Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-14-2018, 06:44 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 1,913
Default Video Format: Encoded Size vs. Display Size?

I have a video from a client:

DNxHD
bit rate 100 Mbit/s
interlaced
encoded size 1440 x 1080
display size 1920 x 1080


It doesn't perform well. A little choppy, AVE reads 160% CPU usage. Converted the video with Media Encoder to one of my DNx presets to this:

DNxHD
bit rate 147 Mbit/s
progressive
encoded size 1920 x 1080
display size 1920 x 1080


And now AVE is using 80% CPU. I've run into this "encoded size" issue before. What's happening? Or is it the interlacing that's causing the AVE problem?
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
RHUMBA
www.nathanielreichman.com
www.rhumba.pro
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-14-2018, 12:36 PM
AndrewAction's Avatar
AndrewAction AndrewAction is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Auckland
Posts: 379
Default Re: Video Format: Encoded Size vs. Display Size?

To my simplistic understanding the issue is the scaling required to display the pixels correctly.
The 1920 by 1080 has a 1 to 1 pixel sizing - no display scaling.
The 1440 by 1080 has a 1 to 1.2x pixel sizing -intense display processing.

Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-15-2018, 01:20 AM
papalou papalou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 40
Default Re: Video Format: Encoded Size vs. Display Size?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewAction View Post
To my simplistic understanding the issue is the scaling required to display the pixels correctly.
The 1920 by 1080 has a 1 to 1 pixel sizing - no display scaling.
The 1440 by 1080 has a 1 to 1.2x pixel sizing -intense display processing.

Andrew
You're 100% right, except for the pixel aspect ratio, which is 1.33 and not 1.2.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-15-2018, 08:08 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 1,913
Default Re: Video Format: Encoded Size vs. Display Size?

After some more testing, I found that I could run AVE all day at 40% CPU usage by going 1280 x 720p. For most programs, that looks good enough in a medium-sized post room. Size matters, scaling matters. Not sure about interlacing. I'll save that test for next time.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
RHUMBA
www.nathanielreichman.com
www.rhumba.pro
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-20-2018, 03:33 AM
MatzeHD MatzeHD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 87
Default Re: Video Format: Encoded Size vs. Display Size?

1440 * 1080 is anamorphic HD from HDV, DVCProHD Format etc., its older and only sometimes used today. It was for a better backward compatibility to SD 16:9 anamorphic.
Yes, you must only change the 1440 to 1920 picel output on the new encoding and all is fine!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-20-2018, 03:52 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,288
Default Re: Video Format: Encoded Size vs. Display Size?

Quote:
Originally Posted by reichman View Post
I have a video from a client:

DNxHD
bit rate 100 Mbit/s
interlaced
encoded size 1440 x 1080
display size 1920 x 1080


It doesn't perform well. A little choppy, AVE reads 160% CPU usage. Converted the video with Media Encoder to one of my DNx presets to this:

DNxHD
bit rate 147 Mbit/s
progressive
encoded size 1920 x 1080
display size 1920 x 1080


And now AVE is using 80% CPU. I've run into this "encoded size" issue before. What's happening? Or is it the interlacing that's causing the AVE problem?
Sound like you are transcoding to an extreme DNxHD bitrate. Try DNxHD36. (1920x1080 @ 36Mbit/s) very light CPU usage and looks just fine for sound work.

Unless you are projecting super-big 36 is plenty for sound work.
__________________
PTHDn 2018.7 (OSX10.12.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-24-2018, 06:45 PM
Ayush Ahuja Ayush Ahuja is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 67
Default Re: Video Format: Encoded Size vs. Display Size?

+1 on Frank's suggestion.

DNxHD36 works perfectly fine and is often what picture post use for their offline cut if using Media Composer. On the current job I just get a same as source output.

Ayush
__________________
__________________
PTHD Native 2018.4, MacMini 2.3GHz i7 16GB RAM OSX 10.12.8, Mbox Pro (3rd Gen) + VideoSlave 3.4, MacMini 2.5GGHz i5 8GB RAM OSX 10.12.8
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S3 Display font size problem hj0102 Pro Tools | S3 8 08-06-2016 08:39 AM
How to increase track display size? HaydenF Pro Tools 12 4 04-08-2016 03:25 PM
Format Staff Size swingaroux Avid Scorch (iOS) Forum 4 08-04-2015 09:10 PM
Increasing display font size MboxToo Tips & Tricks 1 05-06-2009 06:17 PM
Which Size Apple Display Does PT Look Best On? decibel Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 23 12-17-2003 06:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com