Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9 Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-02-2011, 11:44 AM
chuckgreenjr chuckgreenjr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oswego, IL, USA
Posts: 38
Default Renaming Controller Names

Does anyone know if there is a way to rename the Controller Names? For example, CC20 is labeled undefined. If I wanted to give it a specific name to match functionality with a particular plug-in so it would then show up with the name of my choosing in the MIDI Editor. Currently if I'm using for example CC20, the controller lane is labeled "undefined" with no reference to CC20 without bringing up the Automated MIDI Controllers window. If I'm using 3 or 4 of these "undefined" controller values, it becomes confusing as to which is what. Renaming to match it's functionality would be great.

I should also mention that I'm speaking of controlling Plug-in type instruments not external MIDI sound modules....

If anyone knows one way or the other, please advise. I will highly appreciate your response.

Thanks,
Chuck Green
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-11-2011, 08:26 AM
Ed Douglas Ed Douglas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Toronto Ont, Canada
Posts: 222
Default Re: Renaming Controller Names

Bump

I would really like to set up custom controller names too.

E
__________________
Neotech Concepts
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0235036/
! sonic gymnastics for the illusionary arts !
Studio - HD-3 PTHD 10.3.5 , Magma PE6R4, 192 I/O, Sync I/O, MacPro (1,1), OSX 10.7.2, Control|24
Portable - Apollo 8 Duo, UAD-2 Satellite Quad, 2016 MacBook Pro (13,3), OS X 10.12.4, PTHD 12.7.1, EuControl 3.6.0, PT|Control 3.6.0, Rx6 Advanced, Ozone 7 Advanced, Kontakt 5.5.2, SoundHack 0.896, V-Control Pro 1.9.1.3, Spanner 2.5.0, iPad Pro 12.9"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-11-2011, 10:36 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,135
Default Re: Renaming Controller Names

I am not aware of any program that does this. For it to really be useful I think it would need to be customizable on a per-track basis, since the undefined CC's will never control the exact same thing depending on what you are sending MIDI to.

My workaround is to just put the CC info in the comments section of the track, that's usually enough to remind me what they do for a given track.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-11-2011, 11:54 AM
Ed Douglas Ed Douglas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Toronto Ont, Canada
Posts: 222
Default Re: Renaming Controller Names

Quote:
Originally Posted by John_Toolbox View Post
My workaround is to just put the CC info in the comments section of the track, that's usually enough to remind me what they do for a given track.
That would be useful.

I do sound design for films, so I don't have lots of different VIs going. I use Kontakt for performing my sound to pix, varying pitch, EQ, LFO etc as the shot demands. I have 16 MIDI control knobs on an external MIDI keyboard that I use to control Kontakt parameters, and have all 16 automation lanes open on my Kontakt instrument track to keep track of my performance and to be able to quickly modify anything. Unfortunately, track comments don't extend to automation lanes, and without being able to modify the names of controllers 11-26, I'm faced with an unhelpful list of "Expression, effect cntrl, undefined and general purpose" labels that do little to aide in navigation.

I hope Avid will consider this as a feature worth adding.
__________________
Neotech Concepts
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0235036/
! sonic gymnastics for the illusionary arts !
Studio - HD-3 PTHD 10.3.5 , Magma PE6R4, 192 I/O, Sync I/O, MacPro (1,1), OSX 10.7.2, Control|24
Portable - Apollo 8 Duo, UAD-2 Satellite Quad, 2016 MacBook Pro (13,3), OS X 10.12.4, PTHD 12.7.1, EuControl 3.6.0, PT|Control 3.6.0, Rx6 Advanced, Ozone 7 Advanced, Kontakt 5.5.2, SoundHack 0.896, V-Control Pro 1.9.1.3, Spanner 2.5.0, iPad Pro 12.9"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-06-2012, 07:54 AM
cmbourget cmbourget is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Métis-sur-Mer, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 389
Default Re: Renaming Controller Names

We are in 2012, version 10, and nothing has changed on this point ... no?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-24-2014, 03:14 AM
Starting User Starting User is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 34
Default Re: Renaming Controller Names

I'd be very interested in that too! Would save nerve and time.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-09-2017, 10:56 AM
gcamp gcamp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Montreal
Posts: 9
Default Re: Renaming Controller Names

Now in 2017 with PT 12.7.1... Does anyone know if the feature has been implemented since last post?

I can't seem to find anything new in that regards, but I might just be missing something.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Track names vs Playlist names bredo Pro Tools 10 Discussion 6 01-07-2013 09:29 AM
Changing controller names Hugelittle MIDI 1 02-03-2010 05:37 PM
OMS Names -> PT6 MIDI Names converter? davidpakman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 03-05-2003 06:12 AM
OMS names vs Free Midi names ShivaTribe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 08-07-2001 02:57 AM
PT5 & OMS Names Manager (MIDI patch names) Baron Von Deca Tips & Tricks 0 02-17-2000 04:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com