Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Old 03-08-2012, 02:48 PM

Unhappy Pro Tools Track Input Monitoring???

I'm completely new to the PT world. Been using Cubase for years. Just bought PT 10 to get that extra mix out of my projects but having to keep using my Cubase 6 for this one issue...
When I open a new track in PT everything works fine (sound comes through and everything). However, as soon as I hit the "record enable" button I get a flanging sound coming through the mic now. At first I though it was my I/O but they work perfectly in Cubase so im lost. It seems like something called "Track Input Monitoring" is causing this but the button for that is inactive for some reason. How or what can I do to fix this??? I've mastered the heck out of Cubase and refuse to believe I paid $700 for PT to laugh at me lol.
Old 03-08-2012, 03:01 PM

Default Re: Pro Tools Track Input Monitoring???

i feel your pain, i'm on my 3rd day switching over from logic, and i've already had a full bowl of issues transitioning, to the point i almost returned PT, but thanks to the clever peeps of this forum i was able to get through, and just tonight i saw the light and made a great mix..

anyways it sounds like you are hearing the direct monitoring from your soundcard which would explain the flanging, i think you're on the right track with disabling input monitoring but i can't help you more that, i'm sure a more experienced user will chip in..

PS: it does help if you state your sound card & system
Old 03-08-2012, 03:28 PM

Sorry Inputed my info in my profile, thought it would tag it automatically
But im using a PC(HP Media Center,8G RAM, Dual core)
Pro Tools 10
Delta 44 Sound Card
Behringer SX32 Mixer
AKG C414 mic