Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-05-2007, 12:16 PM
dvillage dvillage is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Valley Village
Posts: 79
Default multiple video monitor question

I'm in the process of adding a few more video monitors to my system and I was wondering what most people are using as far as splitiing the signal from one source to 3 or 4 destinations. Are they using something like a ADVC 500 or are they just simply splitting the videos signal? Also how does delay come into effect? If I'm using say a Panasonic LCD 42 in the main room and a smaller 19" of unknown make and model in the recording room and something similar for the producers station, is there a different delay on each monitor? Also any suggestions for the recording room monitor that doesn't spit out a 15-20k hi pitch frequency? Something cost effective would be great.

Thanks for any help.

Jeff

www.dvillage.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-05-2007, 01:29 PM
georgia georgia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: NY,NY
Posts: 1,859
Default Re: multiple video monitor question

You can simply split the video with t-connectors, but you will be degrading the signal each time. For basic quicktime low res it really won't hurt... If you are more concerned about video quality you should get a video splitter box with 1 in and 4 to 8 out or so. There are many available on the new and used market for very little money. If you are using multiple monitor types, makes and models on the split, expect varying degrees of video delay. The best thing to do is to match monitors or determine the varying milliseconds of delay and find a happy medium, taking into account the "critical" monitors needing to be exactly in sync. Richard Fairbanks' SYNC CHECK is a great tool for this.

cheers
geo
__________________
georgia hilton CAS MPSE MPE

Hilton Media Management

Film Doctors http://www.filmdoctors.com
Me... http://georgiahilton.webs.com/
Stage 32 http://www.stage32.com/profile/6569/georgia-hilton
My Production Company http://www.hiltonmm.com

CREDITS (partial) http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0385255/resume
MEMBER: IATSE LOCAL 700
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-05-2007, 02:25 PM
dvillage dvillage is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Valley Village
Posts: 79
Default Re: multiple video monitor question

Thanks Georgia for the info. I guess there's no way to individualy set delay times for each monitor coming out of Pro Tools? Do you think if I got all the same make and model the delay would be the same or does this not matter? In other words every monitor is different no matter what.

Anyway thanks again for the info.

Take care,

jeff
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Satellite LE and multiple video tracks or regions Erik Olsson Post - Surround - Video 1 01-12-2010 10:37 AM
Video Monitor Question Jeffrey Talbot Post - Surround - Video 10 09-11-2006 07:05 AM
PT 7.2 and Multiple Video Clips Question laki Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 08-14-2006 02:23 AM
LCD Monitor & Video card - Question CN Recording Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-29-2003 10:16 PM
Database... Video Monitor(s) Size & Video Card jbr 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-19-2001 03:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com