Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-23-2018, 07:33 AM
yveshertoghs yveshertoghs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Belgium
Posts: 3
Default Pro Tools 2018 on Yosemite

Hi,

I installed Pro Tools First, which worked fine with my iMAC running Yosemite. Note that i HAVE to stay on Yosemite because of the fact I have an SSL Nucleus, whose Audio driver isn't supported in higher versions of MacOS.

I upgraded to Pro Tools to enable larger track-counts, and purchased the license. But then i realised that Pro Tools 2018 doesn't support Yosemite.

I have tried to download previous versions of Pro Tools (11 seems to support Yosemite), but i can't find a link to download from.

Wil my current license support Pro Tools 11 ?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-23-2018, 08:28 AM
zerodistraction zerodistraction is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 32
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018 on Yosemite

My understanding is you won’t have access to older versions unless you had a perpetual licence at the time when Pro Tools 11 came out.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-23-2018, 03:31 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,281
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018 on Yosemite

Quote:
Originally Posted by yveshertoghs View Post
Hi,

I installed Pro Tools First, which worked fine with my iMAC running Yosemite. Note that i HAVE to stay on Yosemite because of the fact I have an SSL Nucleus, whose Audio driver isn't supported in higher versions of MacOS.

I upgraded to Pro Tools to enable larger track-counts, and purchased the license. But then i realised that Pro Tools 2018 doesn't support Yosemite.

I have tried to download previous versions of Pro Tools (11 seems to support Yosemite), but i can't find a link to download from.

Wil my current license support Pro Tools 11 ?

Thanks
The answer to your question depends on what exact version of PT you purchased. Some have a combo license asset for PT10/11/12 (aka 2018) and some don't. Also depends on what's on your iLok - take a look using the ILM s/w and see what's on there.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-23-2018, 04:19 PM
toolz toolz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: uk
Posts: 186
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018 on Yosemite

I'd recommend 12.8.1 as the best version for Yosemite.
__________________
[B][SIZE="1"]System:
PT 12.8.1 HD-Native PCIe, 48 I/O 16x16, 2012 Mac Pro 12 core 3.46Ghz 64gig RAM, UAD Quad FW, Apple 30” Cinema
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-24-2018, 12:37 AM
yveshertoghs yveshertoghs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Belgium
Posts: 3
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018 on Yosemite

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
The answer to your question depends on what exact version of PT you purchased. Some have a combo license asset for PT10/11/12 (aka 2018) and some don't. Also depends on what's on your iLok - take a look using the ILM s/w and see what's on there.
I purchased PT 2018, after verifying that PT first 2018 ran fine on my iMAC.
So it seems I made the wrong purchase then

I find it mind boggling that i cannot use a subscription license to consume previous versions of PT ??
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-24-2018, 03:49 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,281
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018 on Yosemite

Quote:
Originally Posted by yveshertoghs View Post
I purchased PT 2018, after verifying that PT first 2018 ran fine on my iMAC.
So it seems I made the wrong purchase then

I find it mind boggling that i cannot use a subscription license to consume previous versions of PT ??
I know it's weird but that's the way it is. You may be able to go to a PT license that has the combo license asset. I can't answer that but I know there are others here who can.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-24-2018, 03:50 AM
yveshertoghs yveshertoghs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Belgium
Posts: 3
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018 on Yosemite

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
I know it's weird but that's the way it is. You may be able to go to a PT license that has the combo license asset. I can't answer that but I know there are others here who can.
Good news! I was able to download 12.8.1 and apply my license so I'm all good
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-24-2018, 01:22 PM
CygnusX-1Bk2 CygnusX-1Bk2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 608
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018 on Yosemite

I am running 2018.4 on Yosemite without issue.
__________________
I will choose,
Freewill
http://jimdiazaudio.com/
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-24-2018, 01:33 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,281
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018 on Yosemite

Quote:
Originally Posted by CygnusX-1Bk2 View Post
I am running 2018.4 on Yosemite without issue.
Thanks much for this - you give me hope.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-24-2018, 04:35 PM
toolz toolz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: uk
Posts: 186
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018 on Yosemite

Quote:
Originally Posted by CygnusX-1Bk2 View Post
I am running 2018.4 on Yosemite without issue.
What's your hardware spec? And are you going into higher sample rates with low buffer sizes?
__________________
[B][SIZE="1"]System:
PT 12.8.1 HD-Native PCIe, 48 I/O 16x16, 2012 Mac Pro 12 core 3.46Ghz 64gig RAM, UAD Quad FW, Apple 30” Cinema
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 2018 to PT 10? Chap Pro Tools 2018 6 03-30-2018 01:18 PM
Upgrading from 2018.1 to 2018.3 with Application Manager lm183902 Pro Tools 2018 2 03-19-2018 04:41 PM
Xpand!2 2018 & Air Instruments 2018 lgreen100 Pro Tools 2018 16 02-15-2018 05:01 PM
PT 2018.1 and Yosemite ? wwittman Pro Tools 2018 6 02-12-2018 05:38 PM
2012 Mac Pro upgrade to Yosemite -- where to get Yosemite install??? WildHoney Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 5 05-17-2016 03:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com