Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #51  
Old 12-28-2020, 12:46 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,305
Default Re: CPU error 9173

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Whoever does not do clean install of OS should not be allowed to buy PT


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
A clean OS install would solve the vast majority of uncommon issues.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.12 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 12-29-2020, 10:50 AM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 808
Default Re: CPU error 9173

Quote:
Originally Posted by GJmoulder View Post
HI Guys, thanks again for all of your input. Im learning from it. I would like to stay with Windows if possible as i have never used a Mac before. I have just been looking at a system within my budget and would value your opinion on wether or not this would do the trick

Processor : 10th Generation Intel® Core™ i5-10400 Processor (6 Cores / 12 Threads, 2.90 GHz, up to 4.30 GHz with Turbo Boost, 12 MB Cache)
Operating System : Windows 10 Home 64
Memory : 16 GB UDIMM DDR4 3200MHz
Storage : 512 GB M.2 2280 SSD
I'd go for the 15 10600k instead, at 4.1GHz, turbo 4.8GHz. You can easily overclock it to 5GHz if you are so inclined. PT isn't the most CPU efficient DAW out there; you'd be better off with the fastest processor you can get. 2.90GHz won't cut it. While you're at it, upgrading your RAM to 32GB wouldn't be a bad idea at all.
__________________
X99 | i7 5960x @4.6GHz | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB | Samsung SM961 NVMe 1TB | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256 SSD 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB x2 | WD Elements 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT2020.12 | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 12-29-2020, 10:58 AM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 808
Default Re: CPU error 9173

With the exception of Apple laptops, I prefer Windows desktops because they are much easier to either custom build or upgrade.
__________________
X99 | i7 5960x @4.6GHz | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB | Samsung SM961 NVMe 1TB | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256 SSD 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB x2 | WD Elements 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT2020.12 | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 12-29-2020, 12:21 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,760
Default Re: CPU error 9173

Quote:
Originally Posted by lesbrunn View Post
With the exception of Apple laptops, I prefer Windows desktops because they are much easier to either custom build or upgrade.

I can relate. Though I would not easily use Windows, the hardware Apple sells is ridiculously expensive


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 12-29-2020, 12:49 PM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 808
Default Re: CPU error 9173

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
I can relate. Though I would not easily use Windows, the hardware Apple sells is ridiculously expensive


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
With the exception of the new M1 machines...
__________________
X99 | i7 5960x @4.6GHz | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB | Samsung SM961 NVMe 1TB | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256 SSD 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB x2 | WD Elements 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT2020.12 | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 01-04-2021, 05:06 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,299
Default Re: CPU error 9173

Have you checked your CPU temps???

I know you have a PC, but I7 processor is I7.
I noticed my Mac Mini Late 2012 2.6 I7 quad core started giving me 9173.
Found my CPU temps were 80C at idle and hitting 100C during prints.
at 100C the CPU goes into self preservation mode, and throttles back.
Meaning slower CPU and 9173 errors.

Solved by some new thermal paste on the CPU/GPU heatsink.
20C cooler!!!!
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 01-04-2021, 08:04 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,159
Default Re: CPU error 9173

Quote:
Originally Posted by TVPostSound View Post
Have you checked your CPU temps???

I know you have a PC, but I7 processor is I7.
I noticed my Mac Mini Late 2012 2.6 I7 quad core started giving me 9173.
Found my CPU temps were 80C at idle and hitting 100C during prints.
at 100C the CPU goes into self preservation mode, and throttles back.
Meaning slower CPU and 9173 errors.

Solved by some new thermal paste on the CPU/GPU heatsink.
20C cooler!!!!
This is my one complaint about any generation of Mini's - they tend to run on the hot side. Apple screwed up on the heat/airflow on those machines.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 01-05-2021, 07:33 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,760
Default Re: CPU error 9173

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
This is my one complaint about any generation of Mini's - they tend to run on the hot side. Apple screwed up on the heat/airflow on those machines.

It is designed to be a nice looking heat sink


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 01-05-2021, 07:51 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,159
Default Re: CPU error 9173

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
It is designed to be a nice looking heat sink


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
A smaller version of the G5 cheesegrater eh
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 02-11-2021, 11:40 PM
boxturtle boxturtle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Harmony
Posts: 44
Default Re: CPU error 9173

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
This is my one complaint about any generation of Mini's - they tend to run on the hot side. Apple screwed up on the heat/airflow on those machines.
Agreed. You can fry an egg on them!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to -9173 error uteroid Pro Tools 2019 8 11-29-2019 01:25 PM
AAE error -9173 nikydvt Pro Tools 12 11 01-14-2017 05:05 PM
AAE error -9173 on PT 12.4 marcnyc Pro Tools 12 2 06-24-2016 04:27 PM
-9173 error in PT 12 ArKay99 Pro Tools 12 10 06-11-2016 02:41 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com