Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 09-03-2015, 01:44 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,664
Default Re: Pro Tools 11.3.2

With all the benefits of PT12 and considering the price, who cares upgrade

No disrespect but this is a no brainer....no reason to stay at PT11
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 09-03-2015, 01:48 PM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Pro Tools 11.3.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
With all the benefits of PT12 and considering the price, who cares upgrade

No disrespect but this is a no brainer....no reason to stay at PT11
Ah yes, the benefits. $600 to rent plugins I already own.
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 09-03-2015, 01:49 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,664
Default Pro Tools 11.3.2

Hey we are talking native upgrade for $99.

And I own 4 or more of those plugs as well....

Native disk cache, alone is worth $99 and I get GR metering and VCA's and other stuff

I have a Pro Control as well so I will be stuck at PT10 for that, but I won't pass up the $99 deal.
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 09-03-2015, 01:50 PM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Pro Tools 11.3.2

But once again, HD owners are being diddled.
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 09-03-2015, 01:54 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,423
Default Re: Pro Tools 11.3.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
Hey we are talking native upgrade for $99.

And I own 4 or more of those plugs as well....

Native disk cache, alone is worth $99 and I get GR metering and VCA's and other stuff

I have a Pro Control as well so I will be stuck at PT10 for that, but I won't pass up the $99 deal.
There aren't many $99 deals I'll pass up but this is one. There's too much crazy pricing going on with this and as I understand it the plugins have their own support and per year pricing. Nuts.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 09-03-2015, 02:01 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,664
Default Pro Tools 11.3.2

I really like the pro series plugs, but I don't need them for my daily use ie rented (I own the pro comp and use that daily)

But like I said, $99 is hard to pass up, I mean for $150 I can get the Roland space echo, and that's one plug and I bought the hardware

Here is the caveat, will I be able to run a HD|N setup on a native license?

B/c I could pick that up cheaply and still have really good latency specs (all the while staying with Native updates) would be nice
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 09-03-2015, 02:09 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,423
Default Re: Pro Tools 11.3.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
I really like the pro series plugs, but I don't need them for my daily use ie rented (I own the pro comp and use that daily)

But like I said, $99 is hard to pass up, I mean for $150 I can get the Roland space echo, and that's one plug and I bought the hardware

Here is the caveat, will I be able to run a HD|N setup on a native license?

B/c I could pick that up cheaply and still have really good latency specs (all the while staying with Native updates) would be nice
I don't think so; it might run as coreaudio but I doubt it.

Back to the plugins - I'm not that enamored of Avid's plugins; most of the third party stuff I have eats them for lunch.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 09-03-2015, 02:18 PM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Pro Tools 11.3.2

Pro Limiter, Pro Compressor, Revibe, Space and even Reverb One are all great and under rated plugins. Plus the Pro Series are true peak and 7.1. For HD users who own multiple systems, this is a great deal as Avid are basically bundling in all the plugins you need to do surround post, bar noise reduction. Massive savings for those facilities with multiple HD systems.
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 09-03-2015, 02:20 PM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Pro Tools 11.3.2

But as ever, it's the early adopters and small businesses that are ignored, again
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 09-03-2015, 03:15 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: Pro Tools 11.3.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
I evaluate my situation and for me it's easy to upgrade, the customer always wants more features for a better price.

For me it's a no brainer, I will still run PT10 more often b/c I love the Pro Control......but now I can find that sweet deal on a dcommand that I have been looking for.
Brother, the D-Command does not work with Native, only HD.
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com