Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-04-2013, 06:45 AM
WorldStudios WorldStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 830
Default Kush Audio AAX

Over at GS, I asked Greg about the future of Kush Audio plugins under ProTools 11 and he replied this:

Pt & aax
Hey, to everyone in PT land, this is where we're at: Kush needs Avid's help in a major way to port to 64-bit AAX DSP. We very much want to do it, and I've written to my contacts there explaining our situation, hopefully we'll get some kind of response soon.

Avid is a big company with a lot going on right now, so if you'd like to help out with the effort, please write to Avid and let them know you're fans of Kush and would love to see both the Clariphonic and UBK-1 ported asap.

Maybe if enough people tweak their ears we can get the ball rolling sooner rather than later.

Thanks!!!

Gregory Scott - ubk


So, What can we do about this? The plugins are great and we need them working past July! Right?
__________________
Johan Bejerholm
World Studios
Sweden

Phone +46707773443
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-04-2013, 08:14 AM
RyanC RyanC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 652
Default Re: Kush Audio AAX

I'm hearing more and more about people having problems with getting what they need from avid in order to port their plugins.

Steve Duda with the xfer plugins said he tried to get the SDK and couldn't even get an email or phone response from Avid about porting to rtas/aax. I don't know what is going on over there but clearly it's spiraling out of control. Quite amazing that they will apparently put effort into squashing an aax wrapper, and won't put the effort into making the SDK readily available.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-04-2013, 08:35 AM
WorldStudios WorldStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 830
Default Re: Kush Audio AAX

Hear, hear!
__________________
Johan Bejerholm
World Studios
Sweden

Phone +46707773443
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-04-2013, 08:57 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,555
Default Re: Kush Audio AAX

And yet some companies (Softube, Sonnox) have everything already in 64bit AAX DSP, and have for a while. Strange.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-04-2013, 10:11 AM
WorldStudios WorldStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 830
Default Re: Kush Audio AAX

There is more to this than meets the eye.
__________________
Johan Bejerholm
World Studios
Sweden

Phone +46707773443

Last edited by WorldStudios; 06-05-2013 at 11:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-04-2013, 11:20 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,555
Default Re: Kush Audio AAX

Quote:
Originally Posted by WorldStudios View Post
There is more to this than meats the eye.
Enlighten us.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-04-2013, 01:13 PM
gtrm8kr gtrm8kr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 101
Default Re: Kush Audio AAX

How about a Clariphonic "DSP" AAX for Windows Native in the meantime...
__________________
PT 12.3 on Win 8.1 Pro, i7-3930k, Sabertooth x79, 16GB G.Skill 2133, Lynx Hilo, Eleven Rack, a "few" guitars...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-04-2013, 01:52 PM
ryanavery's Avatar
ryanavery ryanavery is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 27
Default Re: Kush Audio AAX

Just to let everyone know, we're here and actively helping our third parties to get their plug-ins up-and-running on 64-bit AAX in preparation for Pro Tools 11. Between actively monitoring our developer forum where third-parties can ask and answer questions, direct email exchanges, and occasionally in-person meetings and help as time will allow, we want to provide as much help as possible to all our third-party developers.

Occasionally, an inquiry will get missed in all of the communication. I'm not sure what happened with XFer Records' request, but I will look into it. As for Kush Audio, we did receive his email and are discussing it.

I know that this forum is filled with some of the most passionate people in the business, but understand that we are fully committed to getting all of our developers on to the AAX platform.
__________________
Ryan Avery
Audio DSP Software Engineer, Avid Technology, Inc.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-04-2013, 02:44 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,971
Default Re: Kush Audio AAX

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryanavery View Post
Just to let everyone know, we're here and actively helping our third parties to get their plug-ins up-and-running on 64-bit AAX in preparation for Pro Tools 11. Between actively monitoring our developer forum where third-parties can ask and answer questions, direct email exchanges, and occasionally in-person meetings and help as time will allow, we want to provide as much help as possible to all our third-party developers.

Occasionally, an inquiry will get missed in all of the communication. I'm not sure what happened with XFer Records' request, but I will look into it. As for Kush Audio, we did receive his email and are discussing it.

I know that this forum is filled with some of the most passionate people in the business, but understand that we are fully committed to getting all of our developers on to the AAX platform.
Thanks for the explanation. Perhaps you could clear up something: there's been talk that AAX has been in the works for like 4 years. Is this true and has the sdk been available for approximately that long? I ask because if it is/was then companies shouldn't be having the delays for stuff coming to market they seem to be having.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-04-2013, 04:43 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,555
Default Re: Kush Audio AAX

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Thanks for the explanation. Perhaps you could clear up something: there's been talk that AAX has been in the works for like 4 years. Is this true and has the sdk been available for approximately that long? I ask because if it is/was then companies shouldn't be having the delays for stuff coming to market they seem to be having.
Dave Tremblay stated in another thread (don't have time find it now) that the AAX2 (64bit) SDK has been available to Avid partners for over 1.5 years.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: Kush UBK-1 Chris Coleman Buy & Sell 0 02-16-2013 09:03 AM
Wow! Kush Audio Releasing Clariphonic .. Southsidemusic AAX Plug-ins 4 11-05-2012 08:05 AM
Kush UBK-1 AAX avaialble! ejwells General Discussion 0 04-11-2012 04:31 PM
Kush Audio UBK-1 ejwells General Discussion 7 03-29-2012 01:29 AM
Kush UBK-1 serio General Discussion 0 12-12-2011 12:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com