Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-13-2020, 01:05 PM
moonwalker2 moonwalker2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 181
Default Re: Control 24 as an analog mixer?

I understand what you are saying Darryl, but to me, i'm moving slowly out the box. Different ways of working, I'm not really a fan of being in the box at all =) I'd rather research what can be done with the control24, rather than how to get a specific sound from a specific record. (Even though that sounds like fun to!)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-13-2020, 03:00 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,921
Default Re: Control 24 as an analog mixer?

You might take a look at Structure as its a sample player that allows you to drop your own audio clips into. Its pretty easy to make your own sample clips by recording single shot hits of all the 808 sounds. Once you create the clips, then you can do it easily in the box(and the Control24 is still designed to be a controller, and not much else, but its quite good at its intended function).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-13-2020, 03:13 PM
moonwalker2 moonwalker2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 181
Default Re: Control 24 as an analog mixer?

Hey guys, forget about the 808 already! My question isn't about how to get the 808 inside a plugin lol

I just wanted to know what routing options are there with the physical inputs and outputs on the Control24. (If it was just designed to be only a controller it wouldn't make much sense to add all the ins and outs, and also a monitoring section!) Just wondering if these ins and outs can be used even though i'm running ProTools.2020 version?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-13-2020, 03:34 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,625
Default Re: Control 24 as an analog mixer?

What do you want people to tell you? You are getting advice that this does not make sense, people accurately pointing out this is not a mixer in any usual sense. Open the Control 24 manual and read up about it. It is not a mixer, It’s a control surface with separate preamps and separate monitoring capability. It happens to have a line level mixer, entirely separate, than the DAW, not very useful. And why would you use that when your RD-8 box has a separate mixer built into it already.... which also gets you to a differential output.

The Control 24 was not really good in it’s day except as a control surface. It and the C|24 share similar hybrid approaches of trying to add stuff around the DAW.. which *is* the mixer.... both useful in their day, can be workhorse surfaces, but strange hybrid devices and otherwise just not great.

There are no “routing options” except for the ancillary options provided by the separate line level mixer and monitoring section.... everything else depends on Pro Tools.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-13-2020, 03:43 PM
moonwalker2 moonwalker2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 181
Default Re: Control 24 as an analog mixer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post

There are no “routing options” except for the ancillary options provided by the separate line level mixer and monitoring section.... everything else depends on Pro Tools.
Thank you Darryl, this was actually the kind of answer I was looking for! Now I know why there is no reason to investigate further, because its not possible. I did read the manual but in todays context this was really unclear (to me at least)
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-13-2020, 04:38 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,625
Default Re: Control 24 as an analog mixer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by moonwalker2 View Post
Thank you Darryl, this was actually the kind of answer I was looking for! Now I know why there is no reason to investigate further, because its not possible. I did read the manual but in todays context this was really unclear (to me at least)
BTW what you are going through is not uncommon with the Control 24 or C|24. It take a bit of wrapping your head about what they are especially if coming from say a live mixer or console background... I mean they look like they must... I remember one poor live sound guy with a C|24 who so wanted to believe... he had the thing all wired up and everything and could not work out why it did not work as a live mixer.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-13-2020, 04:44 PM
moonwalker2 moonwalker2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 181
Default Re: Control 24 as an analog mixer?

Haha! that would probably be me as well if I didn't ask you guys. I still bought it for the controller features, but when i looked at the back i thought maaayybeee... ha!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eucon control over M-Audio Profire DSP Mixer/Focusrite DSP Mixer? finkbmx Artist Series 1 12-26-2010 01:11 AM
analog mixer + control surface = digital mixer? j20056 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 10-11-2006 06:12 AM
I Need an analog Mixer. Big Koo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 08-23-2004 06:07 PM
Best analog mixer SummerOverture Tips & Tricks 7 12-27-2002 11:08 AM
using analog mixer?? carbomb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 12-12-2001 09:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com