Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-23-2020, 09:54 AM
GJmoulder GJmoulder is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: United kingdom
Posts: 21
Default CPU error 9173

HI, after wasting time asking PT for help and getting nowhere ! Can anyone save me from a nervous breakdown and point me in the direction of a fix for 9173 please ? My system meets the required standard and i have tried all of the stock nonsense about disabling plugins etc. I even have the people from Toontrack (EZdrummer2) working on this to see if they are the problem. I have tried all the Avid suggestions, no luck.
Although my support plan has just expired, my case was opened before the expiry date and should presumably be concluded one way or another but i have nothing back since my plan finished. I have had e mails asking me to renew but to be honest i think the price is too high for the service and I am not encouraged by the failure to fix error 9173. Any advice will be gratefully received, Cheers GJM
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-23-2020, 11:27 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,302
Default Re: CPU error 9173

Look up top of this(and every)page of the DUC for this link:
Help Us Help You
Have a good read and come back with the kind of info that anybody will need before they can offer any help or advice
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-23-2020, 12:02 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,299
Default Re: CPU error 9173

As Dave said...
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.12 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-23-2020, 12:44 PM
Emi's Avatar
Emi Emi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Madrid. Spain
Posts: 460
Default Re: CPU error 9173

Tom and Albee you are right, but I also understand the frustration of the op.
__________________
Mac Mini M1 | Mac OS Big Sur 11.2 | Motu 16A | Motu 828ES | Motu 1248 | Pro Tools 2020.12 Native
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-23-2020, 03:39 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,299
Default Re: CPU error 9173

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emi View Post
Tom and Albee you are right, but I also understand the frustration of the op.
Exactly. That's why we're here.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.12 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-24-2020, 04:50 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,153
Default Re: CPU error 9173

After putting on my Columbo detective raincoat & hat I find that, if the op's profile is correct, that he's on a Lenovo Ideacentre all-in-one like one of these: https://www.lenovo.com/us/en/ideacentre/aio-300-series/c/AIO-300-Series

and that he's on PT Express and Windows 10 Home. If you drill down into the specs they're not all that powerful. Some have Intel and some AMD. There's even a model that has a 5400 rpm spinner as system drive and none have more than 8 gig ram.



One more thing - PT Express is only compatible up to Win 7 sp1
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-24-2020, 04:54 AM
GJmoulder GJmoulder is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: United kingdom
Posts: 21
Default Re: CPU error 9173

Hi, thanks for your advice. I have not used this forum very much so here goes. I will try and provide some info as required.
I am using a lenovo Ideacentre all-in-one desktop

intel(R)Core(TM)i7-6500U CPU @ 2.50GHz 2.59GHz
16GB RAM
64 Bit operating system, x 64-based processor
Windows 10
Pro Tools version 2020.11
Focusrite Clarett2Pre USB audio interface
My I-Lok USB stick and external hard drives (2tb & 7tb USB connections) are attached to the computer.
The error 9173 is coming up a lot on my current project. Granted, i am using a lot of tracks (instrument, audio and Bus aux tracks) but after explaining this to a PT advisor a few weeks back, this did not seem to be of consequence at that time regarding the 9173. I am using a processor speed of 44.1 and the only buffer size that lets me do any mixing is 1024. I have tried to use aux and bus tracks for any plugins, with usually just Eq and the midi instrument on the main track. As per Avid's instructions i tried optimising my system for Windows (driver updates Etc.) and re-booting the project with no plugins activated, then bringing them in one by one. Initially, EZdrummer2 seemed to be using quite a bit of CPU and they are looking now at a large 'Dump ' file i sent over to them I also deleted any plugins that i do not intend using from sources other than the stock plugins that came with PT. However, i do have two or three that are not from PT. i have checked to see if they are the culprits but nothing conclusive there either. Once again takin Avid's advice I then tried 'Optimising Processor Affinity for Pro Tools on Windows' still no luck. I also sent them a 'Windows system profile' and a 'Pro Tools Log file' I have has no feedback on that at all. I have also scoured YouTube and the internet in general for possible solutions to this but anything that that may have thrown a possible outcome was either too risky and involved for a novice like myself or just too complex to understand. I hope this information is helpful and thanks for coming back to me on this, Cheers, GJM
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-24-2020, 05:02 AM
GJmoulder GJmoulder is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: United kingdom
Posts: 21
Default Re: CPU error 9173

HI Musicman, I am using the full version of Pro tools recently updated to version 2020.11 and i upgraded my Ram to 16GB a few months back when a PT update rendered my 8GB useless
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-24-2020, 05:12 AM
GJmoulder GJmoulder is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: United kingdom
Posts: 21
Default Re: CPU error 9173

HI again, just to let you know , i have tried to create a Sandra report but the link seems to be down
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-24-2020, 05:41 AM
GJmoulder GJmoulder is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: United kingdom
Posts: 21
Default Re: CPU error 9173

SiSoftware Sandra report

ID
Host Name : DESKTOP-7P6HRA4
Workgroup : WORKGROUP

Computer
Model : Lenovo F0C3001RUK ideacentre AIO 510S-23ISU
Serial Number : MP15****
Chassis : Lenovo All in One
Mainboard : Lenovo AntWerp
Serial Number : MP15****
BIOS : Lenovo O2EKT22A 08/25/2016
TPM - Trusted Platform Module : INTC Intel 2.0 (PCR 24)
Intel vPro : 11.0.1.1001
Total Memory : 16GB SO-DIMM DDR4

