Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-13-2004, 12:45 PM
east3rdst east3rdst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Ontario,Canada
Posts: 205
Default Dirt on new imac g5? Any thoughts?

It seems too good to be true. $2000 CDN for a killer almost laptop size DAW. Any real world experience or known problems with these units?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-14-2004, 08:31 AM
SveNBox SveNBox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Zagreb,Croatia
Posts: 14
Default Re: Dirt on new imac g5? Any thoughts?

I had an 20" 1.8 GHz Imac for almost 2 weeks now, and especially when I upgraded with 2 sticks/ 2 GB RAM, only I can say is - THIS THING ROCKS !!!!!!!!!! PT 6.4, Logic 6.4, Live 4.04, Reason 2.5 - they're all work flawlessly with MBox.
The best price/perfomance/possibilities ratio today on market.period!

S
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-14-2004, 10:06 AM
superlovemark superlovemark is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Denton, TX USA
Posts: 155
Default Re: Dirt on new imac g5? Any thoughts?

iMac G5 1.8 here. So far the best Mac I've had for audio. I get far better performance and reliablity than my old G5 (single) Powermac in Pro Tools and Logic. No regrets.
__________________
iMac G5 1.8/ 10.3.5 / 768 ram
Digi 002r / PT LE 6.4
Logic Pro 7
2 OWC 80G firewire drives
many nice noise makers
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-17-2004, 10:41 AM
Reb Reb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 106
Default Re: Dirt on new imac g5? Any thoughts?

I track only 2 tracks at a time. Can you get a comfortable 20-24 track session with several reverbs, eq and compresion on each channel and good screen redraws with it? And at what sample 256,512 etc. Also how much memory do you think is enough on that machine (1 gig,1.5 or 2gig). Is there a point where more memory is useless. I want to run protools, reason, unity or some sampler and a good amount of plugins. I'm trying to decide between the Imac and a dual processor. I currently have an Imac g4/800 with 512 ram. It definitely isn't fast enough to keep up. Would the IMAC G5 be a huge difference or just moderate difference?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-17-2004, 04:11 PM
jukowalcz jukowalcz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3
Default Re: Dirt on new imac g5? Any thoughts?

How quiet are the G5 imacs?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ensemble + Ext HD + imac - your thoughts Bruno5150 macOS 0 01-31-2012 06:29 AM
Imac vs. Mac Pro thoughts and concerns joelfarr 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 34 02-21-2010 09:54 AM
New imac G5 and 002 Rack - Any thoughts? sobeboy21 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-23-2004 12:11 PM
I want the dirt back... RingoFire Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 10-01-2003 07:39 AM
Anyone got the dirt? touched with fire 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 12-16-2002 12:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com