Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-21-2004, 01:22 AM
orsano orsano is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1
Default Cannot install 6.4. G5 freezes up! Please HELP!!!!

Hi all.

I'm a brand new user. I have a major problem. I've been trying to install LE 6.2.3 and 6.4, with no success. Here's my configuration:

G5 dual 2
5 GIG ram
500 GIG HD (dual 250)
OS 10.3.2
Digi 002

Protools version 6.1 will not run with the G5's, so I downloaded version 6.2.3 update. I already had version 6.1 installed (but it does not run), and then I tried to install 6.2.3 and the computer freezes up completely at the start of the installation process. I tried version 6.4, and the same happens. I have to completely restart the computer by holding the power button. I've also tried to burn the downloaded file onto a cd and do it from there, but that was useless.
I've done what digidesign requires for the macs, i.e. turn power saver off, screen saver off, update off, etc. Nothing I do seems to work. I've wiped clean the hard drive, reinstalled OS 10.3.2 and started over from scratch, and nothing. What am I missing???

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-21-2004, 03:44 PM
MoreMeintheMonitors MoreMeintheMonitors is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Ether
Posts: 471
Default Re: Cannot install 6.4. G5 freezes up! Please HELP

Uninstall Pro Tools with your 6.1 CD (run the installer - at the custom install page click on custom install and select uninstall from the drop down), restart and reinstall, then run the 6.2.3 updater.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-22-2004, 04:12 AM
ricupad ricupad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Helsinki Finland
Posts: 191
Default Re: Cannot install 6.4. G5 freezes up! Please HELP

HI!

No need to reinstall 6.1. Uninstall 6.1, then just download 6.2.3, it's an "everything included" upgrade.


ricupad
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Install PT8.0 freezes Glazik 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-27-2010 04:04 AM
Pro Tools LE 7.0 freezes during install?? Sevdah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 16 07-29-2010 07:09 PM
Newb install question: Install seems to complete and than freezes ginsuthaironchef 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-02-2009 04:39 PM
PT LE 6.4 freezes during install... PLEASE HELP! Riff Raff 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 08-27-2004 07:10 PM
ADB keyboard freezes since PT 5.0 install Compression Records Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 02-28-2000 02:56 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com