Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Old 09-05-2002, 11:32 PM

Default Plug-ins for vocals?

As you can judge by my question,im new to PTLE.
Im tryin to record a vocal with PTLE and the Digi 001...all i have is the computer and the I/O box interfece....no compressor, no mixer...nothing
What plug-ins that came with the bundle system do you recomend to use for vocal? [img]images/icons/confused.gif[/img]
Tx for you answers....... [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
Old 09-06-2002, 12:16 AM

Default Re: Plug-ins for vocals?

Normally, I'd suggest that you avoid any effects on the vocals when recording, and save it for the mix. Okay, maybe a little compression, but definitely avoid EQ until you mix. The Digirack Compressor is not the greatest, but can get the job done. Same with the Digirack EQ's. Serviceable but not spectacular. Again, record the vocal without any EQ, and add it to taste later.

If you bought the Digi 001 Factory, then the 1176 or LA2A compressors are worth a try. If you're looking for additional plug ins, I think I can state without fear of too many dissenting replies that the Waves stuff is excellent...

PT 2023.6 Ultimate (Perpetual) | Avid Carbon | M1 Max Mac Studio; 32 GB RAM / 1 TB SSD, macOS 13.4.1 Ventura.

PT 2023.6 Studio (Perpetual) | M1 MacBook Air; 16 GB RAM / 1 TB SSD, macOS 13.4.1 Ventura.
Old 09-06-2002, 02:54 AM

Yes. The Waves stuff is great. Do what ever you must to get them all!!
Old 09-06-2002, 09:53 AM

Go with the new Waves Platinum 3.5 if you can swing it. Someone said that www.8thstreet.com is selling the entire bundle now for around 1200.00. The Waves Renaisance bundle is great for those that don't want to spend that much and includes an EQ, Comp, and Reverb.