Accessories...Made In America.

AxeShield HD, AmpShield HD, KeyShield HD, AxeSak, AxeGlove & AxeCap

Win 10 Pro, PT 2019.5 Native, Presonus Studio One 4.5, Dell Precision T5500, Dual Processors (12 Cores), 72GB RAM, 4@500GB SSD, 2@4TB HD, Nvidia 2GB HDMI Card, Vizio 39" TV as Monitor, Presonus AudioBox USB Interface, Mackie HR-828 Monitors, Katana Head, Fishman Triple Play, AIR Music & East West Plugins, 9 Guitars...& an AMAZING wife. :)
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 06-03-2019, 05:53 PM
ProtoolsLover ProtoolsLover is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 104
Default Re: Apple Keynote going

Apple says that Logic runs 5 times faster on the base 8 core than the most recent trash an 12 core.

I have to imagine that with a machine this powerful, why would anyone need HDX for processing?
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 06-03-2019, 06:00 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,104
Default Re: Apple Keynote going

Quote:
Originally Posted by ProtoolsLover View Post
Apple says that Logic runs 5 times faster on the base 8 core than the most recent trash an 12 core.

I have to imagine that with a machine this powerful, why would anyone need HDX for processing?
Because it's *not* a simple race between the power of a CPU and a DSP. Some folks need HDX for large IO expansion and some folks want deterministic/low-latency monitoring behavior though plugins.

Being able to run 5.1x more guitar amp sim plugins tells you nothing useful about the minimal buffer size and latency possible for a tracking workload, I sure hope it's low. But who knows... Apple did not provide details of IO buffer size for those claims, but I expect it to be the largest supported.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 06-03-2019, 06:19 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,651
Default Re: New Mac Pro

Finally here for all the Movie Studios with unlimited budgets

I might get one used in 15years just to play around with it.
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 06-03-2019, 06:39 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,922
Default Re: New Mac Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by macmusic9 View Post
Actually during the keynote, they did say they were rack mountable and showed a tower of them stacked like servers. Don't know if that meant there will be a server version or this one is rack mountable. Waiting for the replay of the keynote to show up on apple's site because I had it playing in the background while I was doing real work
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 06-03-2019, 07:15 PM
ProtoolsLover ProtoolsLover is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 104
Default Re: Apple Keynote going

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Because it's *not* a simple race between the power of a CPU and a DSP. Some folks need HDX for large IO expansion and some folks want deterministic/low-latency monitoring behavior though plugins.

Being able to run 5.1x more guitar amp sim plugins tells you nothing useful about the minimal buffer size and latency possible for a tracking workload, I sure hope it's low. But who knows... Apple did not provide details of IO buffer size for those claims, but I expect it to be the largest supported.
Come on man, you are always super negative. We all get it’s not Apples to Oranges, we all get in this day and age there are many variables that have to be considered “is it worth it or not”?

Is this overkill for what most of us want to do? Could be. That being said, depends on where the “real world, audio/VI” performance actually lies vs costly systems like HDX, Waves UAD Hardware, which by implied apparent performance abilities either needs an immediate to UAD 20, not 2.

All I’m saying is let’s not be so quick to judge. Being a user for over 15 years, coming from an HD6, that back in the day people said computers it will be a very long time before computers could out perform it, then it was HD Native can’t out perform TDM, and recently HD Native can’t our perform HDX. I’m not taking one side or the other, but history has proven that most of us so called “knowledgeable” have proven to be clueless.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 06-03-2019, 07:16 PM
clivvy clivvy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: philadelphia
Posts: 46
Default Re: New Mac Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
Finally here for all the Movie Studios with unlimited budgets

I might get one used in 15years just to play around with it.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 06-03-2019, 07:16 PM
clivvy clivvy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: philadelphia
Posts: 46
Default Re: New Mac Pro

lol!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com