Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-18-2001, 11:38 PM
GuitarEasley GuitarEasley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: West Jefferson, North Carolina
Posts: 566
Default Can\'t find info on 18Bits with AudiomediaIII soundcard...

I hope this is an appropriate question... I have done an extensive search on the entire site for more information on when to choose 16, 18, or 24 bits when I record analog (from microphone) into my audiomedia III soundcard. I will be burning a cd from the recording later with CD Architech. So I really need to know more about this. Please only answer if you have a 'nice' answer or a good link (Patient and sincere advice only need reply).


Thanks a million,

guitareasley
__________________
One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas... How he got into my pajamas I'll never know.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-19-2001, 12:28 AM
love666 love666 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 386
Default Re: Can\'t find info on 18Bits with AudiomediaIII soundcard...

I would set your session's bit depth to 24 bits, for the superior sound quality and headroom. You can record tracks into your 24 bit session through the analog ins, even though they only have 18 bit convertors. You also have the option of getting in digitally on s/pdif at 24 bits, using external a/d convertors. When your mix is finished, you can bounce to disc at 16 bit resolution, using a dither plug-in (dither is used to compensate for loss of sound quality when converting from 24 to 16 bits) on a master fader. This will create a stereo 16 bit file that can be burned to CD. Hopefully this is a simple version of the answer that you are looking for.
__________________
http://thisistherock.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-19-2001, 11:38 AM
ccstudios ccstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: cc studios, CA
Posts: 320
Default Re: Can\'t find info on 18Bits with AudiomediaIII soundcard...

I agree except if you arent going to be doing any fades or plugins then go 16 bit so dithering wont be needed. dithering adds noise but is needed when sample rates are converted. higher bits are needs for more presise math when using plugins or doing fades.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-22-2001, 10:44 PM
GuitarEasley GuitarEasley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: West Jefferson, North Carolina
Posts: 566
Default Re: Can\'t find info on 18Bits with AudiomediaIII soundcard...

OK, I found a 'bit' more about 'bits'... actually I found quite a 'bit' more here at Digidesign by doing a search on the term dither. However there still isn't much that I can find yet when it comes to using the Audiomedia III soundcard. But I haven't had much time lately to do the research for good links on the subject.

I will give more details about my recording. I will be recording classical guitar using two microphones. My first recording turned a great I used the DAT recorder, took out some noise during silent times, added a wee bit of compression, and then a wee bit of reverb. I must say that took it to a few studios and they actually asked how I managed to record classical guitar so well. One thought it needed just a little more bass but he said that was probably due to my cheap classical guitar more than anything.

Now to update you I got my own Dell Windows Me computer( I was using my dad's DAT recorder and his Mac computer) but I don't have the DAT recorder. Instead I am using an old Otari reel to reel as sort of a tube amp into my audiomedia card. We think that it might actually sound better than the DAT. One time I actually recorded through the reel to reel into a Sony MiniDisc recorder and then through my soundcard into pro tools. I don't know why but I got a great little recording out of that. It doesn't make sense to me. But someday I will learn how to provide a link so you can hear it for yourself.

Anyway enough of 'recording' stories ... I suppose I should always record in 24-bit. The shouldn't be too big of a problem because I don't use many tracks. It is just a solo classical guitar by itself.

Thanks,
guitareasley
__________________
One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas... How he got into my pajamas I'll never know.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can someone tell me please? Can't find the info nowhere? M2E Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 04-18-2009 08:10 PM
future convert seeking info : micro and other soundcard shredchris 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 11-25-2007 03:07 PM
Where do I find "Reason" info? Anyone? grasshopper47 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-31-2004 11:25 PM
Where can i find more info about DVD authoring? Heaven Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 01-04-2004 08:43 PM
WHERE CAN I FIND THIS INFO!?!? regis Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-14-2001 12:49 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com