Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-14-2003, 01:52 PM
Juan&Michael Juan&Michael is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Mexico
Posts: 24
Default Mono or Stereo?

Hi everyone! My name is Juan and I have a Digi 001 which I am using with Protools 5.3.1. for LE on Windows XP. When I record Audio from MIDI ( for example something I’ve recorded from my keyboard in MIDI) is it better to record in Mono or in Stereo? When I record vocals or guitar is it better to record in Mono or stereo? When I bounce a song to disk which format is best, Mono (summed), multiple mono, or Stereo interleaved? Thanks a lot, Juan
PS I have a Yamaha 640 keyboard, to record stereo from my keyboard to the digi001, should I use 2 mono or 2 stereo cables?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-14-2003, 01:59 PM
metaltim metaltim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: College Station whoop
Posts: 939
Default Re: Mono or Stereo?

well, start and look at what you are recording..

if it produces sounds that would be in stereo, then do so.
for example
if your guitar is using a flanger, or rotarty speaker effect.. then you would want stereo.
example, on my keyboard, the regular piano is stereo, the high keys are panned towards the right, the low keys to the left.. you wouldn't get this effect if you threw it on a mono track.

alot of keyboard things use stereo effects..

your voice is a mono instrument, so ive heard to use mono for that.

for bouncing it depends what you are doing with the bounced file.

if you want to throw it in a session and master it, tweak it up, then do mono interleaved.
if you want to burn it to a cd, you need stereo interleaved.

ive never done mono summed so cant help you there.

i typically have my voice and bass guitar done in mono, the guitar varies, and mostly anything from my keyboard going to audio would be stereo. except drums, which i separate the drums into 4 tracks:
1. snare
2. kick/toms
3. crashes
4. rides/hats..

so it be useless to put those in stereo.

tim

also, you have posted this 2wice... you should delete the other one
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
making mono track into stereo or double mono in PT7LE VeganMuso 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 02-02-2012 05:36 AM
A question about mono/stereo plug ins on mono tracks. rockguitarist1255 Pro Tools 10 2 12-24-2011 07:33 PM
Stereo Aux vs Mono Aux and Turning that Mono into stereo via a stereo Plugin JesseF 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 02-14-2010 09:01 AM
Mono/stereo Stereo mono..... What happen here ? jeam25 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-18-2004 09:28 AM
stereo file to mono and mono too stereo ? surchur 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-19-2003 07:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com