Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-28-2013, 01:00 PM
jacko's Avatar
jacko jacko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wroclaw / Poland
Posts: 696
Default "PACE security is now integral to AAX plug-ins" ???

Quote:
Behind the scenes PACE security is now integral to AAX plug-ins, all AAX plug-ins require what is known as digital signing so that they will work in Pro Tools 11. The effect of the iLok server issues has backed up the workload at PACE and therefore delayed some plug-in manufacturers being able to deliver in the time they hoped.

Read more: http://www.pro-tools-expert.com/home...#ixzz2XXTVpyhz
Follow us: @protoolsexpert on Twitter | protoolsexpert on Facebook
Is that true? If so, how Waves are going to deal with it when they have just dropped PACE?
__________________
UAD Apollo x16,
UAD Apollo Twin Duo,
UAD Octo Thunderbolt,
Mac Mini i7 2018,
Reaper DAW,
Presonus Faderport,
Arturia Beastep for DAW control,
Former Pro Tools HD user (from V7 until V12.6).
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-28-2013, 01:08 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,094
Default Re: "PACE security is now integral to AAX plug-ins" ???

Digital signing by Pace is not the same thing as requiring an iLok for authorization.


Buttdialed by me & Tapatalk
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Sierra 10.12.6.

Pro Tools HD 2019.10, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-28-2013, 02:18 PM
WorldStudios WorldStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 829
Default Re: "PACE security is now integral to AAX plug-ins" ???

What, pray tell, is it then?
__________________
Johan Bejerholm
World Studios
Sweden

Phone +46707773443
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-28-2013, 02:34 PM
Carl Kolchak Carl Kolchak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 2,199
Default Re: "PACE security is now integral to AAX plug-ins" ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by WorldStudios View Post
What, pray tell, is it then?
Basically it's Quality Control / Assurance that the plugin is up to AAX spec, and that the vendor is licensed to develop for the AAX platform.

For example, if it were not a requirement (Pro Tools will simply ignore the plugin without the PACE signature) it would be possible for you or I to write something like a VST to AAX wrapper, and allow other developers to license our wrapper, rather than have them code directly for AAX, which could turn AAX plugin reliability and standardisation in to the wild west.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-28-2013, 02:54 PM
DaveTremblay DaveTremblay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 191
Default Re: "PACE security is now integral to AAX plug-ins" ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Kolchak View Post
Basically it's Quality Control / Assurance that the plugin is up to AAX spec, and that the vendor is licensed to develop for the AAX platform.

For example, if it were not a requirement (Pro Tools will simply ignore the plugin without the PACE signature) it would be possible for you or I to write something like a VST to AAX wrapper, and allow other developers to license our wrapper, rather than have them code directly for AAX, which could turn AAX plugin reliability and standardisation in to the wild west.
Yep. Similar to signing requirements on OSX Mountain Lion. Or using Verisign to authenticate something. It's not PACE licensing.

Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"The files for installation requirement Pace License Support could not be found..." KingDingbat Pro Tools 10 4 02-11-2019 07:12 AM
"Factory Promo UB" - "Eventide" - iLok license - What plug-in is this? Intini Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 08-31-2012 09:27 PM
Import session data... please break out "plug in settings" and "plug in automation" yeloocevad Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 19 10-05-2011 02:04 PM
hardware buttons for "preview", "capture" and "punch" evs Post - Surround - Video 1 12-06-2010 01:28 PM
"Buss" and "Plug in" words grayed out... amba 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 11-10-2008 05:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com