Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-19-2002, 01:11 PM
graveleye's Avatar
graveleye graveleye is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 2,234
Default Re: Auratone

thanks man...that is just the sort of information I am looking for. Are you using the jbls yourself or just heard about them?
__________________
GIGABYTE X58A-UD3R, INTEL CORE i7 960, NVIDIA GEFORCE 8400GS, WIN 7, MOTU 896mk3 HYBRID, PT 10.3.2


Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-19-2002, 10:17 PM
bryanbassett bryanbassett is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: New Smyrna, FL , US
Posts: 574
Default Re: Auratone

I actually have two sets hanging around. A really old set and a set older than that. I found a use for them..one is mixing when everyone else is asleep in the house..and two.. little playbacks for my Korg keyboard. I keep them around just to remind me that if they still work so should I [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
__________________
Macbook Pro Intel dual 2.4 OSX 10.7.5 Lion PT 9.0.6 Mbox Mini / 003R

MAC G5 PPC OSX 10.4.9 / PT 7.3 HD2 - I/O 192 /Control 24

DELL Dual Core, MBOX/003R PT 8 WIN XP
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-19-2002, 11:41 PM
kalijah kalijah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Posts: 11
Default Re: Auratone

JBL control 1 speakers are real studio monitor quality, just lacking the low end. Much better than real-world speakers.

Interesting that you mentioned car speakers. Control 1s work perfectly in the car, they are 4 ohm speakers. If you can figure how to mount them.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-19-2002, 11:44 PM
jsmooth226 jsmooth226 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: chicago
Posts: 238
Default Re: Auratone

yes they get the job done nicely and they couldn't possibly have lots of low end because they are too small for that....but are the perfect replacement for auratones
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-20-2002, 10:10 PM
kalijah kalijah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Posts: 11
Default Re: Auratone

The point I was making is that the JBLs are not a substitute for the Auratones.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-22-2002, 08:55 AM
jsmooth226 jsmooth226 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: chicago
Posts: 238
Default Re: Auratone

times are differnert music reproduction quality is different from when the aura's were introduced
step into 2002...i know they are not an exact replica of the aura's but they are perfect for checking your balances in the same kind of environment as the aura's
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-15-2017, 06:55 AM
nige108's Avatar
nige108 nige108 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 222
Default Re: Auratone

Hi guys, I'm going to make a little grot box speaker based on the Auratone. My question is...Does anyone know whether they had any dampening on the interior walls of the cabinet? Thanks in advance.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-15-2017, 12:20 PM
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,114
Default Re: Auratone

Quote:
Originally Posted by nige108 View Post
...Does anyone know whether they had any dampening on the interior walls of the cabinet?
I'm pretty sure they did. There were different vintages that used different drivers and sounded different. I understand they are back in production by one of the children.

https://www.auratonesoundcubes.com/
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-15-2017, 12:28 PM
amagras amagras is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,594
Default Re: Auratone

http://www.avantonepro.com/Avantone-...-Monitors.html
__________________
Dell XPS 8700, Windows 10, NI Komplete Audio 6, Pro Tools 12
andreimartinezagras.webs.com
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-15-2017, 07:00 PM
nige108's Avatar
nige108 nige108 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 222
Default Re: Auratone

Thanks guys. The price of the originals is what has made me want to make my own. I'm just a hobbyist and can't justify that expense. I'm a carpenter with a workshop with all the machinery so making the cabinets is second nature to me. Whether they will sound anything like the Auratones, I will never know because I've never heard any but they will give me another point of reference aside my main monitors. Thanks again.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: 1 Auratone 5C Benny_Cha_Cha Buy & Sell 6 04-18-2014 05:39 PM
FS: Auratone 5C Super-Sound-Cubes BondAudio Buy & Sell 6 07-23-2012 04:24 AM
OT (?) : PRO TOOLS and Auratone Speakers worldsend Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 15 01-24-2011 03:42 AM
OT: Auratone - are they still out there?? Aussie Scott 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-10-2004 07:42 PM
Auratone comparable monitors... Kelly M. Pieklo Post - Surround - Video 9 06-28-2004 08:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com