Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-24-2013, 11:25 AM
derFunkenstein derFunkenstein is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 261
Default Re: PTIEP and AAX

He means that's been taken out of the 2.0 versions that are coming, probably because you need more access than standard AAX plugin format allows.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-24-2013, 11:28 AM
kaiserpathos kaiserpathos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 260
Default Re: PTIEP and AAX

Quote:
Originally Posted by derFunkenstein View Post
He means that's been taken out of the 2.0 versions that are coming, probably because you need more access than standard AAX plugin format allows.
Yep. I think it's also taken out of IEP 1.0's coming AAX update too - at least when those AAX plugs are running under PT11. We'll see but I assume whatever limits 2.0 has to observe under AAX, 1.0 has to as well.

I'd say "why Avid, why?" but that's a question getting asked around here on tons of other issues. I'm just giving Komplete 9 a long look now, and AIR a mere shot when IEP 2.0 drops...
__________________
iMac i7 & MBP Retina i7 OSX.9.2 /Pro Tools 11.1.2 (w/ special guest-star appearances by Logic 10.0.6) / RME FF800 + Dangerous D-Box

"I survived the Great Launch Predicaments of PT11 2013."
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-24-2013, 01:21 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,165
Default Re: PTIEP and AAX

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaiserpathos View Post
Yep. I think it's also taken out of IEP 1.0's coming AAX update too - at least when those AAX plugs are running under PT11. We'll see but I assume whatever limits 2.0 has to observe under AAX, 1.0 has to as well.

I'd say "why Avid, why?" but that's a question getting asked around here on tons of other issues. I'm just giving Komplete 9 a long look now, and AIR a mere shot when IEP 2.0 drops...
Okay, I see what it means now. Its the new AAX versions that won't drag and drop. That's a bummer, but it's no different with any other plug in! Hate to lose it, though! Made work flow go faster. Now you'll have export/import...adds a couple steps. Guess you can't have everything...darn it! What was the song by Queen? "I want it all...I want it now..."
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2019.10
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-24-2013, 02:15 PM
DaveTremblay DaveTremblay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 191
Default Re: PTIEP and AAX

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaiserpathos View Post
Yep. I think it's also taken out of IEP 1.0's coming AAX update too - at least when those AAX plugs are running under PT11. We'll see but I assume whatever limits 2.0 has to observe under AAX, 1.0 has to as well.

I'd say "why Avid, why?" but that's a question getting asked around here on tons of other issues. I'm just giving Komplete 9 a long look now, and AIR a mere shot when IEP 2.0 drops...
Drag and Drop is an Operating System feature, and rightly so. Historically, Pro Tools didn't use the OS level drag and drop in the timeline, which prevented dragging from the timeline into a plug-in window from working. Years ago, someone hacked a way to bridge the two worlds into the old plug-in format. With AAX, we've eliminated those sorts of things as we'd prefer a simpler less-bug-prone format. You might see a feature like this come back some day, but for all plug-ins, not just the 2 that had implemented this workaround back in the day.

It's true that there are still a few features and things you could do in our legacy plug-in formats that you can't do in AAX. Most of those are for very good reasons. (occasionally, we realize there was an oversight and we fix it) Please remember that the legacy plug-in format was around for 20 years, and grew hugely over that period of time. We're just in the infancy of AAX, but we're making sure we're standing on solid ground with a clear vision when moving it forward. If you don't think your growth strategy for a platform like AAX, you end up pinning yourself into a corner pretty quick...

If I had to give a state of the union for AAX, I'd say that we're 98% of the way there with supporting legacy features. And close with the fact that we are 130% of the legacy capability when considering new technologies that we have in AAX that we didn't have in the legacy platform. (unfortunately, that the last piece doesn't get as much attention)

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-24-2013, 02:32 PM
kaiserpathos kaiserpathos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 260
Default Re: PTIEP and AAX

Thanks Dave for for sharing your insight. It's much appreciated to hear background & a dev's take on it.

I understand the design of the architecture has to be solid before you can start adding stuff. You have to make choices, and several "no" or "maybe later after a mature release" decisions.

On a related note - while AAX32 paved the way illustrating design changes for coming 64-bit and stability (offline bounce clearly requires the plug to adhere to several rules & standards, for example) -- it does seem frustrating to have seen AAX64 plugs showing up so late in the game. Devs had to know a recompile was needed for AAX64. I know we're only in the 1st week and Avid can't control outside dev cycles -- but it's very clear at this point devs were waiting or stuck. Oh well, PT11's release hopefully influences a speed-up of compatible plugs arriving.

I'll still give AIR IEP 2.0 a fair shot, thanks again Dave for the insight & background info.
__________________
iMac i7 & MBP Retina i7 OSX.9.2 /Pro Tools 11.1.2 (w/ special guest-star appearances by Logic 10.0.6) / RME FF800 + Dangerous D-Box

"I survived the Great Launch Predicaments of PT11 2013."
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-24-2013, 02:56 PM
DaveTremblay DaveTremblay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 191
Default Re: PTIEP and AAX

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaiserpathos View Post
I understand the design of the architecture has to be solid before you can start adding stuff. You have to make choices, and several "no" or "maybe later after a mature release" decisions.
That is exactly right. We're trying to build upon AAX in a measured way.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaiserpathos View Post
On a related note - while AAX32 paved the way illustrating design changes for coming 64-bit and stability (offline bounce clearly requires the plug to adhere to several rules & standards, for example) -- it does seem frustrating to have seen AAX64 plugs showing up so late in the game. Devs had to know a recompile was needed for AAX64. I know we're only in the 1st week and Avid can't control outside dev cycles -- but it's very clear at this point devs were waiting. Oh well, PT11's release hopefully influences a speed-up of compatible plugs arriving.
We have been shipping developer builds of PT11 for over 6 months. That isn't to say that we haven't had our fair share of problems in the process, but we've been moving fast and we're pretty transparent about what we're doing. Please trust that we're doing everything we can to help the plug-in developers get it done. And I know from speaking with many of them, that they are working hard too.

Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PTIEP version 1 mesaone Buy & Sell 4 12-15-2015 02:53 PM
Ptiep flommer Virtual Instruments 3 01-05-2012 08:33 PM
PTIEP Installing PT 10 Connor macOS 2 10-27-2011 09:06 PM
PTIEP rocks b mcgibney 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-27-2010 05:48 PM
Is there going to be a new PTIEP? thenassaproject Virtual Instruments 6 10-22-2010 12:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com