Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-11-2013, 12:07 PM
nigelpry's Avatar
nigelpry nigelpry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Home
Posts: 2,154
Default G-Force are not porting their instrument plugins to AAX in the foreseeable future

I've spoken to Dave Spiers of G-Force this afternoon, he confirms that "G-Force currently have no plans to port any of their existing instruments to aax".

He says they've "spent the best part of two years porting existing instruments to 64-bit, and as soon as they're released G-Foce need to take a break from this endless cycle of porting existing instruments and instead do something creative".

He thinks right now "that AAX is one format too far" and is suggesting that "anyone who now says that it's critical they get all RTAS plug-ins working on PT11 to contact Avid and persuade them to cooperate with SugarBytes to release the VST to AAX wrapper they announced a while back".

He apologised for being unable to be more helpful, but did say they might revisit the issue in the future, just not at the moment.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-12-2013, 02:53 PM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,051
Default Re: G-Force are not porting their instrument plugins to AAX in the foreseeable future

God god, we use their stuff ALL OF THE TIME. I guess VE Pro isn't going away as fast as expected.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-12-2013, 03:11 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,545
Default Re: G-Force are not porting their instrument plugins to AAX in the foreseeable future

Sounds like someone wants to take their toys home and not let others play with them!

On a serious note, every company has to decide how best to spend their resources. Only time will tell if they bet on the right horse. In the meantime, they're basically leaving a certain percentage of their customers in the lurch. Unless they're stupid, PT users must make up a small percent of their user base.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-12-2013, 03:14 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,382
Default Re: G-Force are not porting their instrument plugins to AAX in the foreseeable future

Quote:
Originally Posted by nigelpry View Post
I've spoken to Dave Spiers of G-Force this afternoon, he confirms that "G-Force currently have no plans to port any of their existing instruments to aax".

He says they've "spent the best part of two years porting existing instruments to 64-bit, and as soon as they're released G-Foce need to take a break from this endless cycle of porting existing instruments and instead do something creative".

He thinks right now "that AAX is one format too far" and is suggesting that "anyone who now says that it's critical they get all RTAS plug-ins working on PT11 to contact Avid and persuade them to cooperate with SugarBytes to release the VST to AAX wrapper they announced a while back".

He apologised for being unable to be more helpful, but did say they might revisit the issue in the future, just not at the moment.
That's a load.. The plugin manufacturers that have available rtas and would have inquired about aax were more than most likely told, that PT 11 would not have rtas in them at all. That wasn't a maybe that was a definite. Maybe they didn't get authorized for aax?? Pure speculating here, but for them to ask for avid to roll back on 3 or 4 years of work when they already knew it was happening is far from being professional.

It's fine if they say they want to take some time to breath and then come back later, but what they said is like.. ''right you know all the hard work and hundred of thousands (if not more) in R&D you've been doing for the past 4 years? Yeah.. you know... drop it all and keep RTAS in for us... yeah you know.. that would be swell.. thanks chaps'' A la office space.
__________________
Manny.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-12-2013, 05:15 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,651
Default Re: G-Force are not porting their instrument plugins to AAX in the foreseeable future

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emcha_audio View Post
It's fine if they say they want to take some time to breath and then come back later, but what they said is like.. ''right you know all the hard work and hundred of thousands (if not more) in R&D you've been doing for the past 4 years? Yeah.. you know... drop it all and keep RTAS in for us... yeah you know.. that would be swell.. thanks chaps'' A la office space.
That's a weird interpretation of what he said.

Pretty sure all he said was we want to do create some new stuff and AVID should allow the VST - AAX wrapper to exist for developers that aren't able to or spend the time working on AAX plugins.

I see no mention of him saying they should keep RTAS alive.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-12-2013, 05:21 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,545
Default Re: G-Force are not porting their instrument plugins to AAX in the foreseeable future

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
That's a weird interpretation of what he said.

Pretty sure all he said was we want to do create some new stuff and AVID should allow the VST - AAX wrapper to exist for developers that aren't able to or spend the time working on AAX plugins.

I see no mention of him saying they should keep RTAS alive.
The subtext of his statement (to me) is "I'm not going to port to AAX in an attempt to teach Avid a lesson". When all he's doing is not supporting his customers.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-12-2013, 05:31 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,547
Default Re: G-Force are not porting their instrument plugins to AAX in the foreseeable future

GForce Software use to be distributed exclusively by M-Audio back when Avid owned M-Audio. They were definitely part of the Pro Tools ecosystem up until 2010. I'm surprised they decided to not move forward with AAX. Best thing to do is email them a request for AAX and hopefully enough numbers will make them reconsider.

Shane

Sent from a plutonium-powered DeLorean in 1985 trying to get Back to the Future
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-13-2013, 05:56 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,662
Default Re: G-Force are not porting their instrument plugins to AAX in the foreseeable future

Glad I found this thread as I was ready to pop for some of their Mellotron stuff.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-13-2013, 06:37 AM
dave911's Avatar
dave911 dave911 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,454
Default Re: G-Force are not porting their instrument plugins to AAX in the foreseeable future

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan View Post
GForce Software use to be distributed exclusively by M-Audio back when Avid owned M-Audio. They were definitely part of the Pro Tools ecosystem up until 2010.
Blood feud!
__________________
"In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is." - Yogi Berra
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-13-2013, 09:08 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: G-Force are not porting their instrument plugins to AAX in the foreseeable future

" G-Force are not porting their instrument plugins to AAX in the foreseeable future"

And I will not be buying them in the foreseeable future.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Force Plugins to follow mix window using spaces on mac..? mesa3077boogie Pro Tools 10 9 08-30-2013 03:20 PM
Eventide Plugins Future ZEUSS Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 10-21-2011 11:33 PM
Future Development of TDM Plugins? KingFish Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 03-31-2009 04:03 PM
The following incident with Altiverb will force me Force Quit PT 25ghosts Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 03-02-2009 02:30 PM
Force authorization on plugins and Ilok help Richard Stern 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 11-14-2004 02:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com