Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-06-2000, 03:49 PM
mikerica101996 mikerica101996 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Farmington, UT, Davis
Posts: 26
Default Will I get optimal performance from 001 with this G4 system?

Comp USA has a G4 450 MHZ single procesor,m 1MB Cache, 256 MB SDRAM, AGP Graphics w/16 MB GB HD, DVD Ram, 100 MB Zip, 3 FireWire, 2 USB 10/100 base T ethernet, 2 yr+training and Pinacle DVD/CD rewrittable burner for $2599. What elese do I need with this system if anything, for optimal performance from 001.
Also, Comp USA had a stock 450MHZ sinle pro with 128 MB for $1799. I am really on a budget. How would this machine compare to the above?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-06-2000, 06:43 PM
digi-guy digi-guy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 49
Default Re: Will I get optimal performance from 001 with this G4 system?

For the money I would go with a G4 400 and spend the extra cash on a 19" or larger monitor and a cheap mixer like the Mackie 12 channel for mic pre's (inputs 3-8). There is also a fortune worth of Plugins which you will want to have along with some type of removable storage. Best of luck.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-07-2000, 05:55 PM
lgs lgs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 15
Default Re: Will I get optimal performance from 001 with this G4 system?

My understanding is that G4 400's standard hard drive spins at 5200rpm, which is not supported by 001. Alternately the G4 450 standard hard drive spins at 7200rpm - which is the minimum required for 001.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-07-2000, 07:35 PM
unsub1 unsub1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Austin, Tx, USA
Posts: 148
Default Re: Will I get optimal performance from 001 with this G4 system?

Actually, the G4 400 Sawtooth's HD does indeed spin at 7200.

unsub1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-08-2000, 07:42 AM
emreramazanoglu emreramazanoglu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 92
Default Re: Will I get optimal performance from 001 with this G4 system?

I would get a second AV hard drive purely for audio(check DUC for details of makes and stuff)


good luck

EMRE
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-08-2000, 10:41 AM
digi-guy digi-guy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 49
Default Re: Will I get optimal performance from 001 with this G4 system?

All G4's made as of last January come stock with a 7200 rpm hard drive. Only the pci G4's had a 5400 drive. Find a AGP G4 400 on a blowout somewhere and save yourself a bundle of cash. The jump to 450 does not buy you that much compared to the cash you will save. If you are hot on getting the latest greatest Go with the 400 for now and in 6 months trade or sell for the dual 500 when it is half the price and Digidesign has software that will run on the dual processor format. Best of Luck ps Be on the cutting edge, not the bleeding edge!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-09-2000, 04:02 PM
ampeg66 ampeg66 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Posts: 13
Default Re: Will I get optimal performance from 001 with this G4 system?

Re: Hard drive speed

So, the Apple Store has had incorrect information posted for almost a year?

Go to Apple Store, select G4, select the $1599. system, then click on "Learn More" next to the hard drive selection menu. 09.09.2000, 1745.

--------------------
Ultra ATA/66 hard drives
Ultra ATA hard drives run at either 5,400 revolutions per minute (20GB Ultra ATA drive) or 7,200 revolutions per minute (30GB and 40GB Ultra ATA drives) and use a protocol that enables faster data transfer to and from the hard drive............
------------------

I just got my G4/450MP BTO last week. Hated to have to pay that extra money for the 30GB/7200 drive at the overpriced Apple Store, but what can ya do?

I hope you are right about the 20GB/7200 drive, if it will save others some cash.

Of course, this is AFAIK, and only my .02. Hope I don't hafta go off on the Apple Store over the extra $150...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-11-2000, 11:47 PM
plumber plumber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: L.A. CA USA
Posts: 13
Default Re: Will I get optimal performance from 001 with this G4 system?

I just got a G4 400MHz and it's a 20 gig 5200rpm inside...

But you can buy an extra internal 30 gig that runs at 7200rpm for less than 300$
you then get 50 gig
if you really feel crazy you can put a third one in there but.........

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-12-2000, 07:46 AM
digi-guy digi-guy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 49
Default Re: Will I get optimal performance from 001 with this G4 system?

I bought my G4 400 AGP in January and it came stock with a 10 Gig Quantum KA 7200 RPM Fireball. Apple told me all G4 AGP's made as of January/00 would come with 7200 RPM drives. Someone is selling you old stock!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-13-2000, 04:59 PM
ampeg66 ampeg66 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Posts: 13
Default Re: Will I get optimal performance from 001 with this G4 system?

I am still confused...not that unusual...

This does not agree with current build-to-order info at the Apple Store. Apple BTO = not old stock. Where did you buy your machine, if you don’t mind telling us?

Obviously you know what kind of drive you have, and I've shown in my previous post where the current info is at the Apple Store. At this point I just wanna know what's up, and help people buy the right stuff. The fact that we're discussing this shows that there's different information around. The amount of research it takes to decide on a system is enough to deal with; ending up with the wrong equipment could push someone over the edge!

Has there been a "hard drive downgrade" a la last year's processor downgrade? <redundant winking smilie to indicate lighthearted sarcasm>

Just putting in my .02 and tryin' to figure it out...

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which MacPro For Optimal Pro Tool Performance rogercollege macOS 12 04-25-2012 03:36 PM
Optimal performance settings on satellite Nathan W. Post - Surround - Video 3 12-30-2009 08:55 PM
Is there a max partition size for optimal performance? mtung Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-13-2009 12:46 PM
Mbox With MacBook 2.16 Optimal Set-up for max Performance hkbluesrider 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-21-2008 05:30 PM
Optimal Performance with 7.4.2 on New(er) Mac Pro Dowski 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-30-2008 08:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com