Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > System 5

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-13-2012, 07:08 AM
The golfer The golfer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Montreal / Canada
Posts: 739
Default European vs North American MC Pro

I am wondering if someone can shed a light on this.

I am living in Canada. Can I use a North American MC Pro power supply with a European MC Pro?

Does the power supply from the latest MC Pro (black colour) work with the earliest (silver) Mc Pro?

Thank you.
__________________
Serge Hamel
Mixer / Sound Designer
http://www.netpostproduction.com
http://immersivesoundvr.com/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-13-2012, 08:06 AM
klaukholm klaukholm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Copenhagen/Stockholm
Posts: 236
Default Re: European vs North American MC Pro

In some cases it will not work without trimming the 5v voltage and possibly rewiring the pinout (changing commons)

I would suggest buying a new PSU from digital audio service in germany
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-13-2012, 04:56 PM
The golfer The golfer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Montreal / Canada
Posts: 739
Default Re: European vs North American MC Pro

But if i want a north american power supply. Wouldn't be better to buy it here in canada? And would a european Mc pro work with this new power supply here in canada?

Thanks!
__________________
Serge Hamel
Mixer / Sound Designer
http://www.netpostproduction.com
http://immersivesoundvr.com/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-18-2012, 12:13 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,946
Default Re: European vs North American MC Pro

There's a reason companies use external power supplies - so when you change countries you just change the power supply; you don't have to mess around inside the equipment being powered. Doesn't matter for which market the MC Pro was made for; there actually shouldn't be any difference between units (they should all be the same). Color of the unit doesn't make a difference to the power supply.

But back to the original question: buy the appropriate power supply for what is useable in Canada. And that would be the same one used for the US (actually all of North America which consists of the continental US & Canada uses the same voltage - 120VAC at 60 HZ for most domestic use; 240VAC for appliances like electric dryers and stoves).

Edit for additional: looking at the specs for the MC Pro it looks like it has what's called an auto-ranging power supply. That is - it changes on it's own (or is changeable by the end user) for a range of voltages encompassing what's used in North America and Europe. All you may have to change is the power cord for the power supply. If it's what's called a switching power supply then those are, by design, able to work on a very wide range of AC mains voltages by design.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!

Last edited by musicman691; 09-18-2012 at 12:19 PM. Reason: additional info
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-19-2012, 09:50 AM
The golfer The golfer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Montreal / Canada
Posts: 739
Default Re: European vs North American MC Pro

That 's great. Thank you very much for the details infos.
__________________
Serge Hamel
Mixer / Sound Designer
http://www.netpostproduction.com
http://immersivesoundvr.com/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-21-2012, 03:25 PM
klaukholm klaukholm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Copenhagen/Stockholm
Posts: 236
Default Re: European vs North American MC Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by The golfer View Post
But if i want a north american power supply. Wouldn't be better to buy it here in canada? And would a european Mc pro work with this new power supply here in canada?

Thanks!
The psu from germany is a custom job, 110v is no problem.
The original PSU is switching and is capable of both 240v and 110v
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-21-2012, 03:35 PM
The golfer The golfer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Montreal / Canada
Posts: 739
Default Re: European vs North American MC Pro

Thanks klaukholm.
__________________
Serge Hamel
Mixer / Sound Designer
http://www.netpostproduction.com
http://immersivesoundvr.com/
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-22-2012, 05:23 AM
ErikGuldager ErikGuldager is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Stockholm, sweden
Posts: 114
Default

The original units are crap, at a minimum needs modifying with new fans as the original are loud!
We have a S5MC and a stand alone MC, I think at least five or six units have failed during five years.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-23-2012, 05:07 PM
The golfer The golfer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Montreal / Canada
Posts: 739
Default Re: European vs North American MC Pro

Strange...We have 2 x 24 inputs 2008 System 5 MC and we never had any problem with them apart from the noisy power supply. May be the older generations are cheaper.
__________________
Serge Hamel
Mixer / Sound Designer
http://www.netpostproduction.com
http://immersivesoundvr.com/
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-23-2012, 05:40 PM
klaukholm klaukholm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Copenhagen/Stockholm
Posts: 236
Default Re: European vs North American MC Pro

If you open it up, it is a real hackjob and it is no surprise that they blow.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Greetings from North-East UK :) geiger167 General Discussion 1 02-18-2009 07:24 PM
The Great White North... lemix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 07-04-2004 04:26 PM
do i have to buy "european" version of digi002, or use "american" with power adaptor? stoka General Discussion 3 10-04-2002 06:28 AM
am i the only pro tools fan in North Dakota coaster General Discussion 13 11-15-2000 09:39 PM
american/european models mwen1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 05-03-2000 11:19 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com