Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-14-2004, 04:16 PM
gwest gwest is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 25
Default Stylus RMX and Digi 001

Is anyone successfully running RMX with Digi 001 hardware? Midi communication keeps hanging and the only workaround is to relaunch ProTools. This occurs even if Digi 001 is not utilized in the Midi Setup Prefs (USB controller only). Spectrasonics doesn't have much to say except for the fact that they didn't test with the 001 since it's no longer in production.
__________________
gw
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-15-2004, 01:57 PM
gwest gwest is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 25
Default Re: Stylus RMX and Digi 001

bump...is it just me?!?
__________________
gw
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-16-2004, 08:08 PM
lwilliam lwilliam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 5,094
Default Re: Stylus RMX and Digi 001

I wouldn't feel too bad. I've been reading a few posts on other forums where they're having trouble with the Stylus RMX in Logic Pro, too.

My guess is it's a Spectrasonics issue (new engine and all - it's really a version 1.0). Watch for a patch to come out soon.

If something does come out, post again. I've heard great things about the new library and the Chaos Designer.
__________________
Larry

PTLE8/002r;OS 10.6.4 2 x 2.26Ghz quadcore,6GB RAM, Waves Platinum, many other plugins...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-16-2004, 08:55 PM
senyc senyc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: nyc
Posts: 86
Default Re: Stylus RMX and Digi 001

I cannot even open RMX - PT crashes. I have not even heard any of the new loops.. Sh*t, I can't even authorize the thing.. Kinda lame - at least mention you are not going to support the 001.. Stylus Classic was unstable when first released too- nothing new.
gw, how do you get to actually open up RMX? Have you maybe installed the 6.4cs9 update - just curious/don't really expect this to change anything.





-------------------------------------
DP G4 1.25
DIGI 001/PT6.4/Live 4/Reason 2.5
Apogee Mini-Me/Mini-DAC
Mackie HR824s
Access Indigo 2
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-17-2004, 06:28 AM
GlennO GlennO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 27
Default Re: Stylus RMX and Digi 001

Yes, RMX has been tested and works fine with a Digi001 here, and it definitely works fine with Logic Pro . Check to make sure you're using the latest version, but if that doesn't help, contact tech support. And be sure to include your system specs. Thanks.

Glenn Olander
Spectrasonics
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-17-2004, 06:33 AM
GlennO GlennO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 27
Default Re: Stylus RMX and Digi 001

Oh, forgot to mention: sometimes hitting the transport start and stop a few times in PT can wake up PT's midi communication, so try that as a workaround.

Glenn Olander
Spectrasonics
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-17-2004, 12:23 PM
senyc senyc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: nyc
Posts: 86
Default Re: Stylus RMX and Digi 001

Hey Glenn! Thanks for trying to help. Do you have any particular tips for us 001 users? I am expecting a reply from Spectrasonics tech support but I'd love to get RMX going asap. Any info would be greatly appreciated!

Current setup:
DIGI 001
DP G4 1.25(gigadesigns upgrade)
1.5 GB
PT 6.4/ OS 10.3.6/ Stylus RMX(1.1)/ Stylus Classic(1.1 - runs fine)
MOTU midi express 128
Roland A-33
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-18-2004, 03:06 PM
senyc senyc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: nyc
Posts: 86
Default Re: Stylus RMX and Digi 001

Well, I got RMX to work. I opened it through Live 4.0.4 and authorized it - Live running as standalone. I then opened RMX in a PT session with no problems. It is a CPU hog. I you have a G4 and want no audio interruptions I suggest you audition the lighter loops first(hi hats, no kick etc.) and then the combo titled ones. If you try to audition a loop's combo version first and you get no audio, follow Glenn O's advice and start/stop on your transport a couple of times - do that when you first open your PT session as well if you are going to use RMX. As far as quality goes, I am not surprised. Eric Persing and team have done a great job once again!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-18-2004, 05:07 PM
AdamF AdamF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 305
Default Re: Stylus RMX and Digi 001

Make sure you do have the latest version of RMX from the spectrasonics website. I have a 001 on a G4 dual 1GHz and it works great. It is somewhat more limited then on logic as far as separate outs and stuff, but I love it no less. AMAZING plugin. I think it is time for a G5 and 002R though
__________________
My Website
My Setup
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-20-2004, 01:01 PM
senyc senyc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: nyc
Posts: 86
Default Re: Stylus RMX and Digi 001

Hey Adam, congrats on your Sullivan Room residency - I will try to make it on the opening night(will contact for list later). Keep up the good work. nicholas_
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help w/Stylus RMX and 8.0.3 please...thx auge Virtual Instruments 11 03-31-2010 06:51 AM
stylus rmx and PT8 Mark Wheaton Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 01-17-2009 08:16 AM
stylus rmx SNAPPER 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 01-31-2005 05:02 AM
New Stylus RMX... AdamF 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 10-18-2004 10:17 PM
Stylus Ozzie MIDI 1 08-08-2003 12:56 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com