Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-12-2020, 11:46 AM
lucavittori's Avatar
lucavittori lucavittori is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Milan-Italy
Posts: 2
Default Pro Tools 2020 and 6-core Intel Xeon 3,06 GHz

Hi everyone!

In Pro Tools System Requirements and Compatibility page, I simply couldn't understand if my MacPro with High Sierra and 6-core Intel Xeon 3,06 GHz can run Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.
Can anyone help pls?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-13-2020, 04:57 PM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,031
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020 and 6-core Intel Xeon 3,06 GHz

I'm 99.999 percent positive its fine.

Sent from my SM-G986U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-13-2020, 06:33 PM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,800
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020 and 6-core Intel Xeon 3,06 GHz

The computer itself work just fine if on Mojave, it's the High Sierra I'd look into.


edit: "System Requirements and Compatibility with Pro Tools 2020.3 Software

Windows 10 64-bit build 1909
macOS Catalina (10.15.3), macOS Mojave (10.14.6), and High Sierra (10.13.6)"
__________________
-Ryan Young

•2019 Mac Pro 3.5 GHz 8-Core Intel Xeon W - 48 GB 2666 MHz DDR4 (OS 10.15.5) •HD Native PCIe, HD Omni, 192 I/o, Pro Tools Ultimate •Avid S3 + Dock •Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI) •5.1 Room with JBL LSR4300 series

Additional Systems

•2010 Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon - 48 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (OS 10.14.6) •HD Native PCIe, 192 I/o, 96 I/o, Pro Tools Ultimate •McMix (x4), McControl (x1), JLCooper Surround panner for D-Command ES, Avid Control •Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI) •7.1.4 Room with JBL LSR4300 series

•2017 MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz i7 - 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3 (OS 10.14.6) •HD Native TB, HD Omni, Pro Tools Ultimate •McMix (x1), McControl (x1), Avid Control * or * D-Command ES Main Unit •Fed into whichever system is the main system

Last edited by Ryan Young; 06-13-2020 at 06:34 PM. Reason: you're fine
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-13-2020, 10:37 PM
lae777 lae777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 176
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020 and 6-core Intel Xeon 3,06 GHz

It should be just fine.

Check out my specs below.

I run large sessions (hundreds of tracks with hundreds of plugins and multiple videos) with no problems.
__________________
5,1 Mac Pro, 3.46 GHz Six Core Xeon, 48gb ram, Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.11, HD Native card, Avid 96io interface, Avid 192io, Intensity Pro video card, Radeon HD 7950 graphics card, Mac OS X 10.13.6
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-14-2020, 04:13 AM
lucavittori's Avatar
lucavittori lucavittori is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Milan-Italy
Posts: 2
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020 and 6-core Intel Xeon 3,06 GHz

thanks guys!!
very conforting. A soon as I'll receive my MSI Radeon RX 560 I'll install Mojave and PT2020. Very excited!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-17-2020, 03:12 AM
drums77's Avatar
drums77 drums77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Treviso, Italy
Posts: 106
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020 and 6-core Intel Xeon 3,06 GHz

I have a mid 2010 3,33 with High Sierra and HDX rig with 2020.3.
Me too I’m waiting the MSI Radeon RX 560!
__________________
Mac Pro (Mid 2010) Six Core 3.33GHz macOS 10.13.6 MSI Radeon RX 560
Pro Tools | HDX, HD I/O 16x16, HD I/O 8x8x8
Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.11

MacBook Pro (Mid 2012) i7 2.3GHz macOS 10.15.7
Pro Tools 2020.12
Apogee Duet
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-18-2020, 01:04 PM
SDDP SDDP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angles, CA
Posts: 553
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020 and 6-core Intel Xeon 3,06 GHz

Quote:
Originally Posted by lae777 View Post
It should be just fine.

Check out my specs below.

I run large sessions (hundreds of tracks with hundreds of plugins and multiple videos) with no problems.

Side questions, kind of related. I have a similar set up, Mac 5,1 8 core 2.44Ghz with HDN card, BM Intensity card, upgraded to RX 580 8gb and now on HS with 2020.5 and running into much larger sessions (since they gave HDN users 128 more voices) and running into our beloved -9173 errors often. have been wanting to upgrade my CPU to 3.46ghz. Would the difference be a huge improvement?
And also noticeable on freezing/bouncing tracks for full length features?
__________________
-Mac Pro 5,1 12core 3.46GHz Westmere 96gb
-RX 580 8GB GPU
-OSX 10.13.6 on a 1TB SSD Via PCIE card
-PTHDN 2020.12 Ultimate
-HD Omni
-BM Intensity Pro

-Waves Mercury+SSL4000 Collection+Abbey Roads
-iZotope RX7 Advanced
-iZotope Post Production Suite 4
-iZotope Music Production Suite 3
-HALO UP/DOWN MIX
-ANYMIX
-Delonghi Perfecta ESAM 5600.S
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Pro 3.33 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon (OCT_2011) whittybeats Buy & Sell 16 01-06-2013 11:46 PM
FS: Mac Pro 8-core, 3.0GHz Intel Xeon + xtras WildHoney Buy & Sell 1 08-13-2012 04:54 PM
Two 2.8GHz HELP, PLEASE!!!!! Quad-Core Intel Xeon “Harpertown” processors LaForestPoetry18 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 08-07-2008 07:07 AM
Composite adaptor not working on Intel 3 gig Dual Core Xeon soundboy35 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 03-05-2008 07:24 PM
Composite adaptor not working on Intel 3 gig Dual Core Xeon soundboy35 Post - Surround - Video 2 03-05-2008 06:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com