Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Old 09-15-2018, 08:49 PM

Default Distorted Mixes

I got a question for any gurus out there that are willing to help.

I am on Pro Tools 11.3.1. I use Slate Digital plugins.

I am not an expert by any stretch but I can get around.

The issue.

When I am doing a mix especially with the guy I am working with who has a very large dynamic range the more instruments added to the mix it's like the mix begins to get overloaded or something and doesn't stay nice and smooth and clear. It almost starts to distort and doesn't keep it's clarity.

Ok first off I am not recording to hot. I have plenty of headroom on all tracks and nothing anywhere is clipping or even close. I use subtractive eq-ing and am not using heavy compression or anything. I don't know where I am going wrong here. This is on the main mix. No limiters, no mastering plugins just the raw mix tracks. The master fader reads no higher then -10. I just don't get it. I am hitting something to hard but I have no idea what it could be.

I am sure more info will be needed but I wanted to keep this short for anyone who reads it and will provide any info requested.

Thanks to anyone who can point me in the right direction.
Old 09-15-2018, 09:27 PM

Default Re: Distorted Mixes

Much more information needed.

First question is what SPL are you monitoring at? On what exact playback equipments (amps, monitors, etc.)? In a well treated room? What type of music? etc.

Have you tested with headphones.... what ones? what exactly is driving them?

What the master fader dbFS reads at does not really help anybody here understand possible analog issues in your monitoring chain.