Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-09-2018, 11:28 AM
jayfitz jayfitz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Prescott arizona
Posts: 1
Default monitor controller setup problems

Sorry for my ignorance just deseperately trying to get some help. I have a monitor controller (mackie big knob) and im having trouble setting it up in pro tools (cant get audio to run through it out to my monitors)

im running pro tools 2018 with a scarlett 18i20 interface
im using the default asio drivers with scarlett as my playback engine. i was able to get the big knob to work using the asio4all drivers however it created extreme latency and was impossible to record with

im sure there is a very simple fix something im probably just overlooking im just very inexperienced any help is appreciated i've spent about 15 hours total on this issue now. please let me know if any more info is needed
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-09-2018, 12:41 PM
zerodistraction zerodistraction is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 32
Default Re: monitor controller setup problems

Your monitor controller should be setup in hardware. There's nothing to configure with Pro Tools. Patch a stereo balanced output from your Scarlett interface to a pair of inputs on your big knob so you can control the output. In Pro Tools, make sure your master bus is routed to the correct stereo output.

As far as recording latency, that's a completely separate issue. You should monitor your sources during record in analog to avoid latency, which you can do with your Scarlett.

In Pro Tools, if LLM (Low Latency Monitoring) is disabled (under Options), make sure you mute your record armed tracks.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-09-2018, 03:51 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,090
Default Re: monitor controller setup problems

What Mackie Big Knob do you have, the original, analog one or one of the new ones that is both a monitor controller and an interface? On Windows you can only use one interface at a time with Pro Tools.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-10-2018, 10:35 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,697
Default Re: monitor controller setup problems

Indeed, the setup for your controller happens outside the box completely. Set Pro Tools to use the Scarlett and uninstall ASIO4ALL. Route the main outputs of the Scarlett to the inputs of the Big Knob and the Big Knob output feeds your monitors.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SPL 2489 SMC - Surround Monitor Controller 5.1 monitor box efisch Buy & Sell 0 01-26-2018 07:17 PM
Dual monitor vs single monitor setup Whasssaaahhh Pro Tools 9 23 03-17-2014 01:24 PM
Can Studio Monitor Express & Transport act as digital monitor controller? briancares Artist Series 1 02-04-2014 05:23 AM
5.1 Monitor Controller BroomPole Post - Surround - Video 6 04-09-2009 02:23 PM
monitor 5.0 on a 5.1 SMPTE monitor controller? MixerGuy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-03-2008 05:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com