Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-27-2006, 11:44 PM
Stickist Stickist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 10
Default Mastering in PT7

I apologize in advance for sounding unknowledgable:

Until I got Pro Tools 7 recently, I had been using Cool Edit Pro. I got used to "mixing down" everything and compressing/normalizing and such in the two-track editor. Since Pro Tools relies more on using the plug-ins while bouncing, I was just wondering what people normally use for mastering purposes in Pro Tools. I would greatly appreciate it if anyone could share their configurations and settings (I assume that this is all done with plug-ins on the master fader?). I know in Reason, there's a Mastering Suite that does the job quite efficiently with minimal hassle...is there a similar plug-in or plug-in suite for PT7 that works in much the same way? Thanks in advance for any response!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-28-2006, 10:10 AM
MDog MDog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 526
Default Re: Mastering in PT7

You could still use CoolEdit. Just bounce to a stereo interleaved .wav file and open it in CoolEdit.

If you're going to use a plugin on the Master Fader, a lot of people use Waves (expensive) or even try Digidesigns Dynamic Suite (free). There's probably a lot of others out there, the problem lies in choosing these days.
__________________
My best friend is a pitbull.

http://www.badrap.org
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-28-2006, 11:22 AM
msg6794 msg6794 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 378
Default Re: Mastering in PT7

you could also bounce to disk as a stereo mix, and open that in a new PT session to master.
__________________
003 Rack | Dell Studio XPS 8700 (Core i7 4790, 16GB RAM) | Windows 10 64-bit / PT 12.6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-01-2006, 06:36 AM
kbruff kbruff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 454
Default Re: Mastering in PT7

Yeah bouncing down -- at the max resolution is helpful == and then of course you could share with your other applications, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-02-2006, 10:41 PM
Stickist Stickist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 10
Default Re: Mastering in PT7

Is that the most common way of doing it? I always figured that everything was done in PT at once before the bounce. In that case, what do most studios use for mastering? Is PT commonly used for that purpose, or are there other programs which are better suited for that?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-04-2006, 06:14 PM
southboundloco's Avatar
southboundloco southboundloco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 356
Default Re: Mastering in PT7

yeah pro tools can be used for mastering.but u really don't wanna do mixing and mastering in one session...mastering should be a different session all together. when u finish mixing ur project bounce it down to a stereo interlieved file. make sure its bit depth is 24bits(ur mixing session should be in 24bits anyway...averything should be in 24bits. u want to maintain the highest resolution as possible throughout ur mixing and mastering sessions coz after u master u gonna be bouncing it down into a 16bit 44.1KHz audio file for red book CD standard.)...i'd usually create a new 24bit mastering session, import the stereo file then create an auxiliary track and a master fader track. route ur audio track to ur auxiliary track. i'd put all my plugins on that auxiliary track.i'd avoid putting my plugins on my master track because i mite wanna have a reference track(commercial release) that is usually routed straight to ur master track,so imagine if u have all ur plugins in there... anyweyz there are a whole lot of configurations u just have to find one of ur own which ur comftable using. then last but certainly not the least, apply DITHER before u bounce ur mastered track to 16bit 44.1KHz.
__________________

Pro Tools 11.2
Pro Tools 10.3.9
REAPER

MPTK2
ProFire 2626
Benchmark DAC1
Neumann KH 120 A
Avid Artist Mix
ASUS Sabertooth Z77, Intel i7-3770K CPU OC'd@4.7GHz, 32 Gigs RAM
Mac OS X 10.9.3 Mavericks


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-09-2006, 03:53 PM
3JDamon 3JDamon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 896
Default Re: Mastering in PT7

Actually when a project isn't going to be mastered elsewhere, recently I've just been putting T-Racks Soft Clipper and maybe an EQ in the master strip, and converting to 16/44.1 during the bounce. I use PAZ analyzer as a reference throughout the tracking and mixing process, so my results are consistent, and I can always adjust something and re-bounce later.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-09-2006, 09:18 PM
Tricky Sam Tricky Sam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 49
Default Re: Mastering in PT7

I feel it best to use a stereo editor to polish the mix. I'm brand new to PT, but right out of the box i don't see the necessary tools for project studio mastering. You really want a decent multiband on your master and something to spread the stereo field a bit if you like. Sound Forge or Wavelab are nice, TRacks is fun to learn some basics on but not a complete solution. I've not tried Adobe or Cool Edit yet.
__________________
http://hifiat32.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-15-2006, 10:24 PM
southboundloco's Avatar
southboundloco southboundloco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 356
Default Re: Mastering in PT7

u don't get the mastering tools u need out of the box...u have to separately purchase them... waves mastering tools are good their ultramximizers are wicked and their linear phase EQ r quite good too...superfast limiter(ultramaximizer... u might wanna get har-bal harmonic/spectral balancer/eq for ur mastering EQ'ing needs and PSP stereo mastering compressor and the PSP vintage warmer r good tools to have.
__________________

Pro Tools 11.2
Pro Tools 10.3.9
REAPER

MPTK2
ProFire 2626
Benchmark DAC1
Neumann KH 120 A
Avid Artist Mix
ASUS Sabertooth Z77, Intel i7-3770K CPU OC'd@4.7GHz, 32 Gigs RAM
Mac OS X 10.9.3 Mavericks


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Learning how to mastering and mastering help nst7 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 08-12-2010 04:40 AM
Pro Mastering or Mastering your own mixes? c.evans Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 12-26-2003 08:47 PM
who uses the renaissance compressor in mastering?...and some other mastering stuff... djc8902 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 01-16-2003 12:14 PM
Mastering singles for radio with new Waves Mastering suite. Peter Duemmler Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 14 06-21-2002 06:14 PM
Mastering singles for radio with new Waves Mastering suite. Dimension Zero Tips & Tricks 0 06-15-2002 01:32 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com