Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 10-14-2014, 11:24 AM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: AAE -9173 Issues

I noticed something similar when I upgraded to 11.2.1. PT11 would not load. I removed PT10 app and everything worked fine.

There are still remnants of PT10 in the system so I guess the best rout is to uninstall all PT stuff and re-load 12.2.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by deadshot View Post

If you ran pt10 and upgraded to OS x on your Mac, they do not play well together. Pt10 needs to be removed in every way. This can cause all kinds of issues. this seemed to be the real fix, I had some residuals left over and not sure why they didn't get removed. Also just placing them in your trash does not kill them, you need to empty them out.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10-14-2014, 03:56 PM
CygnusX-1Bk2 CygnusX-1Bk2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 608
Default Re: AAE -9173 Issues

So the fix is a defeated purpose of having co-installs of 10 and 11? WTF?!?!?
__________________
I will choose,
Freewill
http://jimdiazaudio.com/
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10-14-2014, 04:10 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: AAE -9173 Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by CygnusX-1Bk2 View Post
So the fix is a defeated purpose of having co-installs of 10 and 11? WTF?!?!?
Well, co-install is not supported on Mavericks. The consolation is that most plug-ins are now available in AAX 64 bit, so the transition from PT10 to PT11 is mostly seamless for many people. There are a few stragglers in the plug-in world, but such is life.

Deadshot didn't specify whether he removed PT10 prior to upgrading to Mavericks, but if he did not then that might explain the issues he experienced... Although to be honest, his issue was exceptionally strange and I can completely empathize with his frustration.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10-14-2014, 04:39 PM
CygnusX-1Bk2 CygnusX-1Bk2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 608
Default Re: AAE -9173 Issues

But it is supported on 10.8.5 where the problem originated for me. And the uninstaller for 10 doesn't work in Mavericks. This is a serious cluster [bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep] on Avid's part.
__________________
I will choose,
Freewill
http://jimdiazaudio.com/
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 10-14-2014, 05:05 PM
CygnusX-1Bk2 CygnusX-1Bk2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 608
Default Re: AAE -9173 Issues

Manually uninstalled 10 from my Mavericks drive as directed by the Avid knowledgebase doc. Still -9173 during bounce.
__________________
I will choose,
Freewill
http://jimdiazaudio.com/
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 10-23-2014, 06:47 PM
H.Slin H.Slin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Fenton, MI
Posts: 3
Default Re: AAE -9173 Issues

I signed up for DUC specifically to post on this issue. I have all these same exact problems in both Pro Tools 10 and 11. I have tried every suggested "fix", and put up with reading all the ridiculous posts from the people who think they know everything about what me and others with the same problem are doing "wrong". My system is more than tough enough to handle the sessions it is crashing on. I've removed the plugins from their folder, replaced them, unplugged all peripherals, tried aggregates, built-in audio and interfaces, uninstalled, re-installed both os and PT, trashed the preferences…..not to mention the likelihood that all my neighbors are now terrified of me from the rampant screaming and swearing incessantly pouring from my home. There seems to be absolutely no answer to fix the problem. It seems clearly to be a bug, and the program is close to unusable. Bounce to disk in real time? forget it. So the question is very quickly becoming not "when will this problem be addressed", but what other DAW should I transition to. I really prefer Pro Tools and have been working with it since version 5, but man, this is not looking good.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 10-23-2014, 08:22 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: AAE -9173 Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by H.Slin View Post
I have all these same exact problems in both Pro Tools 10 and 11. I have tried every suggested "fix", and put up with reading all the ridiculous posts from the people who think they know everything about what me and others with the same problem are doing "wrong".
We're just trying to help. Sorry you had to read some forum posts that didn't help fix your problem. Since this error is not present for everyone, not even present for everyone on similar systems, then it's always possible that it is user error or third-party incompatibility.

On the other hand, you can't expect people to intuit your situation if you don't post anything specific. That's the reality of troubleshooting.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 10-24-2014, 01:19 AM
CygnusX-1Bk2 CygnusX-1Bk2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 608
Default Re: AAE -9173 Issues

Rolling back to 11.1.3 solved the problem for me. We'll see what the next "fix" breaks/resolves. Hopefully this is in the mix.
__________________
I will choose,
Freewill
http://jimdiazaudio.com/
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 10-24-2014, 09:31 AM
H.Slin H.Slin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Fenton, MI
Posts: 3
Default Re: AAE -9173 Issues

Don't get me wrong, I greatly appreciate the people genuinely trying to help, which is why I spend hours on here reading and trying out the suggestions. The reason I never joined before is because I can usually find the answer to my problem fairly quick, so there has really been no need for me to ask questions. I've read enough on this subject now, to where it seems (to me) pretty clear that it's a bug, and not user error, which is why I did not post any specifics about my system. So, I guess I was just trying to sympathize with others having this same problem, as well as adding my voice to the need of it being resolved. You do have to admit that it is frustrating to come across a comment rudely suggesting to someone that all you need to do is increase the playback buffer or the like (not in this thread, but countless others both here and on other forums). I'd just like to see this problem resolved so I can get back to work, and if I come across anything that helps I will gladly share that information.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 11-18-2014, 01:09 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,683
Default Re: AAE -9173 Issues

Cygnus .. are you still using 11.1.3 ??
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AAE 9173 Pro Tools ran out of CPU power Kinh Pro Tools 11 223 12-10-2017 09:39 AM
Pro Tools 11.1.0 AAE-9173 Error justus1900 Pro Tools 11 4 12-22-2015 02:46 PM
11.2.1 My Findings, -9173 error with BTD Intransit Pro Tools 11 77 11-23-2014 04:12 PM
PT 11 Clearly Not An AAE 9173 Error rgconrad1 Pro Tools 11 3 09-29-2014 11:56 PM
Aae-9173 txrx Pro Tools 11 5 12-28-2013 04:34 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com