Processors
Processor : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6500U CPU @ 2.50GHz (2C 4T 3GHz, 3GHz IMC, 2x 256kB L2, 4MB L3)
Socket/Slot : FC BGA1356/1528

Chipset
Memory Controller : Lenovo Core6 (Skylake-U) ULV Host Bridge/DRAM Registers 100MHz, 16GB SO-DIMM DDR4 2.13GHz 64-bit, Integrated Graphics

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Samsung 16GB SO-DIMM DDR4 2Rx8 PC4-19200SO DDR4-2400 (17-17-17-40 4-57-19-6)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : LG IPS FULLHD (1920x1080, 21.7")
Monitor/Panel : Lenovo LEN-A500-B
(1920x1080, 21.5")
Video Adapter : Intel(R) HD Graphics 520 (192S 24C SM5.1 1GHz/1GHz, 768kB L2, 128MB DDR4 2.13GHz 64-bit, Integrated Graphics)
Video Adapter : Intel(R) HD Graphics 520 (192S 24C SM5.1 1GHz/1GHz, 768kB L2, 128MB DDR4 2.13GHz 64-bit, Integrated Graphics)

Graphics Processor
OpenCL : Intel(R) HD Graphics 520 (192S 24C SM2.0 1GHz/1GHz, 512kB L2, 6.4GB DDR4 2.13GHz 64-bit, Integrated Graphics)
D3D 11 : Intel(R) HD Graphics 520 (192S 24C SM12.1 1GHz/1GHz, 768kB L2, 128MB DDR4 2.13GHz 64-bit, Integrated Graphics)
OpenGL : Intel(R) HD Graphics 520 (192S 24C SM4.40 1GHz/1GHz, 768kB L2, 128MB DDR4 2.13GHz 64-bit, Integrated Graphics)
OpenGL : Intel(R) HD Graphics 520 (192S 24C SM4.40 1GHz/1GHz, 768kB L2, 128MB DDR4 2.13GHz 64-bit, Integrated Graphics)

Pen & Touch
Touch : Integrated
Multi-Touch : Yes
Simultaneous Touches : 10
Pen Digitiser : External

Storage Devices
Disk : WDC WD10JPVX-08JC3T6 (1TB, SATA600, 5400rpm, 8MB Cache)
Disk : Seagate ST2000DL003-9VT166 (2TB, USB2/SATA150/300, 3.5", 5900rpm)
Disk : Seagate ST6000DM003-2CY186 (6TB, USB3/SATA300/600, 3.5", 5425rpm)
Disk : Generic- Multiple Reader (USB2)

Logical Storage Devices
Windows (C:) : 900GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ WDC WD10JPVX-08JC3T6 (1TB, SATA600, 5400rpm, 8MB Cache)
WinRE_DRV : 1000MB (NTFS, 4kB) @ WDC WD10JPVX-08JC3T6 (1TB, SATA600, 5400rpm, 8MB Cache)
LENOVO_PART : 30GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ WDC WD10JPVX-08JC3T6 (1TB, SATA600, 5400rpm, 8MB Cache)
Expansion D (F:) : 2TB (NTFS, 4kB) @ Seagate ST2000DL003-9VT166 (2TB, USB2/SATA150/300, 3.5", 5900rpm)
Seagate Backup Plus Drive (G:) : 5TB (NTFS, 4kB) @ Seagate ST6000DM003-2CY186 (6TB, USB3/SATA300/600, 3.5", 5425rpm)
SYSTEM : 256MB (FAT32, 4kB) @ WDC WD10JPVX-08JC3T6 (1TB, SATA600, 5400rpm, 8MB Cache)
Removable Drive (E:) : N/A @ Generic- Multiple Reader (USB2)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller #1 : Lenovo ICH100 (Sunrise Point-LP) LPC Controller
LPC Legacy Controller #1 : T2 87-38
Audio Device : Lenovo ICH100 (Sunrise Point-LP) HD Audio
Audio Codec : Realtek Semi 0235
Disk Controller : Lenovo ICH100 (Sunrise Point-LP) SATA Controller [AHCI mode]
Disk Controller : Lenovo ICH100 (Sunrise Point-LP) Secure Digital IO Controller
Disk Controller : Lenovo ICH100 (Sunrise Point-LP) PMC
USB Controller #1 : Lenovo ICH100 (Sunrise Point-LP) USB3 xHCI Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller #1 : Intel ICH SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Send To Microsoft OneNote 2010 Driver (1200x1200, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft Software Printer Driver (300x300, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer v4 (600x600, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft Print To PDF (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)
Printer : Canon iP7200 series (USB, Colour)

Biometrics
Voice : Analog NUI Voice Virtual Sensor (Voice)

Peripherals
Media Player : Seagate Backup+ Hub BK (5.46TB)
Media Player : Seagate Desktop (1.82TB)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller (Ethernet, 1Gbps)
Network Adapter : TAP-NordVPN Windows Adapter V9 (Ethernet)
Wireless Adapter : Intel(R) Dual Band Wireless-AC 3165

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 10 Personal 10.0.18363
Platform Compliance : x64
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to -9173 error uteroid Pro Tools 2019 8 11-29-2019 01:25 PM
AAE error -9173 nikydvt Pro Tools 12 11 01-14-2017 05:05 PM
AAE error -9173 on PT 12.4 marcnyc Pro Tools 12 2 06-24-2016 04:27 PM
-9173 error in PT 12 ArKay99 Pro Tools 12 10 06-11-2016 02:41 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com