Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-20-2020, 01:58 AM
jchan jchan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 273
Default Undo history gone if track duplicated or deleted

Anyone else?


I'm on 2020.3 and High Sierra 10.13.6
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-20-2020, 03:34 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,383
Default Re: Undo history gone if track duplicated or deleted

'Twas ever thus wasn't it?

In fact I've always used "create track" then immediately "delete track" as a quicker way of clearing the undo queue for e.g. deleting unused clips.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-20-2020, 04:40 AM
jchan jchan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 273
Default Re: Undo history gone if track duplicated or deleted

You're right!
This must be the dumbest bug still alive. So old people started using it as a feature.

That's probably the reason why "delete track" can't be undone :) So stupid.

Wish AVID good luck!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-29-2020, 03:47 AM
jchan jchan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 273
Default Re: Undo history gone if track duplicated or deleted

I got an answer from AVID support and they'd read my post here as well.

Yeah, that's right, it's stated in the manual that:

"Other operations that clear the Undo Queue in- clude:
• Deletingatrack,orclearingaclipfromtheClips List
• SelectingSelect>Unused,orSelect>Unused Audio Except Whole Files in the Clips List menu"


This is plain hilarious reading. Epic fail. Completely unintentional behavior that has been converted into a feature to avoid dealing with the problem.

AVID wasn't aware that duplicate track clears the undo history though, which means they'll probably add this to the next manual as a new exciting feature?

It's good to know they keeps an eye on the duc though
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-29-2020, 03:54 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,383
Default Re: Undo history gone if track duplicated or deleted

Basically what you want for is the ability to undo a "duplicate track" or "delete track" command, which I agree shouldn't be too much to ask for in this day and age.

There are loads of historic anomalies like this. My current favourite bugbear is that you can (now, finally, at long last!) change the "Edit Window Scrolling" mode under Options whilst playing the track, but you still can't change the scrolling mode in the MIDI Editor window when playing the track. So inconsistent. So bonkers.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Undo history deletes when a track is deleted seafra macOS 0 10-28-2011 10:34 AM
undo History List ... other programs john1192 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-12-2010 01:48 PM
"undo" function and history on 1 track? dendee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-04-2008 09:55 AM
Window Configurations & Undo History filosofem 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-08-2008 10:14 PM
Undo History Window filosofem 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 01-17-2008 07:48 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com