Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-30-2020, 01:42 AM
belasoul belasoul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 110
Default Markers question

Since i use markers for marking scene boundaries, i can‘t use markers for a ‚to do list‘ purpose.
Is there a way to show/hide different groups of markers?
Or could you recommend any other way of doing this (preferably without a third party application)?
__________________
MacOs 10.14.6, RME Fireface UC / UAD Apollo, PT Ultimate 2020.9.1
Mac Pro 6.1/12-core,64GB RAM, Aja t-tap
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-30-2020, 03:05 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,747
Default Re: Markers question

PT markers are very inflexible. Create a track to the top of edit window where you create dummy clips for your own markers. This way you get all the flexibility you need with little expense of extra clutter on your clip list
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-30-2020, 10:25 AM
Reckless Erik Reckless Erik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Reykjavik,Iceland
Posts: 705
Default Re: Markers question

Quote:
Since i use markers for marking scene boundaries, i can‘t use markers for a ‚to do list‘ purpose.
.

Why don't you cut your video file into scenes and re-name them. They will show up in the clips list and you just click on them there to navigate to them. You can even put TC in the name if you want. Then you can free up your markers do to something more interesting.
__________________
nickcath@internet.is
Newcomer Audio Post
MacBookPro 2.3GHz i7 16GB RAM OSX 10.14.6, PT Ultimate 2020.12 HDn, MTRX Studio, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix...,
MacPro 3.5GHz 6 core 64GB RAM OSX 10.14.6, PT Ultimate 2020.12 HDn, MTRX Studio, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix, PT Dock...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-30-2020, 12:25 PM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 748
Default Re: Markers question

Soundflow has a widget that allows you to extract and replace markers and save the sets for different purposes.
You can also swap markers for chopped regions and vice versa.

Very useful!


Its really about time PT had multiple marker lanes and while you're at it get rid of the limit on the number of markers, what's all that about in 2020??



I've tried using chopped up tracks and all that, but they're not as useful as markers that can be seen vertically throughout all your tracks.
__________________
Mac Pro 7,1 16 core, OSX 10.15.5, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, MTRX Studio, 2xRME ADA-4, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, PT Dock, PT Control, Soundflow, PT 2020.9v2
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-30-2020, 12:26 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,747
Default Re: Markers question

Multiple lanes? I would be happy if the markers shifted when you add/cut time from the session
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-30-2020, 03:46 PM
priorytools priorytools is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,221
Default Re: Markers question

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Multiple lanes? I would be happy if the markers shifted when you add/cut time from the session

They do if you have all selection.
The markers ruler needs to be highlighted/ selected.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
~ Trashcan Mac Pro late 2013 - 64 GB RAM - 10.12.6 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO in Magma Expressbox 3T / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Avid S6 M10-24-5 V19.12 ~
~ MBP 15" 2.8 Intel Core i7 -10.12.6 /Apollo 16 / Steinberg U22 / Artist MIx / Pro Tools HD 12.8.3 - UAD2 V8 / UAD2 Satellite DUO ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / HEAT / Magma PE6R4 / ProControl 24 faders / UAD2 QUAD PCIe ~ ARCHIVE RIG

~ Mac Pro (Early 2009) - 2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core-32 GB RAM-10.13.6 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 / Apollo 16 / Avid S3 ~
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-30-2020, 06:21 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,747
Default Re: Markers question

Good to know, thanks. I must have been doing something wrong all the time
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-31-2020, 05:49 AM
minister's Avatar
minister minister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,822
Default Re: Markers question

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Multiple lanes? I would be happy if the markers shifted when you add/cut time from the session
Quote:
Originally Posted by priorytools View Post
They do if you have all selection.
The markers ruler needs to be highlighted/ selected.
Also, if you use a Time Event operation - cut or insert. If I have a quickie reconform I will use his method, line up the guide tracks, figure out where the differences are, hide just the new QT and Guide, cut or insert time, show all tracks. Markers are moved.
__________________
Tom Hambleton CAS
Ministry of Fancy Noises
IMDb
Undertone on Facebook
Undertone Custom Sound Libraries

"Groupable markers would be epochal!"
-Starcrash
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-31-2020, 08:52 AM
seanmccoy seanmccoy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 545
Default Re: Markers question

The Cut Time option is very handy, but ignores playlists that aren't visible. Clearly we need two new options: "Include Markers" in any timeline selection and edit, and "Include All Playlists" in any Cut or Insert time function. Both of these are currently doable with the mentioned awkward workarounds, but shouldn't require workarounds.
__________________
ADK Core i7 4.20, 32GB RAM, W10 Pro, PT HD 2020.12, HD Native, OMNI, Digi 192, AJA Kona LHi, UAD-2 Octo; Mac Pro 12-core 3.46, 64GB RAM, Mojave, Logic Pro 10.5.1, Apogee Rosetta 800, UAD-2 Quad, MOTU 2408 Mk II: MBP mid-2012, 16GB RAM, Mojave, MOTU 8-Pre-ES, Pro Tools 2019.10
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-31-2020, 02:01 PM
Leverson Leverson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 154
Default Re: Markers question

Quote:
Originally Posted by seanmccoy View Post
The Cut Time option is very handy, but ignores playlists that aren't visible. Clearly we need two new options: "Include Markers" in any timeline selection and edit, and "Include All Playlists" in any Cut or Insert time function. Both of these are currently doable with the mentioned awkward workarounds, but shouldn't require workarounds.
I completely agree with this. I'd absolutely love 'markers follow edit' and 'playlists follow edit' options.

Also, while currently it is possible to select the markers track along with other tracks and cut/paste them. However if you undo and re-paste, for whatever reason it loses selection of the markers track. I've lost count of how many times I've lost markers during a reconform this way.

And then lastly, I'd love if Pro Tools had the option to color markers so that the vertical lines could be a different color than just yellow. I know there can be different colors along the markers track at the top, but when dealing with lots of markers in a track-intensive feature film it would be great to be able to color the vertical lines of the markers too. That way I can differentiate new reconform cut markers, or title card markers, or any sorts of other things to help me visually navigate around a zoomed-out session.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Markers Question KeyplayerG Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 4 08-23-2018 12:12 PM
Song Markers Question Pt. 2 KeyplayerG Artist Series 2 11-08-2015 08:54 PM
Markers question.. Sam C Windows 9 09-08-2011 11:45 AM
Question about markers 4string Tips & Tricks 1 02-27-2007 06:06 PM
Here's a question about Markers... fikafer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-21-2000 01:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com