Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-13-2019, 08:40 PM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 283
Default How to go from Apple TV digital out to MTRX?

I want to extract digital audio from an Apple TV 4th Gen with a HDMI + HDMI Audio extractor box. This extracts an Optical output from the HDMI signal. This then goes to a HOSA Optical to AES/EBU converter box. And from here it goes to the Avid MTRX AES-in.

This doesn't work because the extractor doesn't have a Optical IN for clocking. The result is the audio plays but drops out every few seconds.

No HDMI audio extractor I've found have an Optical IN, only OUTPUT.

Is there a better way to do this? I need all my MTRX analog inputs otherwise I just use them.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6, Avid MTRX, MOM, Mac Pro 3.5 Ghz 6-Core (2014) 64 GB RAM, Mac OS Mojave, Samsung T5 SSDs
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-13-2019, 08:52 PM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 541
Default Re: How to go from Apple TV digital out to MTRX?

So you are trying to record the audio signal?

Usually the output from the Apple TV is a Dolby encoded output. Are you tying to record a simple stereo, 5.1, or Atmos?
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, HDX3 & MTRX + HD MADI
MacPro 3.45 12-core, OSX 10.12.6
S6 M10 16-5, Dolby Atmos RMU
AJA Kona LHi, Sync HD
www.ToolshedAudioPost.com
Certified for Dolby Atmos Home Entertainment
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-13-2019, 08:54 PM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 283
Default Re: How to go from Apple TV digital out to MTRX?

Just want Apple TV playback, no recording. And just stereo...
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6, Avid MTRX, MOM, Mac Pro 3.5 Ghz 6-Core (2014) 64 GB RAM, Mac OS Mojave, Samsung T5 SSDs
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-13-2019, 09:28 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,440
Default Re: How to go from Apple TV digital out to MTRX?

If clocking is the only issue change you Pro Tools/MTRX setup to clock from its AES/EBU input.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-13-2019, 09:34 PM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 283
Default Re: How to go from Apple TV digital out to MTRX?

Thanks, I just tried that but get a SYNC Loss alert and the audio still drops out every 5 seconds or thereabouts...
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6, Avid MTRX, MOM, Mac Pro 3.5 Ghz 6-Core (2014) 64 GB RAM, Mac OS Mojave, Samsung T5 SSDs
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-13-2019, 09:37 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,440
Default Re: How to go from Apple TV digital out to MTRX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SomeOtherGuy View Post
Thanks, I just tried that but get a SYNC Loss alert and the audio still drops out every 5 seconds or thereabouts...
Then you likely have other problems in the conversion chain than just clocking. Can you try swapping components/cables. Can you run TOSLINK into the AES/EBU converter say from a CD player or a Mac with optical out to test that works. Is it an old Apple TV with TOSLINK out that you can go directly into the TOSLINK Adapter?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-13-2019, 09:43 PM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 283
Default Re: How to go from Apple TV digital out to MTRX?

It's a 4th Gen Apple TV so have to use an HDMI + HDMI Audio extractor box. This has a Optical out only. I did swap cables. I generally find that whatever I hook up using the AES inputs on the MTRX, I need both IN and OUT connected. For example, I have a HAKEN Continuum controller hooked up via AES, but I get dropouts or it won't work at all unless it's connected to both AES In and Out.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6, Avid MTRX, MOM, Mac Pro 3.5 Ghz 6-Core (2014) 64 GB RAM, Mac OS Mojave, Samsung T5 SSDs
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-13-2019, 10:28 PM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 541
Default Re: How to go from Apple TV digital out to MTRX?

Any chance you have a Dante card on your MTRX? I use these adapters to get as much audio input as I need....

https://www.amazon.com/Audinate-Dant...C4Y?th=1&psc=1

I know it doesn’t directly solve your problem, but thought I would mention that Incase the sync issue doesn’t work out.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, HDX3 & MTRX + HD MADI
MacPro 3.45 12-core, OSX 10.12.6
S6 M10 16-5, Dolby Atmos RMU
AJA Kona LHi, Sync HD
www.ToolshedAudioPost.com
Certified for Dolby Atmos Home Entertainment
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-13-2019, 10:43 PM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 283
Default Re: How to go from Apple TV digital out to MTRX?

Thanks for that, looks interesting. I'd get a Dante card if it's solve this clocking issue, since I'd to stay digital if possible. But you're saying with this I could go analog into the Dante card. That might be the way to go...
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6, Avid MTRX, MOM, Mac Pro 3.5 Ghz 6-Core (2014) 64 GB RAM, Mac OS Mojave, Samsung T5 SSDs
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-13-2019, 10:50 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,440
Default Re: How to go from Apple TV digital out to MTRX?

Not sure going Dante to just get analog would make sense.

Do you have something like an RME ADI-192 DD you can borrow? That gets you SRC (pretty sure it regens off the input clock at the same sample rate) tied to a clock signal. Super handy boxes, but overkill in general for this... but if you can borrow one.

Are other MTRX as touchy for locking to AES/EBU? I'm more guessing your Apple TV may be running a little loose. But if it happens with other stuff...

What computer do you have? Does it have optical in? (I'm guessing from your info you mean a late 2013 trashcan, so no). Maybe consider buying a USB or thunderbolt interface with optical in and switch to Pro Tools Standard while importing that S/PDIF input.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD I/O with MTRX Artis Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 10 07-04-2019 11:01 AM
MTRX and S6 quadraphonics Pro Tools | S6 18 08-21-2018 07:12 PM
MTRX Box JSR Pro Tools | S6 4 11-01-2017 01:46 PM
MTRX antonis Post - Surround - Video 2 10-26-2016 01:31 AM
Anyone been able to get 2 Apple digital monitors working? EthanMorse Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 11-06-2001 11:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com